GBA Controls

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Aturaten, Aug 11, 2007.

Aug 11, 2007

GBA Controls by Aturaten at 9:03 AM (989 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Aturaten
    OP

    Newcomer Aturaten Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I despise the GBA controls. Nintendo should be sued for making the controls A and B instead of X and Y. So, is there any hack/firmware modification to change this?
     
  2. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't see the problem... It's the same as on a GBA...

    And I don't think it's possible to change it. The GBA-part actually has a seperate firmware.
     
  3. kaktus.ds

    Newcomer kaktus.ds Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Sweden
    Couldn't agree more.
     
  4. Aturaten
    OP

    Newcomer Aturaten Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but on the GBA the buttons aren't positioned the same way.
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Damn, there was a thread a few days ago that had a link to a mod chip that could do it.
    No firmware hacks at present though.
     
  6. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    I was the one who gave the link I think you're talking about, FAST [​IMG] Give me a minute and I'll find it again.

    EDIT: Linkage!
     
  7. jaz

    Newcomer jaz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    X and Y? I would prefer Y and B tbh but thats just me
     
  8. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    It would have been nice to have the option of using X and Y as opposed to A and B on GBA games just because the A and B buttons are ALWAYS used and the X and Y buttons are rarely used (and in the case of GBA, never used). Just to even up the button usage.
     
  9. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    B/Y. like in the snes days.
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    It's a hardware issue like was previously stated, so only a hardware mod chip would be able to change it. When in GBA mode, the DS can only recognize button presses from the A and B buttons.
     
  11. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Another vote for x and y [​IMG] They're far more comfortable to reach on a DS Lite than A and B. Y and B would be a bitch, you risk hitting B with your knuckle when reaching for Y. I won't bother modding just for that though, I can live with it.
     

Share This Page