gbc game in the ds slot

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by iFish, Sep 6, 2009.

Sep 6, 2009

gbc game in the ds slot by iFish at 12:25 AM (2,121 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    hey i know the ds cant play nor fit gbc games in it but i found out how to fit them but if thee any homebrew app that lets you play them that reads them or a patch?
     


  2. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    No. The DS is physically incapable of even talking to the card. Slot-2 has a lower voltage than that of the GBC, and on the original GBA, that was handled with a step-up transformer and a hardware switch, which are not present on the DS.
     
  3. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    They won't fit or play at all. You can play the GBC roms though (and GB) on an emulator called lameboy in slot 1. It plays most games perfectly at full speed. The only games I had some slowdows or glitches in are-

    - Shantae (goes at about 90% speed)
    - Rayman (80% speed with glitches)
    - Rayman 2 (same as 1)
    - Conker's Pocket Tales (didn't really get this to boot at all)

    All other games have worked pretty much perfectly for me.
     
  4. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    erg because i just started playing pokemon crystal and wanted to play it on ds well then for responding
     
  5. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I can personally confirm that Crystal works 100% with no glitches that I've seen on lameboy.
     
  6. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    i'll second that
    currently playing crystal on lameboy 0.12, all went nicely
     
  7. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    nah i dont really know how to run homebrew that well just barly and i dont have patience for gbc rom i think i have a site but i have the cartrideg but that sounds ok and if you shave off some ot the plactic the gbc ga,es and fit
     
  8. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    a little off topic:-
    you can get yourself iplayer and use the app developed by darkchen to play GBA games [​IMG]
    haven't read much about it lately [​IMG]
    maybe it would build to support GBC
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    ...that app doesn't exist (unless he's released it in the past 24 hours without me knowing) and probably never will.
     
  10. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    nah ill jus use my gbc
     
  11. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Why the hell will you just use your GBC when you could use Lameboy and play the game on it. There are more advantages of playing it on Lameboy then a real Gameboy Color.

    1st: You could see everything because of the DS lites light.
    2nd: You could recharge the batterys of the DS unlike the GBC
    3rd: Bigger Screen
    4th: Save states
    5th: And more.

    Off topic: Elixerdream got 5,065 posts already didn't he have 3000 something like 2 weeks ago?
     
  12. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
  13. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you were paying attention he said that he didn't really know anything about running homebrew, therefore he doesn't have a falshcart which he would need to run Lameboy. he was just a casual user who got into his head that the GBC game should be able to fit into the DS as the connectors are the same as the GBA and it fit into that.
     
  14. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States

    He has a EDGE.
     
  15. Technik

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    What kind of person on gbatemp doesnt have a flashcart? He acts like its so hard to spend $10 on something like an acekard or whatever cheap flashcards are out there.
     
  16. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He confused me by saying that he just barely knows how to run homebrew. My mistake I guess
     
  17. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't have a flashcard when I joined this site IIRC. And for people as broke as me, it IS hard to spend even $10, and no flashcard is even THAT cheap. Maybe $12 at the least for an AK2.

    And where does the TC say he has an EDGE?
     
  18. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    i do have an edge sorry my mistake didnt mention that i had it beofre i joined this site and im playing it on my gameboy advance sp
     
  19. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    You said before you were going to play it on your Gameboy Color... Nvm that. Why would you want to play it on your Gameboy Advance SP when you could play it on your DS lite? Here are some advantages...
    1st: Better backlight
    2nd: Save states
    3rd: Never loose your saves your save file will die soon if you play it on your SP because the save files only last for 5 years and Pokemon Crystal is like 10 years old already. I wouldn't want to play it on your real Pokemon Crystal game because you could loose your save file.
     
  20. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Woah woah woah my saves files have lasted longer than that. My Pokemon Red save has got to be at least 10 years since last Christmas. But yeah playing on the DS is better.

    Also to get homebrew on a flashcart, just install it the same as a rom, except there is probably an extra few files needed.
     

Share This Page