1. lafleche

    lafleche GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Can I use my existing emunand for gateway 3ds (my 3ds now is still on 4.5 :-)) ?
    So I update sysnand to 11.something, do the complete softmod and then boot in existing gw-emunand.

    Or do I need to create a new one.
    If not.... Is there a way to transfer emunand to bigger SD. My current SD is the original 4gb.

    Thanks
     
  2. aadz93

    OP aadz93 GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,005
    Country:
    Korea, North
    The existing emunand should work as is as long as its under 11.2, since you're on 4.5 can install b9s and luma to sysnand, once that is installed you can just update the sysnand to 11.13 after b9s and luma are installed, I'd recommend installing b9s while on 4.5 since you'll have more homebrew entry points to use, then update to 11.13

    If the emunand version is 11.2 or under then patching isn't needed, it's needed only to run gateway on 11.3 or higher emunand
     
  3. Important Posts: fastboot3ds
    aadz93

    OP aadz93 GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,005
    Country:
    Korea, North
    Here's a demo aswell, instead of using luma chainloader and bootctr9, this uses fastboot3ds which eliminates bootctr9 and the need to chain-load, also save a little space and reduces file count:

    https://www.mediafire.com/file/fyumuewly5qlpx4

    this contains everything needed to use this method with fastboot3ds (load openfirminstaller via luma chainloader to install fastboot3ds)

    demo:

    (BTW the card error is because i dont have an sd in the red card)
     
    Last edited by aadz93, Aug 30, 2020
  4. DeadSkullzJr

    DeadSkullzJr Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,190
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the bump, however is there a clear way of utilizing the full CPU while in Gateway mode? I ask because Luma settings don't carry over to the mode, and NTR CFW doesn't seem to work in the mode either. The hombrew launcher is out of the equation since the wrapper relies on Luma, hax entrypoints have been broken for a while too. Basically I'd like to do this while in Gateway mode in some way:
     
  5. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,641
    Country:
    Norway
    NTR should work, at least it used to when I was on frankenfirm. Are you using BootNTR selector? https://github.com/Nanquitas/BootNTR/releases
    To be honest though, at some point continuing to use Gateway becomes a larger hassle than just switching, and we passed that point quite a while ago. All your .3ds ROMs can be converted to .cia in no time (a few seconds per game) using 3dsconv: https://github.com/ihaveamac/3dsconv
    And the only other thing you need to do is export your Gateway saves, use GWSE to simplify it: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zf4fkbe8fwen7ee/GWSE.rar?dl=0
    After that you are ready to follow http://3ds.hacks.guide to switch to Luma and make sure to follow "move emuNAND" when the guide mentions it, if you want to keep your emuNAND data like friend code, friend list etc. Or if you already have Luma dual boot just follow the move emuNAND section, and switch Luma to boot by default.
    All of that can be done in a couple of hours depending on how many games you have. Then just use FBI network install overnight to install all the .cias, and import the save data you exported before.

    I was a Gateway user for the longest time myself. When my emuNAND bricked in an attempted frankenfirm update, I finally decided that trying to get the emuNAND working again and figuring out how to get the frankenfirm update working was more effort than just switching to Luma which I had been putting off for a while because of the hassle of converting all my save data. And I've never looked back. Having to do that every time there is a new update in order to play online, and having a high likelihood of it screwing up is just not worth it.
     
    fmkid, TurdPooCharger and porkiewpyne like this.
  6. DeadSkullzJr

    DeadSkullzJr Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,190
    Country:
    United States
    "To be honest though, at some point continuing to use Gateway becomes a larger hassle than just switching, and we passed that point quite a while ago. All your .3ds ROMs can be converted to .cia in no time (a few seconds per game) using 3dsconv: https://github.com/ihaveamac/3dsconv
    And the only other thing you need to do is export your Gateway saves, use GWSE to simplify it: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zf4fkbe8fwen7ee/GWSE.rar?dl=0
    After that you are ready to follow http://3ds.hacks.guide to switch to Luma and make sure to follow "move emuNAND" when the guide mentions it, if you want to keep your emuNAND data like friend code, friend list etc. Or if you already have Luma dual boot just follow the move emuNAND section, and switch Luma to boot by default.
    All of that can be done in a couple of hours depending on how many games you have. Then just use FBI network install overnight to install all the .cias, and import the save data you exported before."


