GBA emulator for Slot 1 Card?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by BurntChomsky, May 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
May 1, 2008
  1. BurntChomsky
    OP

    Newcomer BurntChomsky Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hi there everyone.
    I just purchased a CycloDS card, which, as I'm sure most of you know, does not require a card in Slot 2 in order to run DS roms. However, I'm wondering if in buying only a slot 1 device, have I limited myself to the ability to only play homebrew and DS roms, or is it possible to either: 1. Download a GBA emulator to run from the CycloDS card OR 2. Download some sort of backwards Pass-me utility that would tell the DS to run GBA games from Slot1 ?
    Thanks for any help in advance.
     
  2. putifreak

    Member putifreak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Germany
  3. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
  5. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    probably a GBA Expansion pack could be considered a "backwards passme"... It goes into the GBA slot to run GBA code, although the method of operation is different.
     
  6. BurntChomsky
    OP

    Newcomer BurntChomsky Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, sounds like I need to get some new hardware if I want to play GBA games. Thanks for the replies, considering I'm a noob at this, I don't mind the flames.

    Edit: However, I feel like my question was legit...its very possible that someone might have made a GBA emulator for slot 1 cards.
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    theres stickys all over the place about it...
     
  8. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why should they bother to create emulation for something that is built right into the DS?

    More effecive for people to buy a Slot-2 device, than for coders to program emulation ...
     
  9. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You got your answer in the first reply. Seriously, this question must get asked every other week... Learn to search!

    Topic closed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page