gba saves disappearing with ak2.1

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by merbiyatch, Sep 24, 2009.

Sep 24, 2009
  1. merbiyatch
    OP

    Newcomer merbiyatch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    this has happend to me more than 3 times. i dont know what im doing wrong but out of nowhere, for some unexplainable reason, my gba games saves keep disappearing and ticking the hell out of me.

    is there a way i can recover my saves? when i play the game there is no game save detected but when i check on my pc, there is a game save present..whats up?
     
  2. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt they just 'disappear'. Mine don't, so I'm guessing it's something you're doing.

    If you're really sure you might not have done something wrong, submit it as a bug on the AKAIO forums.
     
  3. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It is called manually backing up your saves after a restart.

    See my sig. read both topics, in particularly the first one. at the very bottom of the first post.

    This might also cover your issues depending on what games your playing:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=179078
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i agree with what how_do_i_do_that said. this is an order of operations issue. you aren't doing what you should be doing to back-up the save on reboot. there is also a bit if info in the akaio wiki. if all else fails just use gba exploader.

    -another world
     
  5. merbiyatch
    OP

    Newcomer merbiyatch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    mario & luigi super star saga. i dont know what im doing wrong to make this happen. but what could caused these issues?
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Country:
    Antarctica
    mario & luigi super star saga uses EEPROM, you have to SRAM patch the game.

    Your problem is YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT GAMES YOU HAVE TO PATCH, so read #8 so you know how to find out what games you have to patch.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=179078
     
  7. merbiyatch
    OP

    Newcomer merbiyatch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    so there are alot of patchers and toold on the dl section. which one would you recommend? thanks for the reply btw. i appreciate your help.
     
  8. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Just pick something that you feels comfortable for you. All patchers do patching in different ways so results will vary. It is best you download 2 or 3 of them and try out which one works best for you without causing errors for you with your setup.
     
  9. merbiyatch
    OP

    Newcomer merbiyatch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    ok thank you. so when its patched should it read my old save data or do i start from scratch?

    EDIT: sram patched it and fix header for mario and luigi superstar saga. no game saves i guess i have to start from scratch again..ugh!
     
  10. dhjohn

    Member dhjohn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    When I was using Acekard (w/ Akaio 4.1) Mario & Luigi: SS would load and save correctly without me patching. Akaio's self patching worked for it fine.
    Have you checked the 3in1's battery? If its dead, no game will save.
    ~dhjohn
     
  11. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    Same here, back then when I used 1.4.1.

    The save is still working on 1.5.

    You must be doing something wrong.
     
  12. merbiyatch
    OP

    Newcomer merbiyatch Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    uhm how do i check the batt life?
     
  13. dhjohn

    Member dhjohn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure if there is a way other then taking the thing apart and using a volt checker, and even that someone else would need to guide you through. (I never needed to check mine when I had it.)
    ~dhjohn
     
  14. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Country:
    Antarctica
    With a volt meter. Or you can only solder a new batter and consider that as day zero for how much time has passed.
     

Share This Page