GBA SP hack

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by ccollins21, Sep 6, 2010.

Sep 6, 2010

GBA SP hack by ccollins21 at 4:09 PM (10,087 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. ccollins21
    OP

    Newcomer ccollins21 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry if I asked a question thats been answered a million times, and if I didn't choose my keywords carefully when I searched o it could bring me to a topic that answered my question, but I have a Gameboy SP and I want to hack it, I want to know if I could hack it to cheat in my Pokemon Sapphire game, and how do I use my Gameboy SP to play Roms (Mods I'm just asking a question) please help. Thanks
     
  2. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    You can use a flash cartridge for your GBA, and it doesn't need any flashing to the device itself.

    I haven't done anything like that to mine, so you're gonna have to ask for specifics to someone else.
     
  3. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't hack it, you buy a flashcart. Most of these will allow you to use cheats on your roms. If you want to use cheats on retail games, however, you'll need an Action Replay or something similar.
     
  4. Canonbeat234

    Member Canonbeat234 Redeemed Temper

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Japan
    Wait, GBA SP? You can't buy a DS for 40 bucks?
     
  5. ccollins21
    OP

    Newcomer ccollins21 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    where can i buy a ds for 40 bucks? and whats a supercard sd?
     
  6. thaddius

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    A GBA flashcart with an SD card slot in it.
     
  7. JakePsycho

    Member JakePsycho gold~king~house

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    Some people like to go back to the basics.

    OP: You can get an EZ-Flash IV and use the .cht files on this website.
     
  8. Melter

    Member Melter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    For those who just want to play GBA Games, GBA SP doesn't stretch out the image, plays GB and GBC games, and is much smaller than a DS.

    But Game Boy Micro > SP imo.
     
  9. boktor666

    Member boktor666 Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Holland, somewhere :D
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You know, I have one of those, its a good one. Though they are a bit .. well.. expensive ish.
     
  10. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    How convenient, the DS doesn't do it either.
     
  11. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    ^ The DS puts a black box around everything that isn't the normal GBA screen size. On my lite and Phat, there is a good amount of space on each side, and a little bit top and bottom.

    Edit: Just noticed the super bump a few posts up. :/
     
  12. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Plus you can add a GBA frame to replace that black border.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. relminator

    Member relminator GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    Philippines
    How do you add a GBA frame if I may ask?
     
  14. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    With any decent Slot-1 cart that lets you load whatever cart is on Slot-2.
    No, wait. Pretty much any Slot-2 cart that can run this homebrew can do that.
    But some flashcarts have built-in support for those.

    [youtube]MtqvzW14hL8[/youtube]
     

Share This Page