GBC Emulator

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by cribby08, Oct 26, 2007.

Oct 26, 2007

GBC Emulator by cribby08 at 7:25 PM (1,952 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. cribby08
    OP

    Member cribby08 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know if there is a GB & GBC emulator on the DS that runs at full speed? I did some searches on this site and tried to run a few emulators but no roms run well enough to play.

    The thing is I have alot of GBC games collecting dust I would like to play on my DS is possible. I just don't want to have to buy a GBA just to play some GBC games I own.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Theres none that are perfect and run and full speed with sound but the ones out there that you've played can play SOME games perfect.
     
  3. moggymatt

    Member moggymatt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lameboy 0.9 is pretty spot on ...
     
  4. cribby08
    OP

    Member cribby08 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks alot. I'll give lameboy a shot.

    On a side note is it possible to make a image of my legally owned games to play on lameboy? If possible I would like to use my own images to play. But as long as I own the original I dont think there will be a problem. Sometimes I put the CD's I buy in the store to my iPOD...I think its the same thing?

    Oh well, thanks for the fast responses.
     
  5. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think you'll need GB Bridge and a flash card for that I'm afraid.
     
  6. cribby08
    OP

    Member cribby08 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, would m3 lite perfect work on gba for gbc games? I looked at thier website but it doesnt really say anything about gbc games.

    If I do buy a gameboy advance or gameboy micro what flashcard would you recomend?

    Thanks.
     
  7. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    In my opinion you'll be better off downloading the ROM images of the games you want (even if you own them). Because as far as I know you would need special hardware to dump GB/GBC ROMs, like a for example the GB Xchanger.

    edit:
    GB/GBC is only playable on GBA flashcarts using Goomba or Goomba Color.
     
  8. cribby08
    OP

    Member cribby08 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks that helps alot.....so even if I get a gba and a gba flash card I can only emulate gbc games using goomba.

    Thanks these post are very helpful to me.
     
  9. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, that's absolutely right, unless of course you'll get a GBA/GBA SP (not a GBmicro, since it doesn't play GB/GBC games natively) and buy a GB/GBC flashcart, the only way is emulating them.

    Of course there is the option hadrian mentioned with buying a F2A GBA flashcart and the GB Bridge (the only store I can find that still sells it seems to be linker4u.com though), but I would rather buy a seperate cart for GB/GBC games.
     
  10. cribby08
    OP

    Member cribby08 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
    Does GB bridge work with cards other than flash2advance like the m3/g6 lite (with gba shell)
     
  11. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] Don't bother dumping Gameboy/Gameboy Color games.

    It's too much of a hassle now.

    Anyways...

    Lameboy hands down! (0.9 = Newest Version)

    ~Nero
     
  12. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    I agree. The tools needed to dump Gameboy, Gameboy Color, or Gameboy Advance games aren't so easy to find anymore. I've only dumped PS1 games (which doesn't even count since they're CD ISOs not ROMs).
     
  13. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    I use Lameboy, but unfortunately, it screws up the Pokemon sprites in that Pokemon Puzzle League game :__:
     
  14. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Try the commercial Planet Puzzle League game instead. Same concept, different implementation. You could also try the tetattds homebrew. Tetris Attack can be emulated in SNEmulDS but it has a major bug with the cursor/stack movement.

    On-topic though, I agree, use Lameboy if possible and Goomba Color for the GBA if that fails. You could also try DSBoy, as that French guy's improvements are making many games run at full speed, even if it is missing sound and color.
     

Share This Page