GC games on other region Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by ninjya, Aug 25, 2007.

Aug 25, 2007

GC games on other region Wii? by ninjya at 11:44 AM (1,827 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. ninjya
    OP

    Newcomer ninjya Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Hello.

    I have a NTSC-U Wii with wiikey installed.
    And I like many more wants to go back and play the GC metroid prime games now in the days before Corruption. And I own Metroid Prime 1 and 2 PAL version for Gamecube. Now for the actual problem I'm having.

    When I try to load the game directly the Wii recognizes it as a Gamecube game but when it loads it goes to a black screen and it stays black. So I have to restart to get back to the Wii menu.
    Next thing i tried was booting up a NTSC-U GC game and pressing eject when the screen turns black, then the Wii boots back to the Wii menu. And I swap the US game for the PAL game to try if this sort of swapping works. Still only a black screen when i load the PAL game.

    The games I have been trying with are all original PAL games, and the games i try to swap with are original US games. But I can't get the PAL GC games to run. What am I doing wrong???
     
  2. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you have to load gcos first, then boot the pal games in pal video mode to play them.

    you can find the gcos bootdisk at www.wiinja.com
     
  3. ninjya
    OP

    Newcomer ninjya Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Wait, I need to run homebrew to run originals :/ ?

    And does this GCOS thing still work with 3.0U and forward?
     
  4. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, the Wii isn't designed to play regionlocked PAL Gamecube games ofc [​IMG]

    The swapping trick was possible, but I think they fixed it.
     
  5. ninjya
    OP

    Newcomer ninjya Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Nooooooeees, no more swapping [​IMG]?
     
  6. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    your ntsc wii outputs 60hz signal, but pal games are designed for 50hz so they wont display. you need to boot the gcos wiinja bootdisc, and yes, it also boots on 3.0 firmware.

    when i run a ntsc game on my pal wii using direct boot i get some black lines in the top of the screen, i have to boot using gcos in ntsc video mode to let the game display correctly.
     
  7. ninjya
    OP

    Newcomer ninjya Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    The metroid prime pal games are 60hz only. No pal 50 whatsoever.
    And thanks for the info. Guess I'll have to sacrifice a disc to make the wiinja gc bootdisc. And everybody is sure it works with wiikey?
    Thanks for all your help [​IMG]
     
  8. ninjya
    OP

    Newcomer ninjya Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    So i burned the wiinja gcos boot disc.
    loaded it on my wii, it worked, pressed a, inserted the game. pressed a again, now it says press L for pal 60, press A for auto etc, i tried them all. it still goes to a black screen [​IMG]
     
  9. ElGoldur

    Newcomer ElGoldur Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Portugal
    It would be nice if someone could answer this question. I have the same doubt.
     
  10. captaineos

    Newcomer captaineos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Australia
    Ya'll are so off track. I posted a NO SWAP method for booting GC stuff using Gcos. Check out the other thread
     
  11. epu708

    Member epu708 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Country:
    Indonesia
    sorry, can't find it. which one? what title?
     
  12. loresfx

    Newcomer loresfx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    i also would like to know about this no swap method. where is thread?
     
  13. pnut

    Member pnut GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    United States
  14. wiithepeople

    Member wiithepeople ^^didn't play it that much, but I love it =D

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    the banned
    Country:
    United States
  15. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thats the swapmethod they were talking about that was fixed...
     
  16. xboxinoz

    Newcomer xboxinoz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Not sure if this is helpful or not but I just wanted to play the JPN Mr Driller Drill Land on my PAL wii with wiikey.

    A direct JPN NTSC version of the image did not work on my Wii and just went black when I tried to start the game.

    I downloaded GCOS v4F from gbatemp, http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=1109

    Used that upon the image... admittedly I think it is primarily used to make multi game discs but I only wanted the one game so didn't care about that too much.

    Popped it back in the Wii again... it came to the menu... I click on auto detect as regards region from that menu and voila, Mr Driller up and running... thank you very much [​IMG]

    Not sure if this helps with the original question in this thread but thought I'd add it as it may be useful to someone!
     

Share This Page