GB and GBC emulations on NDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by shaffaaf27, Jan 24, 2007.

Jan 24, 2007
  1. shaffaaf27
    OP

    Member shaffaaf27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    london, england
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what lite slot 2 or 1 slot cards include emulation for gamboy games or gamboy colour games?
     
  2. lumo

    Newcomer lumo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any slot 2 card can have gb/c emulation as there is a gba emulator called goomba colour that runs both formats, infact some like supercard have goomba colour built into the firmware so you only need to put the .gbc file on the flash card and dont need to patch it on pc. As far as slot 1 goes there was an emulator called DS-GBC but i think it only ever got one release back in aug 05 and never worked for me anyway.
     
  3. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are no slot 1 emulators for Gameboy games yet.

    Like the guy above said there is a GB/GBC emulator called "Goomba Color", but it will only run on slot-2 carts which can run GBA games (not Supercard Rumble, M3 Pro or maybe the EZ4 Compact (although that one might now, not sure))
     
  4. jono_

    Member jono_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    Australia
    keen for a decent one
     
  5. shaffaaf27
    OP

    Member shaffaaf27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    london, england
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for the replies. i never knew about goomba colour.

    could i have this up and running on my EZ flash 4 lite (the first one, not compact or deluxe)?

    and will it save that game.
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,711
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It should run on the EZ4, have a read here about saving though:
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?t=2801&start=0
    Current versions of goomba color do not support savestates (unlike some versions of goomba), you might also want to try some of the alphas out:
    http://www.dwedit.org/dwedit_board/viewforum.php?id=5

    As for the DS there are a few early attempts at GB© emulation but they did not really amount to much when compared to goomba.

    Edit: the EZ4 lite compact should run it as long as you keep the file size before 64Mbit
     
  7. Elfish

    Member Elfish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    Germany
    is gomba color still in development? or well is it kinda dead...
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
  9. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,447
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Does the Goomba Color lag with GBC games? I remember trying out the GBAMP version, and the GBC games played at on frame per second, if at all. I didn't try it with my EZF 4.
     
  10. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I only tried it with the Zelda games, but Goomba Color ran full speed for me on the G6 lite.
     
  11. loepie92

    Newcomer loepie92 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Couldn't gnuboy be ported to the DS, considering that this emulator also has been ported to the iPod... [​IMG]
     
  12. mikeosoft

    Member mikeosoft GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    im positive it could, but in reality someone has to be willing to spend the time and effort.....
     
  13. loepie92

    Newcomer loepie92 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    To Bad, I don't have any programming experience... [​IMG]
     
  14. Staroffurby

    Newcomer Staroffurby Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want Gameboy and Gameboy Color emu then buy a supercard as its built into the firmware, as well as Sega Master Sytem, NES (Famicom) and PC-Engine (Turbo Grafx-16).
     

Share This Page