gbaexploader

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by themuddaload, Jun 24, 2008.

Jun 24, 2008

gbaexploader by themuddaload at 6:26 PM (2,701 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. themuddaload
    OP

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    ok, i am trying to link aria of sorrow to dawn of sorrow. i think i have aria of sorrow loaded to my ram pak, but i cannot get it to give me the ring/easter egg thingy...

    what option do i have to pick in gbaexploader?
     
  2. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    For the time being, all i can say is you must load the GBA game into the NOR memory of the card. I haven't done any of this myself, i just know from reading that the NOR memory acts as a standard GBA game, and that is what is needed for the DS game to see it.

    I'm sure someone else will come in with more thought out (experienced?) solution. But thats at least a starting point [​IMG]
     
  3. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's the way to do it.
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    If GBA ExpLoader supports soft reset on your slot 1 cart, you can use PSRAM mode for game linkage. Just select the GBA game from the list in PSRAM mode and press Select. The game will be loaded into PSRAM and then GBA ExpLoader will reset back to the flashcart menu. From there you just run the DS game you want to link the GBA game with.

    You may need to do a bit of fiddling to get soft reset working depending on your slot 1 cart. This generally involves putting a file in the root of the memory card, but which file you need depends on the flashcart. It works on the R4/M3 Simply without any extra tweaking.

    Then again, you can just flash the game to NOR and not bother with this.
     
  5. themuddaload
    OP

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    um, i am using an m3 real with the english sakura hack, if that makes a difference.
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It just occurred to me that you never said that you were using an EZ-Flash 3-in-1, which is what everyone assumed. If you're using the M3 Real GBA Expansion you should be using the Real's built in GBA support, not GBA ExpLoader.
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Could GBA ExpLoader be used in theory? I thought the latest update added support for the M3 Real slot-2 addon (though granted I don't really keep up with it that much so I could be wrong)
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    GBA ExpLoader has supported the M3 Real GBA expansion for a while now.
     
  9. themuddaload
    OP

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    um, so i just play the game using the sakura gui? then turn it off and play dawn of sorrow?
     
  10. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure how it works on that cart, but I'd expect there to be an option specifically for game linkage somewhere in the menu, or maybe you press a different button to load the GBA game for linkage instead of loading it and booting into GBA mode.

    Check out the M3 forum inside the Flashing Hardware and Software forum. There are faqs and such for the M3 Real, and if you can't find the info you need that's probably a better place to ask.
     

Share This Page