Hacking GBArunner2 on R4?

Kris_CL

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Location
your mom's
XP
212
Country
Chile
So i just got a dsi with an r4, i know in a dsi hacked through cfw you can use no emulation gbarunner2, but does that work on an r4? sorry i'm uh- new to ds stuff, from the little ds knowledge i do have, r4 runs in slot 1 while gba games would run in slot 2, maybe it still works because it works on a dsi and the dsi doesn't have a slot 2? sorry i'm just, really confused
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,780
Trophies
1
XP
2,172
Country
Canada
Maybe if you're really confused, you should stop and think about what exactly your question is..? You do realize GBARunner2 also works on a 3DS, which also doesn't have a Slot 2?
 

Kris_CL

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Location
your mom's
XP
212
Country
Chile
Maybe if you're really confused, you should stop and think about what exactly your question is..? You do realize GBARunner2 also works on a 3DS, which also doesn't have a Slot 2?
i- yeah that's true i'm so fucking sorry for creating this thread
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,780
Trophies
1
XP
2,172
Country
Canada
Don't worry, your question wasn't stupid, as there are several versions of this "hypervisor": on r4, you have to use the DS arm7 version (even if you use DSi).
Well, I can't tell if that answers whatever the OP's question is, but that just leads to other, different questions, wouldn't you say? I see there are ARM7 and ARM9 versions at https://github.com/Gericom/GBARunner2/releases , but what exactly is the difference between them? Does running one or the other provide any advantages on a DSi? And does it matter if you're using TWiLight Menu on the R4 card or not?

A bit of Googling doesn't turn up obvious answers to these questions (except maybe one thoughtful blurb on reddit), so perhaps there's something we can all learn here. ;)
 
Last edited by Kwyjor,

Nikokaro

An aphorism a day to improve...my profile
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
921
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
1,579
Country
Italy
...but what exactly is the difference between them? Does running one or the other provide any advantages on a DSi? And does it matter if you're using TWiLight Menu on the R4 card or not?...
As far as I know, the DSi version is specifically for DSi/DSi XL from camera-slot (with Memory Pit, Unlaunch, Hiya, and of course TWLMenu): the arm9 sub-version uses the console's most powerful processor and more ram memory which eliminates some slowdowns in some games, and you can also set better sound quality: actually some games only work with this one (e.g. V-rally 3).

There is also a GBArunner2 Hicode Build that allows you to play Hacked roms (e.g. Fire Emblem Hacks, some Pokémon Hacks), otherwise unusable.

GBARunner2 (ds arm7) works on r4 obviously even without TWLMenu, in fact I use it through YSMenu. If you use the DSi versions on r4 I don't know if they would work; there is just to try.

Sorry, these are my limited knowledges on the subject.
Greetings. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sophie-bear

Kris_CL

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Location
your mom's
XP
212
Country
Chile
As far as I know, the DSi version is specifically for DSi/DSi XL from camera-slot (with Memory Pit, Unlaunch, Hiya, and of course TWLMenu): the arm9 sub-version uses the console's most powerful processor and more ram memory which eliminates some slowdowns in some games, and you can also set better sound quality: actually some games only work with this one (e.g. V-rally 3).
Yeah, i'm actually thinking of just ditching the r4 and cfw this dsi, seems like stuff runs better and there's just a lot more hb that's exclusive to dsi
 

Nikokaro

An aphorism a day to improve...my profile
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
921
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
1,579
Country
Italy
Yeah, i'm actually thinking of just ditching the r4 and cfw this dsi, seems like stuff runs better and there's just a lot more hb that's exclusive to dsi
Remember that you can use DSi/arm9 version of GBARunner2 from camera-slot even just by copying Memory Pit and TWLMenu++ on SD card: as you can see it is very simple.
The installation of Unlaunch and Hiya is not necessary and carries a risk of bricking the console.
The choice is yours...
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: I couldn't really get into moon it's too different for my likes