GBAtemp V8 / tempStyle 3.2 feedback thread - post bugs or feedback here

shaunj66

GBAtemp Administrator
OP
Administrator
Joined
Oct 24, 2002
Messages
11,493
Trophies
2
Age
37
Location
South England
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
16,588
Country
United Kingdom
Please post feedback for tempStyle 3 in here.

If possible please provide screenshots or URLs to bugs or concerns you have...

KNOWN BUGS (AKA PLEASE READ FIRST):​

  • Editor toolbar is configured badly and many necessary buttons are missing on various display widths (awaiting feedback)
  • Patreon customisation is broken
  • Max signature display height is incorrectly configured (fixed - Costello)
  • Smilies are to be replaced with hi-def versions
  • Reaction smilies are to be replaced with hi-def versions
  • Members who had a blog prior to V8 now have 2 - one with the number of entries double what it actually is and another that is empty
  • Meme box preview has no prev & next meme buttons
  • Alerts are not marked as read when opening the alerts dropdown
  • "Disable affiliate videos" option is broken
  • Advertisements overlapping content
  • Recent content box shows threads from groups that are not joined
  • Former staff name is unreadable on black theme
  • Not enough difference between bold and regular text
  • Some BbCodes are not properly styled
  • Preferences page cuts off on FireFox on certain zoom levels.
 
Last edited by shaunj66,

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,624
Trophies
3
Age
21
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
8,777
Country
Hungary
Do you find that font colour is too dark overall? Perhaps that muted font colour should be brightened up a bit?
Yeah, the contrast with the dark blue background isn't great. I have good vision, but I still find the text hard to read and the divider line nigh invisible.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sono and shaunj66

tfocosta

GBAtemp Z-Warrior
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
656
Trophies
1
Website
nooooooooooooooo.com
XP
1,329
Country
Canada
Hi @shaunj66,

I can't create a Group. After clicking on the "Create a Group" orange button, it takes me to the following page:

1633604595762.png


Is it only me? Or is anyone else experiencing this issue too?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

tfocosta
 

Costello

Headmaster
Administrator
Joined
Oct 24, 2002
Messages
14,064
Trophies
2
XP
17,552
Hi @shaunj66,

I can't create a Group. After clicking on the "Create a Group" orange button, it takes me to the following page:

View attachment 278671

Is it only me? Or is anyone else experiencing this issue too?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

tfocosta
hello,
this issue should be fixed. I made a mistake with the settings earlier today, sorry!
let me know if the issue persists :)
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
23,981
Trophies
1
XP
15,096
Country
United States
I'm not sure if this is a bug or not or just a feature that doesn't exist, but I could've sworn I could do this in the past (at least with ignoring users), but there should be a box to add people to your ignore list or your follow list in your profile. I just added @Lacius , and I had to find one of his posts to add him to my friends' list.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lacius

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
8,845
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
12,213
Country
United Kingdom
When I am on the home page of the site the top of the page is messed up. On anyehere else on the site it displays fine.Hereis a picture to show what I mean. As you can see part of my picture and the notification of a PM is only half on display lol.

Screenshot_20211008-153043_Samsung Internet.jpg
 

Little_Anonymous_Hacker

GBAtemp's Openly ABDL 1337 HAX0R
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2019
Messages
1,092
Trophies
1
Location
My Crib
Website
littleanonhax0r.zyrosite.com
XP
13,097
Country
United States
Any updates on the following?
Another thing I just noticed is that it no longer says at the bottom of the page how many people are currently viewing the thread that you're on.

We need an option to make polls in group threads. (e.g. "Will you upgrade to Windows 11?")


You beat me to it! Here is an example on a mobile layout:
View attachment 277538

This is a weird bug...
View attachment 277543
It keeps going to my most recently created group...
 

anthony001

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
396
Trophies
0
XP
1,245
Country
can i have the previous style? i dont like to be able to see all switch scene in one place. i like the subsections better like if i go to nintendo switch i can just go into either hacking , homebrew , modding , general, etc. its much simpler. In this version its a mess you have everything in one place. its tooo much information
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,705
Trophies
2
XP
6,308
Country
Germany
[…]
- The +1 XP event for having your post Liked (or reacted to) now works again
[…]
Before the upgrade the +1 XP was only given for likes in forum(≠EOF) messages.
Opening https://gbatemp.net/xp/ now shows +1XP for reactions in profile messages and even PM. Is this intentional or a bug?

Small portion of the page as screenshot:
XP.png
 

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,624
Trophies
3
Age
21
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
8,777
Country
Hungary
can i have the previous style? i dont like to be able to see all switch scene in one place. i like the subsections better like if i go to nintendo switch i can just go into either hacking , homebrew , modding , general, etc. its much simpler. In this version its a mess you have everything in one place. its tooo much information
Unfortunately, the old theme/layout is incompatible with this new version of the XenForo framework.
However, you can click the tags at the top of the thread listing to filter by theme, which is essentially the same as the old subforum-system.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,800
Trophies
1
XP
12,794
Country
Mexico
  • Like
Reactions: JuanMena

petspeed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
827
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
715
Country
Denmark
Going to the Most XP Leaderboard and pressing 'My possition' doesn't show my position but members with fewer XP than me. I cannot skip pages to find my position. Semmes like a bug and missing back/forward buttons.
 
  • Like
Reactions: shaunj66
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Gotta Go Fast diarrhea makes a horrible sound, blue skin and super sick... Probably food poisoning from bad chili dogs.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Huh Betty white was born on mlk day
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Slim Jim Monster Sonic Chili Cheese Dog Flavor, 1.94 Oz (Pack Of 18) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08MC9KVDG/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_V2DMVRA3YQPJZF2F4Q95
    Gift
  • E @ evanm18:
    why is it so hard to find a list of cheats for gta vice city 1.0.5
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Panzer_Baboon @ Panzer_Baboon:
    Y r u a meanie?
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    I'm naughty
    Gift
  • S @ SG854:
    dick
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Richard
    Gift
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Richard