GBA slot emulation

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by zoharmodifier, Jul 9, 2006.

Jul 9, 2006

GBA slot emulation by zoharmodifier at 8:53 PM (5,034 Views / 0 Likes) 54 replies

  1. zoharmodifier
    OP

    Member zoharmodifier GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    does the G6/G6L have any kind of "GBA slot" emulation in conjunction with loading a DS game? for games like RMZX, RMEXE5 (Twin Leaders), Dawn of Sorrow, etc.

    for those who don't know what i'm referring to, it's basically an add-on feature you get for having a GBA game slotted in when you're playing a DS game. in RMZX, you get to fight bosses from RMZ3 and RMZ4, depending on which game you have slotted in.
     


  2. _Mazza_

    Member _Mazza_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm pretty sure you can do it by merging the roms or something before transferring to the G6 try googling it
     
  3. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    yes. you can emulate it by hitting x on the gba rom before loading your ds rom. it does this by transferring gba data to the sram. i konw it does this bc i have a g6.
     
  4. _Mazza_

    Member _Mazza_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'm gonna try that when i get my g6
     
  5. zoharmodifier
    OP

    Member zoharmodifier GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    i just got my G6 and i tried the above method. doesn't seem to work. any advice?
     
  6. Rykar

    Newcomer Rykar Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Did you use the Japanese version of Zero 3 and 4?
     
  7. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    I tried it with Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow and didn't get the rare ring
     
  8. Lily

    Former Staff Lily One Scary Lady

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    Please elaborate - this does not appear to work with the G6 Lite..
     
  9. kernelPANIC

    Member kernelPANIC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    Some games like Eyeshield 21 DS unlock new teams if you have the GBA cartridge inserted in the GBA slot.
    If there IS a method to emulate said slot, it would be a great flashcart attribute/asset.
     
  10. HugeCock

    Member HugeCock Oh My....

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United States
    As mentioned above the G6 does allow you to unlock GBA features. Off of memory I believe you go to mycard highlight the GBA rom you want to "preload" hit X and it will load it into the memory. Then go and load your DS game and it should work. That's off memory....if it doesnt work I will get off my ass and grab my Ds to double check for you
     
  11. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Going into My Card and pressing X does indeed load the gba game into memory, but the emulation of said memory doesn't work
     
  12. FFVII-2

    Member FFVII-2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    if this feature works im sold on a g6 lite once the english version comes around.
     
  13. Rykar

    Newcomer Rykar Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    I hope someone gets to the bottom of this.
     
  14. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well, I just tried every possible combination.. directly copy, raw drag n drop, etc with

    Advance wars dual strike + advance wars
    Castlevania dawn of sorrows + castlevania aria of sorrows
    Rockman ZX + rockman Zero 4

    Results... nada. It took me a fair time of about 40min to rewrite and test it carefully in every combination I could think of. So im assuming it doesn't work yet.
     
  15. FFVII-2

    Member FFVII-2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    that may be one of the advantages of using the ninjads flash card (the one that is just a nds card, not gba cart needed)...like have the g6 lite with the gba rom and the ninjads with the ds game....maybe?
     
  16. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    It's the software (loader) not functioning correctly, so if you are using a ninjads you will still atm need the original gba cart of the game to make this work. Till the G6 team properly fixes this function. [​IMG]
     
  17. Rykar

    Newcomer Rykar Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Well there has to be a way to get it to work what is the point of "pressing X does indeed load the gba game into memory" if it doesn't work. Someone should e-mail the G6 Team about it.
     
  18. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    That wouldn't work because the g6 isn't a real gba card, it won't have things in the right place and you can't do that unless in the g6.
     
  19. galaxykidgamma

    Member galaxykidgamma GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    United States
    how is g6's e-mail support nowadays, i remember never getting e-mailed back by them.
     
  20. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    The GBA Link doesn't work with Loader 4.1a and U-Disk 4.1d. Is G6/M3 Team even aware that this feature is broken?
     

Share This Page