Gba Pokemon games don't save correctly!

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by ALA5T0R, May 10, 2008.

May 10, 2008
  1. ALA5T0R
    OP

    Newcomer ALA5T0R Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Italy
    I have an M3 Real Perfect Bundle with the GBA Expansion Pack.
    Every game works correctly except for EVERY Pokemon game.
    The problem is, whenever I save it seems to do it right, but when I try to load a game it tells me my save file is corrupted! Sometimes (not always) it even tells me it is deleting my save file!
    The savegame then loads correctly, but what I'm concerned about is that I can't use the Pal Park with Pokemon Diamond! The games link regularly, meaning I can catch wild Pokemon that appear only if you have a Slot-2 Pokemon game inserted, but when I try the "Migrate Pokemon" option, it again tells me my save file is missing/corrupted!
    Can anyone help me please? [​IMG]
     
  2. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Odd, it works just fine for me.
     
  3. ALA5T0R
    OP

    Newcomer ALA5T0R Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Italy
    Mmh...then coud you please send me a save file? Any Pokemon game will do, I have the same problem with everyone. Maybe with your save it will work! Thank you!

    EDIT: BTW what's your firmware version?
     
  4. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to force the Flash 128k save type for Pokemon GBA games. I don't know how to do that on the M3 though.
     
  5. ALA5T0R
    OP

    Newcomer ALA5T0R Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Italy
    Ok, the save file on the M3 is already 128k. I managed to make the save file work.
    But I still can't use the Pal Park migrate option. It still tells me my save file is missing/corrupted.
    Has anyone managed to do that?
     
  6. mistwolf

    Newcomer mistwolf Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Australia
    I've done it a lot. I played FireRed and Emerald all the way through, and migrated to Diamond.

    I let the M3 make the original GBA save file, and never had an issue.

    What I do is boot into the M3 shell, go into the GBA folder, pick the game (FireRed, Emerald, whatever), and choose 'Y' to load it onto the GBA expansion. Then I go back to the main menu, go select Diamond/Peal, and load it (I keep everything turned off here, like cheats and such, but don't load with Y/download play)

    Then once Diamond has booted up, I usually have the continue game, new game, and migrate options. Choose migrate, choose my 6 pokemon, and it zips along.

    Relating this from memory, I can get out the digicam and take photos if it will help.
     
  7. ALA5T0R
    OP

    Newcomer ALA5T0R Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Italy
    It could probably help.
    Can you also tell me which firmware version do you use?
    Thank you!

    Edit: Did you patch the DS rom or the GBA rom or you left them clean?
     
  8. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    other info that could be of use:
    the regions of both games.(transfer between EU and US versions might not work)
     
  9. leolight

    Newcomer leolight Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I have same problem.
    I'm using G6 DS/M3 DS real and M3 GBA Expansion pack.
    I'm playing pokemon Emerald and Diamond but I cannot migrate the Emerald because of missing/currupted save file.
    Is there any patch program to fix it?
     
  10. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    from what i understand, the fact that it doesn't work is caused because the game is patched.
    gba pokemon games use a rare, and mostly unsupported save system
    so most emu's/slot2's need it patched to run.
     

Share This Page