Gba on dsi or slot 1 flashcarts

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by HateBreed, Sep 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Sep 6, 2009
  1. HateBreed
    OP

    Member HateBreed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    United States
    ok so i was thinking.. instead of trying to create a gba emulator for ds.. why dont ppl try converting the gba game to a ds game..like program it to play on a certain screen.. like creating a program that can convert the gba file (input) and make it a nds.file (output).. wouldn't that make more sense and take less effort?
     


  2. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    No, I think. It may not work for converted .gba to .nds ROMS.
     
  3. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    NO! God, why do you noobs never ever use THE SEARCH BUTTON! With the technology we have at the moment, it's simply NOT POSSIBLE!!!
     
  4. SCVgeo

    Member SCVgeo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Seems to me you did not read the first post.

    Anyways, to the OP:
    The way GBA games work is very different than GBA (as in their structure). I don't really know what it would take to make such a program. But its probably not worth it (too much time when there are other solutions already).
     
  5. Burnedmagix

    Member Burnedmagix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't you think every possible idea was given a thought?
    Something as simple as converting the two files would've been already talked over.
     
  6. HateBreed
    OP

    Member HateBreed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    United States
    I am not a noob!!! It could be possible.. if a gbc or gb game can be converted to play on java then this too is possible...
     
  7. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its really not. They use pretty different coding structures to my knowledge. The DS does have the hardware to run GBA games but only via slot-2 as via slot-1 all the other features are available as the card is running in DS mode, a completely different structure (as far as processor structure and ram are concerned) to the GBA mode.

    This idea has been hit upon by many n00bs in the past and its basically identical to the N64 porting thing. What you are asking for is a complete port of games to the DS hardware which needs to be tailored to each game.
     
  8. HateBreed
    OP

    Member HateBreed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    United States
    well think of it like this.. because on my acekard i was bored so i put a gba game and it didnt show up.. so i renamed the file pokemon ruby.nds and it showed up.. but it wouldnt play.. so idk...
     
  9. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could take Crysis.exe and rename it Crysis.nds. It would show up on your flashcart, but the DS wouldn't be able to play it.
     
  10. MissingNo._

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you are. And the file structures are different, so It's not possible.

    But I hate it when people say it's not possible. Has anyone actually tried to convert a .GBA game to a .NDS game?
     
  11. HateBreed
    OP

    Member HateBreed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    United States
    I guess.. but idk it seems that it would be easier.. wat is the point of making an emulator andhaving to retest it and retest it and retest it.. so idk i guess.. how do you close this lol
     
  12. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't, the mods do when they realise the noobish-ness of the thread.

    What you are proposing is possible for 1 or 2 games if someone had the time to bother but not to convert every single GBA game ever. We have slot-2 devices to run our GBA games
     
  13. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    I DID read it, actually, so it seems YOU didn't read MY post.

    Also, since when are you in the CCC?
     
  14. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    If you download SNES roms, and change the file extension to .txt, then open it with notepad and type the words "Open=OnDS" as the first line, then save and rename the extension to .nds, it will automatically work without any emulators.
    /s

    This thread is full of fail.
     
  15. HateBreed
    OP

    Member HateBreed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    United States
    well wat im talking about is making a file converter.. like just the program so ppl can download it and convert the rom themselves... and nothing is impossible.. psp3000 unhackable? impossible? NOOO!!!! never say its imposible
     
  16. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dude, read my post again.
    It isn't impossible but completely impractical. You are asking for a complete engine rewrite to work on DS hardware which is just not possible to put into a program unless its tailored to 1 specific GBA game.
     
  17. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
    The fact of the matter is that IT IS IMPOSSIBLE. The Slot-1 function of the DSi is just not powerful enough to run GBA games. We would need to hack DSi mode to even think about GBA games.
     
  18. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Hackability is another thing totally (e.g.: GameCube ISO Loader for Wii, difficult, but POSSIBLE, even if there are some serious limits in doing it).
    You're not asking to run GBA games on a GBA, but to run them on a DS, which is something TOTALLY different.

    You don't just get and MAGICALLY convert things from a format to another. Otherwise why emulators would even exist?
    Oh silly programmers, to think that they wasted entire days of their life emulating something when they could've just converted them! [​IMG]
     
  19. Omega_2

    Member Omega_2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Country:
    Antarctica
    [lol]You might be able to run WoW, but who in their right mind would want to do that? XD[/lol]
    But seriously, how is it that people CAN'T read anymore?
    I guess we should lock this and keep the mystery going :\
     
  20. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Freshâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    You repeating the same thing isn't going to suddenly make it happen, or make people think it's possible. Either do it yourself, or don't try to tell us what "should be easier".
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page