1. rocksdanister

    rocksdanister Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    India
  2. Xabring

    Xabring GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    Mexico
    Macros huh? If you can use save states as part of the macros, that would be some nifty to do a Demo style background.
     
  3. rocksdanister

    rocksdanister Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    India
    meh il just port retroarch since people keep asking for it.
     
  4. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,069
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, do I need to enable "Active Desktop" for this? :ninja:
     
  5. Tex_McBladeSword

    Tex_McBladeSword GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    United States
  6. DRI2000

    DRI2000 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    I think the idea is pretty cool! Though I have an issue running it. The icon in the tray just shows up for a second and then disappears... I cannot manage the emulator in any way :( Some advise on this?
     
  7. hurrz

    hurrz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Which sub?
     
    SuperDan likes this.
  8. SuperDan

    SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2,747
    Country:
    United States
    hurrz likes this.
  9. Longshot56

    Longshot56 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Imagine being at work, and you can just open a program normally instead of having to close and hide something.
     
  10. geodeath

    geodeath GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    It is not just the emulator though... its packaged/wrapped around the windows ecosystem and probably/maybe wpf, just including a few dlls is more than enough to shoot to that size. Also, not everyone has 10tb for sure, but come on, 256megs is nothing these days, even a 'proper' wallpaper for an ultrawide screen can be a few megs in size!
     
    Xabring likes this.
  11. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,894
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, and the entire gameboy library of roms is still less than half the size of that emulator. :ninja:
     
  12. PaBo

    PaBo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    this is sadly a screensaver and not a dreamscene
     
  13. geodeath

    geodeath GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    So? When the gameboy was conceived, it only had 8kb of ram. Modern high res wallpapers that dont move and dont contain any functionality are a few megs. There is no rational way to correlate between the 2. If you add the amount of 'inflation' on storage media from 1989 to 2019, the whole assembly gameboy core, plus the rom, would actually be bigger than 256mb today. You cant just add or compare numbers like this. Emulators tend to use way more resources than the original hardware, hence the rise of FPGA systems that mimic hardware on a hardware level at a much lower footprint than a computer of a size needed to emulate in similar fashion.

    At the end of the day, if 256mbs today seem like something that is out of your league, just dont use it, use a static wallpaper using screenshots. I am not going to use it, not because of the size, but because of the cpu drawing things i wont be seeing 99% of the time (unless they made it that smart!).
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - GBWallpaper, wallpaper, emulator