gba emu for the ds

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by didlowman, Mar 17, 2007.

Mar 17, 2007

gba emu for the ds by didlowman at 9:55 PM (3,165 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. didlowman
    OP

    Newcomer didlowman Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Australia
    i am currently running a ewin2 and was wondering what program i could use to get gba games on my ds
     


  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    There is no GBA emulator for the DS, and it seems unlikely that there will ever be one, as the DS already has a built in GBA.
     
  3. sixb0nes

    Member sixb0nes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Belgium
    No, there isn't. Next time, get a flashcart that doesn't suck.
     
  4. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    lol ya!!!

    either M3 or G6 for GBA stuff
     
  5. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It is 100% impossible to run GBA roms from slot 1. Get the EZ-V 3 in 1 pack, that's what it's for.
     
  6. Volsfan91

    Member Volsfan91 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, destructo is right. And with the recent developments for the 3-in-1 on any slot 1 cart, it's looking like a great addon for any slot-1 owner.
     
  7. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    therefore there is no possibility that gba games will run from slot 1 huh? I am sure someone will come up with someting i mean how hard can it be to trick the console or something
     
  8. Pedro UK

    Member Pedro UK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use Rudolph's 3in1 loader. Most games (16mb or less) will run in PSRAM which means you don't have to 'install' the games on to the 3in1 and is much quicker.
     
  9. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No! Geez, how many times do people have to say it [​IMG]. Get a 3-in-1 or a GBA cart.

    It's not a matter of "no-one's done it yet", there's hardware based reasons why the DS slot is physically incapable of running a GBA game http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=50746
     
  10. Pedro UK

    Member Pedro UK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  11. dsbomb

    Member dsbomb GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I heard you could do it but you had to hit Up-Up-Down-Down-B-A-Start within half a second. I'm currently working on tweaking my Roomba to be able to do this. I've gotten it down to 0.64 seconds so far...
     
  12. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    [​IMG] You should have posted your gift card. [​IMG]
     
  13. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Man I never realised before, but the asking for GBA slot-1 thing can get really old (I now have some idea of how you feel gbatemp veterans).
     
  14. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's already in the thread I linked anyway [​IMG]
    Xeijin: welcome to the fold [​IMG]
     
  15. crafton48

    Member crafton48 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    someone should do a NDS emulator for the GBA, now that would be funny
     
  16. spas

    Member spas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    389
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah of course it would!

    Just like a ps3 emulator for the psx would be soooooo /sarcasm funny!
     
  17. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,455
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Well, there's this one way of keeping GBA ROMs on a Slot1 card and then running them on a DS, but much like the Opera Browser, it requires a memory expansion pack in order to work. [​IMG]


    The good news is the memory expansion pack only costs $18 plus shipping, and also has the rumble function [​IMG]
     
  18. cutter

    Newcomer cutter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United States
    You guys shouldn't be so hard on him. To be honest, I was wondering the same thing. I had no idea the DS was technically incapable of loading GBA games, I thought that it could considering that it was the GBA's replacement. Though, it doesn't really matter to me. The only GBA game I want to play is Minish Cap.
     
  19. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They wouldn't be, it's just that the question has been answered so many times that it's really easy to find the answer with a single search. You're one of the good ones, you must've done a search to find this thread (yay have a cookie [​IMG]), it's the people who don't bother putting any effort in to find the answer themselves that drive people up the wall, we get fed up of repeating ourselves. [​IMG]
     
  20. ZeWarriorReturnz

    Banned ZeWarriorReturnz Banned

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    United States

    You bet, and I've been here for less than 2 months lol.
     

Share This Page