GBA SP & Flash2Advance Compatibility

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Omero, Mar 27, 2003.

Mar 27, 2003
  1. Omero
    OP

    Former Staff Omero Former Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    907
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Milan, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    GBATEMP admins are currently carefully and throughtfully testing the new GBA SP european units with the Flash2Advance carts.

    We have three different european GBA SP (all three different colors) and 5 different Flash2Advance sets (both 256 and 128 MB), and since we've been using all these since a lot of time, this is probably the best testing ground to officially understand if there really are compatibility problems of the GBA SP with the Flash2Advance carts and linkers.

    So far the tests have confirmed that, HELL YES, the flashing problems do exist and prevent gamers to use the new GBA SP to properly flash the F2A carts (remember that you can always run a F2A into a GBA SP, the problems are with the flashing).

    We are currently trying all the possible setups and all the possible versions of the flashing software (1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 2.0, 2.01) to see if the problem arises just in certain cases or always, and if there are possible workarounds for it.

    Tomorrow we will post the final results of this little GBATEMP "research". [​IMG]
     


  2. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,510
    Featured Posts:
    5
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Excellent.

    Good Job Omero.

    See what the nice people at gbatemp do for the gaming world! [​IMG]


    Hopefully someone can create a programme to get around this....

    Otherwise keep your old GBA.
     
  3. Bungie50

    Newcomer Bungie50 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] Thanks for your hard work, hope to hear some good news!!!!!!
     
  4. mechanori

    mechanori Newbie

    Ummm... I have a Flash Advance Linker Xtreme 256. I think they already confirmed it, but it works right?
     
  5. Omero
    OP

    Former Staff Omero Former Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    907
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Milan, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    The currently known problems (not yet confirmed officially by GBATEMP... wait tomorrow for that [​IMG] ) are only with Flash2Advance, that uses the GBA itself as the linker.
     
  6. nicko

    Member nicko GBATemp Ha Do Ken

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    552
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    The only known problem is for FLASHING cart, all cards (once correclty flashed) work.
     
  7. Calimero

    Newcomer Calimero Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Italy
    Great work guys! [​IMG]
    I'm eagerly waiting for your findings since I've just ordered a F2A 256 set and I'm waiting to buy the GBASP, in case I'd go for the Jap version
     
  8. exile

    exile Newbie

    Well I am not sure what this adds to the equation, but I bought 3 US SP units and my flash2advance 256 card only works on two of them. It works perfectly on the two but on the other one (the one that just happened to be the one I kept [​IMG] ) it will go to the wait mode and will sit as usually, as soon as I send it a command through f2a version 2.0nt it will say that the ilinker is found but then will say that the flash is not found. The screen comes up on the SP but the box where the writing, erasing, etc... is is all garbled.

    The card works fine on my regular GBA which I was hoping to sell and not keep just for flashing.

    I am using software version 2.0nt
    I am running XP service pack 1
    256 mbit flash2advance card
    us gba sp (cobalt hehe)
     
  9. Omero
    OP

    Former Staff Omero Former Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    907
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Milan, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    To answer: the problems are ONLY with the flashing... properly flashed carts works PERFECTLY even on a GBA SP unit.

    I'm now playing Mario Ware on my GBA SP & F2A flashed with my old GBA [​IMG]
     
  10. NEiM0D

    NEiM0D Newbie

    You can create you own program to flash your cart in a GBA...
    I know how to do it with a MBv2 cable, but I don't know how the F2A cable interacts with PC.
     
  11. KiVan

    Former Staff KiVan Hooray! Member n# 1!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,256
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    cool this should be the most anticipated unreleased rom ever [​IMG]
     
  12. bergkamp1

    bergkamp1 Newbie

    lets see, i am playing luigi ware now [​IMG]
     
  13. marauderz

    marauderz Newbie

    Good luck!
     
  14. No Name Trowa Barton

    Member No Name Trowa Barton Namaiki iun-ja naiyoâ„¢

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    985
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    the whole world is in my hands.
    Country:
    United States
    what the heck is Mario Ware? is that like the wario game? any ways i am getting a new GBA SP in a month. so untell then i will mainly be using my GBA...
     
  15. norberto

    Member norberto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Country:
    United States
    I also just tried My friends F2A cable on my SP and It diddnt work. I have the external linker and that works 100% with my SP. only the cable that goes from the printer port to the GBA port does not work. I bought a USA SP. other than that no problems playing games onced flashed like others have said.
     
  16. bajibbles

    Member bajibbles Ragnafreak

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    784
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    dear god i gotta get me an external linker!
    i just applied for a deal at EB (2 GBA games + your GBA and you get the SP for $50 AUS)
     
  17. Omero
    OP

    Former Staff Omero Former Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    907
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Milan, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    One note: mine was a typo, i meant WARIO WARE and not mario... [​IMG]
     
  18. ATMB

    Member ATMB GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    137
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Neo Tokio 3
    Country:
    Italy
    Damn!
    Then the problem is really present, damned GBA SP!!!
    What could we do? Just wait?
    [​IMG]

    bye!
     
  19. neocat

    Member neocat The GbaTemp 1337 Cat of D00M!!

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,683
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    get an exernal linker

    still it would be better if someone figured out a way to fix this
     
  20. alucard_xs

    alucard_xs Newbie

    for me it works, I tested it a few minutes ago, ihave got a GBA SP europe version bought this morning in france (a silver one) i have got a F2A ilinker (flash directly in the GBA SP) and a 256 PRO cartridge !

    i made a full erase before flashing for the first time in the sp and i tested it with advance war !!

    how cool !
     

Share This Page

Loading...