gba flashme

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by lenselijer, Apr 15, 2008.

Apr 15, 2008

gba flashme by lenselijer at 9:29 AM (2,197 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. lenselijer
    OP

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm tired of this 'gameboy' animation, can i remove it by flashing a modified bios to my gba?

    I know there exists a tool like that for the ds where you can remove the health screen...
     
  2. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    the gameboy animation is akin to the progress bar in any OS. It is loading your game while you see it.
     
  3. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not true IIRC. I'll be back later with research.
     
  4. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    why research, this was asked when the gameboy came out. your game has to load sometime, surely not afterwards, thats another second or 2 of waiting.
     
  5. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    kids these days. always impatient. next, you'll be complaining that your hotpockets don't cook fast enough in the microwave. [​IMG]
     
  6. jelbo

    Member jelbo Ōkami!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The major difference is that the GBA logo is part of the GBA BIOS, while the health and safety warning screen is part of the DS's firmware. The firmware can be reflashed, while the BIOS cannot, and the GBA does not have a firmware at all.

    FlashMe actually doesn't touch the DS's BIOS files at all, even though the system does contain two of them (one for each ARM processor).
     
  8. jelbo

    Member jelbo Ōkami!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    For those that use a GBA BIOS dump with an emulaltor: DarkFader has made a little .ips patch (GBA.ROM.FastBoot.ips) that, when applied to the BIOS dump, will remove or skip the logo animation.
     
  9. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why would you want to get rid of it?
    I like that little screen.
     
  10. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    GBA Games have no loading time. They are run directly in ROM, so all you need to do to get your games to boot faster is to add a bx to the game executable opcode to the start of the GBA logo display.
     
  11. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    Yes they do have some load time, it is measured in ms not seconds. you can actually count the seconds on some of the larger gba titles. This is noticable on the actual game cart and not on the rom.

    Your game save data is loaded with other things in memory. Seem you have never spent any time debuging to understand where the opcode is executed, in memory.
     
  12. Jack-Of-Trades

    Member Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't mid being able to change the intro screen to something more interesting

    I mean even the closed OS window's allows it

    Even if it would be something lame

    I'm tired of being standard
    Isn't that why the majority of us here bought flash cart's (other than being to cheap to buy real games)
     
  13. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I still highly doubt it's possible to write to the BIOS in software, which is what this would require.
     
  14. Jack-Of-Trades

    Member Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
    I Never said it wouldn't be Expensive/Time Consuming


    No Kidding! do a bench mark test on a 1GB Sandisc even using usb 1.1 it's random access test is 1.2 ms

    so for a game/rom that is only let's say 32MB 1/32'th it's max size would load in like .24ms

    not much of one but yeah it is a loading time
     
  15. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    why are you trying to compare speeds on flash to speeds on ROM, two different things. It is artic_flame's misunderstanding of how hardware works that I even brought it up.


    If there was an easy way to bypass the logo, it would have been put into a gba game cart by now, none of which have that ability.

    Your 1.2ms is based on PC standards, not standalone hardware speeds.
     

Share This Page