GBA on Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Zesto, Jul 20, 2007.

Jul 20, 2007

GBA on Wii? by Zesto at 4:19 AM (2,246 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Zesto
    OP

    Newcomer Zesto Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to get a GBA Emulator onto the Wii? I hear that you can..is this true?
     
  2. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    There is a poor quality GBA emulator for GCN I believe.

    Going partially off-topic, I wonder if some of the gcn expansion port connections exist on the wii board at all. Probably not but just thinking out loud here. If that was the case then the gameboy player could possibly be wired up with some work.
     
  3. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    They don't. For instance you can't use Tinkle with the GBA on the Wii when playing LoZ:Windwaker.
     
  4. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    You are telling me you can't use the bathroom while playing Windwaker!?

    You can use Tingle with the GBA because the cord that attaches to the GBA goes from the Gamecube controller port to the GBA, I have one and use it for Animal Crossing.
     
  5. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    huh.... I thought I read that it didn't work... Must be that you can't do it with the DS, but that's pretty obvious...

    Sorry about the wrong information I guess, if it does work.
     
  6. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    This is entirely off-topic, but just to further show...Pulled from Zelda Universe...
    "First to the basics, what you will need to make this connection is a Nintendo Game Boy Advance or a Game Boy Advance SP. In addition, you will need a Nintendo GameCube Game Boy Advance Link Cable, which can be purchased from our online store. It is not required that you have any sort of cartridge or software for your GBA."
    [​IMG]
    And this is the cable. They don't work with DS of course, but most people should still have their GBA/SP [​IMG]
     
  7. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Advance Game Port by Datel works with the Wii (it plugs into the GC memory card) the only problem is that its doing GBA emulation (whereas the GB Player used GB hardware)and had a bit of a framerate problem on some games. Also the sound is occasional off too.
     
  8. Zesto
    OP

    Newcomer Zesto Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I was hoping there was an GBA emulator that functions like the other emus for the Wii [NES, SNES, ETC.]

    Guess not [​IMG]
     
  9. nintendodstefan

    Newcomer nintendodstefan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah there is a way [​IMG]
    i found a program that can make a dvd with your favorite game
    playable on your wii

    i will sent you a pm with the link
     

Share This Page