    Response:
    Alright, I'd like to mention this isn't my first time in the rodeo, I am fully aware of the modern methods of custom firmware, I have multiple systems using custom firmware, a couple of which use the more up to date methods, I don't use fastboot however because I don't need it (point is I already know about this stuff). I appreciate the fact you just want to simplify everything for people, but at the same time, it's a little annoying to see people push others into using things they feel is better for everyone. You are aware that maybe most of us already know about these modern methods, but we wanted something different to play with? What adds worse emphasis to the situation is the fact the answer given wasn't even in relation to the matter of what was asked, it was more of a "stop using this, do this instead, it's better and I know what's best for everyone" situation. I'd like to mention that again, I know what's out there, I have a couple of systems using those methods, I just wanted something different to try and play with (I have reasons for even using this as well, but I shouldn't have to explain myself as to why I use what I use), plus last I checked, I paid for the systems I use, nobody else did, so who has the right to say what I want in the first place (nobody does). I am fully aware of the fact this setup is tedious, I am aware somethings work differently, I am aware of the flaws and negative history behind this (I spared anyone the need to bring that up), however I like having an alternative option, sure maybe it's not the best out of the options out there, but it suits what I want and or need. This thread is about this particular setup, and I'd appreciate it if people didn't try to raid in the moment and try to barricade people by telling them to do something they may not even want to do.

    It's one thing to recommend something to someone, it's another when people post stuff and simulate a bandwagon approach to everything because they feel they know better or what's best for everyone.

    Now don't take what I said to heart, my main goal was to prove a point that hey, this didn't exactly pass casually, especially as a response to something unrelated to the question that was asked. I have no beef with you or anyone else for that matter, but I do wish that you respect what people do with their systems, and if you know something about what they ask, you can answer the question that fits what they want appropriately next time. Your choices and preferences are not the same as anyone else's, even if most people generally use the same thing, you should never dictate what people should and shouldn't do (because of this logic, we never experience varieties, exploration hardly exists, rendering the sense of progression or growth to be pretty narrow, which always sucks). If what I said sounded rude, then I apologize, I just answer things in a blunt fashion.
     
    aadz93 likes this.
  7. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,641
    Country:
    Norway
    I did answer your question, before mentioning anything else.
    And I'm aware most people probably know about the other options by now, that's why I came up with good reasons to switch, to try to convince the few stragglers (not just you, but anyone who sees this thread) to save them the hassle that I myself had to go through. I didn't tell you to switch, I just gave you my reasons why switching is a good idea and some basic instructions to explain how simple switching is so you (and anyone else who sees this thread) could be well informed and use your best judgement to decide for yourself.
     
    Last edited by The Real Jdbye, Sep 25, 2020
  8. DeadSkullzJr

    DeadSkullzJr Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,190
    Country:
    United States
    I already stated that "NTR CFW doesn't seem to work in the mode either" (aka BootNTR Selector), I already tried, it fails for some reason.
     
  9. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,641
    Country:
    Norway
    You did. And I asked you which NTR-CFW you were using. The original one doesn't work anymore. Nowhere did you mention which one you were using, and that's the first most obvious thing to ask. Anyway, you missed a few edits to my previous post, clarified things better.

    Based on what you're saying, I can only assume that at some point down the road, the frankenfirm became too far separated from what NTR-CFW is expecting, such that it no longer works (since with every update, more and more titles are updated to require the newest kernel, and you can't update to the newest kernel on frankenfirm, so all of those titles must be held back and in some cases have their version spoofed, the version spoofing can also confuse NTR-CFW)
    Not much you can do about that. And as far as I know, there is no other way to change the CPU clock other than Luma or NTR-CFW, so you're out of luck there.
    In my experience, increasing the CPU clock did not help much in the games I played, and caused issues in some, so in the end I ended up leaving it at the default. But if that feature is important to you, you only have 2 choices, either live without online, or switch to Luma.

