GC backuploader is Black & White?:(

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gilaben, Jul 9, 2009.

Jul 9, 2009
  1. gilaben
    OP

    Newcomer gilaben Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    So I hacked a friends Wii some time ago... He wanted me to install the GC Backuploader and I obliged, but I ran into this problem.

    When I boot any backuploader 0.2 Xi and the theta version by either WAD or .dol it seriously messes up.

    Symptoms: The loader either gets all garbled up and unreadable or it seems fine and seconds later goes into black & white. Note, this is before I load the game. When I load the game it always appears in black & white.

    I installed the Miospatcher like I had previous time, I think... I tried multiple versions and reinstallations of the MIOS but consistently ran into the same issue.

    Also, I am positive that the Backup disks are not the issue as they run flawlessly on my Wii.

    Any advice?
     
  2. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,168
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    video mode conflict - gc region free set in preloader?
     
  3. emupaul

    Member emupaul GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    space
    Country:
    United States
    i have the same problem just hit Y on the controller and it should auto correct, I don't now for sure so don't quote me on this but i think the loader doesn't check the tv format and assumes you are running pal. after you set options like force ntsc it auto corrects to boot the game.
     
  4. akash86

    Newcomer akash86 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    LA, California
    Country:
    United States
    this is simple, use waninkoko's cMios, and then insert ur gc backup, and simply boot it from the disc channel! =D
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    First of all, use GCN Loader 0.2. It's newer than Xi and Theta.

    And what you're experiencing is most likely a video mode issue, so if you haven't messed with the various options do so.
     
  6. gilaben
    OP

    Newcomer gilaben Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    I think we might have a winner!

    I don't believe it is a preloader issue because he doesn't have preloader installed...

    I'll give the CMIOS a shot as well.

    Thank you everyone!
     

Share This Page