1. zoharmodifier

    OP zoharmodifier GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    does the G6/G6L have any kind of "GBA slot" emulation in conjunction with loading a DS game? for games like RMZX, RMEXE5 (Twin Leaders), Dawn of Sorrow, etc.

    for those who don't know what i'm referring to, it's basically an add-on feature you get for having a GBA game slotted in when you're playing a DS game. in RMZX, you get to fight bosses from RMZ3 and RMZ4, depending on which game you have slotted in.
     
  2. _Mazza_

    _Mazza_ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    I'm pretty sure you can do it by merging the roms or something before transferring to the G6 try googling it
     
  3. corbs132

    corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    854
    Country:
    United States
    yes. you can emulate it by hitting x on the gba rom before loading your ds rom. it does this by transferring gba data to the sram. i konw it does this bc i have a g6.
     
  4. _Mazza_

    _Mazza_ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    i'm gonna try that when i get my g6
     
  5. zoharmodifier

    OP zoharmodifier GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    i just got my G6 and i tried the above method. doesn't seem to work. any advice?
     
  6. Rykar

    Rykar Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Did you use the Japanese version of Zero 3 and 4?
     
  7. outphase

    outphase Custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    I tried it with Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow and didn't get the rare ring
     
  8. Lily

    Lily One Scary Lady
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Country:
    Canada
    Please elaborate - this does not appear to work with the G6 Lite..
     
  9. kernelPANIC

    kernelPANIC GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Japan
    Some games like Eyeshield 21 DS unlock new teams if you have the GBA cartridge inserted in the GBA slot.
    If there IS a method to emulate said slot, it would be a great flashcart attribute/asset.
     
  10. HugeCock

    HugeCock Oh My....
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United States
    As mentioned above the G6 does allow you to unlock GBA features. Off of memory I believe you go to mycard highlight the GBA rom you want to "preload" hit X and it will load it into the memory. Then go and load your DS game and it should work. That's off memory....if it doesnt work I will get off my ass and grab my Ds to double check for you
     
  11. outphase

    outphase Custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Going into My Card and pressing X does indeed load the gba game into memory, but the emulation of said memory doesn't work
     
  12. FFVII-2

    FFVII-2 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    if this feature works im sold on a g6 lite once the english version comes around.
     
  13. Rykar

    Rykar Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    I hope someone gets to the bottom of this.
     
  14. Killermech

    Killermech Cookie Monster
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Well, I just tried every possible combination.. directly copy, raw drag n drop, etc with

    Advance wars dual strike + advance wars
    Castlevania dawn of sorrows + castlevania aria of sorrows
    Rockman ZX + rockman Zero 4

    Results... nada. It took me a fair time of about 40min to rewrite and test it carefully in every combination I could think of. So im assuming it doesn't work yet.
     
  15. FFVII-2

    FFVII-2 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    that may be one of the advantages of using the ninjads flash card (the one that is just a nds card, not gba cart needed)...like have the g6 lite with the gba rom and the ninjads with the ds game....maybe?
     
  16. Killermech

    Killermech Cookie Monster
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    It's the software (loader) not functioning correctly, so if you are using a ninjads you will still atm need the original gba cart of the game to make this work. Till the G6 team properly fixes this function. [​IMG]
     
  17. Rykar

    Rykar Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Well there has to be a way to get it to work what is the point of "pressing X does indeed load the gba game into memory" if it doesn't work. Someone should e-mail the G6 Team about it.
     
  18. outphase

    outphase Custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    That wouldn't work because the g6 isn't a real gba card, it won't have things in the right place and you can't do that unless in the g6.
     
  19. galaxykidgamma

    galaxykidgamma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    how is g6's e-mail support nowadays, i remember never getting e-mailed back by them.
     
  20. TheSpade

    TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    The GBA Link doesn't work with Loader 4.1a and U-Disk 4.1d. Is G6/M3 Team even aware that this feature is broken?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulation,