GBAtemp Team Fortress 2 Event

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by luke_c, Jun 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jun 24, 2011

GBAtemp Team Fortress 2 Event by luke_c at 11:23 PM (6,462 Views / 0 Likes) 114 replies

  1. luke_c
    OP

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]
    In celebration of the free to play Team Fortress 2 release, SoulSnatcher has set up a dedicated game server where fellow Tempers' can join and engage in 'friendly' warfare. See the spoiler below for information on connecting to the server.
    Thanks to jamesaa for providing some of the money for the server.[/p]
    Server info and how to connect:
    [​IMG] On-Going Discussion
     


  2. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    "free to play Team Fortress 2"

    Where do we get this?
     
  3. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    Why hamachi?
     
  4. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States

    Main Reason: I can't port forward.

    Other Reason: Makes it more Temp Exclusive.
     
  6. jamesaa

    Member jamesaa The Prince of Insufficient Light

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How do I setup hamachi so other users cannot access my network/computer but I can still connect to the server? Last thing I need is random 'temp users accessing my FTP/file servers and other systems i have running on my network.

    Only time i've ever used hamachi is for actual VPN stuff, not gaming with other users.

    EDIT: Just remembered i'm currently using hamachi for some support stuff, is it possible to have two instances running at once?
     
  7. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    I really have no other idea then to just delete the network when you're done playing.
     
  8. ZaeZae64

    Member ZaeZae64 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Location:
    Check the flag dumby
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.
     
  9. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Hell yeah!
    How long is the server going to stay up?
    I'm not sure if I'll be able to play today.

    It would be better if we didn't have to use Hamachi, though.
     
  10. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry, but my computer won't let me port forward, if it would I would have gladly used a dedicated instead.

    And it's on for pretty much all week or so.

    Also, to the people who were playing, the server crashed when I tried to switch map, will be back on in 1 min.
     
  11. ZaeZae64

    Member ZaeZae64 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Location:
    Check the flag dumby
    Country:
    United States
    I'm gonna try and see if I can get a dedicated server running tomorrow. But for now we'll just have to make due with Hamachi.
     
  12. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Be prepared to download a 4 gig file.
     
  13. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    I was actually thinking of renting a server to use as a TF2 server. I have the money at my disposal to rent it for a month.

    After that, perhaps GBAtemp members could pitch in for donations or something like that. It cost about $14.45 CAD to rent one for a month (15 players - requires password - teamspeak enabled).

    Thoughts?
     
  14. Ben_j

    Member Ben_j GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Country:
    France
    steam is so slow... I'd already have the game if I downloaded it from my regular tracker [​IMG]
     
  15. jamesaa

    Member jamesaa The Prince of Insufficient Light

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have no idea what i'm doing in this game [​IMG]

    Alcohol isn't helping either [​IMG]
     
  16. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    That could be alright, though I don't know right now (Too Busy playing TF2)
     
  17. naglaro00

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    I get unknown command *ip here* when i type it in the console [​IMG]

    How do you connect to the server?


    lol idunno
     
  18. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    I can't seem to join the network. I get an error that says "This network appears to be full".

    What is the maximum amount of people allowed on the network?
     
  19. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    It should be 24...

    Let me restart it.
     
  20. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Did you follow the instructions?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page