Gateway Online Question (yes I already searched)

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by dudup00p, Dec 27, 2014.

1. dudup00p
    OP

dudup00p Member

Newcomer
    Dec 27, 2014
    United States
    I'm new to the whole flashcart scene, but I just bought a 4.5 3ds xl and gateway card. I'm looking forward to the upcoming Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate game, but I was concerned with playing it online with emunand. Assuming that gateway maintains emunand support for the latest firmware, will I be able to play a legitimate MH4U cartridge online without any issues?

Thanks!

2. Vengenceonu

Vengenceonu Revenge is beneath me but accidents do happen.

Jun 20, 2013
    United States
    The C Standard Library
    yes

3. Thomas12345

Thomas12345 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Dec 1, 2014
    Canada
    u may have to patch the rom and rename it to 3dz, or use cia

Margen67 likes this.
  4. kamesenin888

kamesenin888 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Oct 20, 2007
    you can even play the mh4g original cartridge with classic mode, so its no biggie

5. alpha_noj

alpha_noj GBAtemp Regular

May 29, 2009
    United States
    Was curious about this also. So you definitely can play--online included--even though we're stuck on an older firmware? I assume this is through emunand?

6. Xzi

Xzi Console Hacker and PC Gamer

Dec 26, 2013
    United States
    Spiraling Out
    Yes. Retail cartridges work online through classic mode. Roms just need a valid header and to be changed to .3dz files to play online in Gateway mode. Most randomized headers I've used have worked fine.

7. Melon__Bread

Melon__Bread ~It's A Magik~

Dec 9, 2013
    United States
    Yeah your emunand could be a couple version behind but as long as your Game is up to date you can play online no issue.

I am on sysnand 9.2 and play Pokemon and Animal Crossing online cuz as they are fully updated

8. alpha_noj

alpha_noj GBAtemp Regular

May 29, 2009
    United States