Well, my thinking was that if you're no longer staff, you don't count as staff, but because you were staff (you have the "Former Staff" banner), you can give the normal members an advantage.
However, it doesn't really matter. If you'll forgive my bluntness, you guys are still doing it wrong. It is supposed to alternate between Normal and Staff, and several normal members counted in sequence without waiting for Staff members.
In other words...
Just sayin'. Not trying to be difficult; I'm only pointing out one of the rules. The rest you can probably figure out on your own.
EDIT: By the way, I didn't count, so I'm not affecting the current score. I'm not resetting it either; I'll let you guys work with it until you get the hang of the game.