GBA Exploader saves on Ez flash 3-in-1

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by madartist, Jun 17, 2010.

Jun 17, 2010
  1. madartist
    OP

    Newcomer madartist Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm actually confused about saving files in GBA Exploader. I read tutorials and wiki and understood that I should use SRAM mode, but saves are not working for me.
    They are working when I'm playing the game. They are working when I reboot my DS and restart the same game. But when I start any other game and then come back to the previous one (to check if it still got my old save), all saves are blank. It seems to me, that it deletes all saves for previous roms I run, after I try any new rom.

    Would anybody please explain me, how should I keep all the previous saves for the previous roms after I run a new rom?

    For example... when I run Rayman and create a new save and then reboot DS, I still got this sav and it's working. But when I run FFV, for example, it sems like deleting all Rayman saves. So when I run Rayman after FFV, there are no saves of Rayman anymore, all of them are simply blank (even though I have Rayman.sav on my MicroSD).

    Thanks heaps for any help.
     
  2. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    When you launch gbaexploader second time, it asks you the save slot. You just press A there, don't you?
     
  3. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, the OP should be. If you press B it discards the save. When you boot a different game, you will get a similar screen except this one is regarding which save slot to load for that game.
     
  4. dnniwa485

    Member dnniwa485 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    well dunno but you can try this:

    - delete the .sav file of the rom you want to load on the second time.

    I use YSMENU to load gba roms to my ez 3-in-1 (compare to GBAExp loader, i can use YSMENU as GBAloader and Firmware for DSTT)

    When you load a new gba rom on your slot-2, it will ask you to format your SRAM, just select no from the selection, and it will continue to load the gba rom, without touching the SRAM. And you're save file is still there, but I wonder why you want to keep saves from the old one.. as it will be renderless on the new gbarom that you loaded.
     
  5. madartist
    OP

    Newcomer madartist Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Australia
    Because my brother and I play the same DS. But we play different games. Even I don't always want to play same game all the time... sometimes I change it to a new one, but them come back to the one I played before.
    That's why I need my old saves to be kept, so I can continue playing.
     
  6. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    Then before passing your NDS to your brother, you should relaunch gbaexploader and save sram to SD.
     
  7. madartist
    OP

    Newcomer madartist Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Australia
    I figured out the problem. It's because I was patching gba roms with EZ4 Client before playing, as I read in tutorials. But the new version of GBA Exploader actually does that automatically. That's why my saves didn't work properly.
     

Share This Page