    Also, knowing that anyone who is still holding on to Gateway now is most likely just too lazy to switch, and knowing that that very reason was causing me more hassle than switching in the first place would have been, I wished I had switched much sooner. I simply wish to save other people from creating more hassle for themselves, like I did. I think that's a pretty noble cause, far more so than bandwagoning like you're assuming.
     
    Last edited by The Real Jdbye, Sep 25, 2020
  10. DeadSkullzJr

    DeadSkullzJr Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,190
    Country:
    United States
    That's the only branch of BootNTR Selector that I know of or use, I generally never use forks and what not considering many of them tend to be out of date, only time I do is if the original developer stopped updating the official one, and someone else decides to add updates to it.

    "Not much you can do about that. And as far as I know, there is no other way to change the CPU clock other than Luma or NTR-CFW, so you're out of luck there."
    Maybe someone knows another way to do the same concept a different way for this setup. We may only have two options available currently, but someone could make something else to do it.

    "either live without online, or switch to Luma."
    Again I have two other setups using Luma and Boot9Strap, if I want online I can just use one of those systems, I don't care for online really with Gateway, it's not needed for my purposes (again, I have more than one system with custom firmware).

    I didn't start out using Gateway 3DS, in fact I was using other methods but Gateway for the longest time. I had the flashcart for sometime, however I never had the systems to use them appropriately, not until years later. I didn't want them collecting dust, and for other reasons I wanted to give them a go, and I ultimately got what I needed.
     
  11. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,641
    Country:
    Norway
    BootNTR Selector is not the original NTR-CFW, it's already a fork.

    Yeah. If for example someone wanted to fork BootNTR (Selector), it would be completely possible to add support for Gateway frankenfirm. I don't see that happening though, people haven't even bothered to write software to decrypt/extract Gateway saves (either on the 3DS or on a PC), devs never cared very much about Gateway in the first place and always preferred free/open source solutions, and now there aren't many devs left.
     
  12. aadz93

    OP aadz93 GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,005
    Country:
    Korea, North

    people hate gateway because of the bricker, all of them forgot this was not the first time this happened, nobody went up in arms and flipped shit when DSTT bricked faked dstt cards on nds, this is just a bandwagon, people who just blindly follow what others say

    i've never had one issue using gateway mode, ntr cfw worked fine for me in gw mode, it didn't work with luma sysnand

    luma and gateway do the same fucking thing, run unsigned code, if you don't want gateway dont use it, we obviously know luma exists, we know ntrboot, it's called experimentation and that's how new things are found and figured out

    there isn't anything luma has that i can't do in gateway mode, i can run roms and homebrew code so why does it really matter what i use to load rom and homebrew, gateway cards are less than 20 bucks now


    I feel as if people just bash gateway now for no reason just to bash it, luma isn't anything more than gateway, the only difference is luma is still actively developed,


    it's not hard to add dstwo or gateway support to luma, the gw card protocol was reversed engineered, but i feel too many people have sticks up their asses and just want to hate on a card for reasons that now are completely irrelevant


     
  13. DeadSkullzJr

    DeadSkullzJr Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,190
    Country:
    United States
    I remember the DSTT days, yea that was kind of hellish to deal with because knowing if you had a clone or not was somewhat harder to know compared to the Gateway clone situation (I think only a single set of clones existed but they didn't last very long in production). I say it's all based on preference on what you use, everything has their flaws, but if you know how to counter them and or work with it, not much of an issue at the end of the day.

    Speaking of, would it be possible if you made a .firm of the whole Gateway menu? I'm asking because I do use some of the other features included like save dump/restore options (we don't have any other way to convert Gateway saves to normal cartridge saves after all). I wasn't able to get CPU clocking to work with the available options out there in the homebrew wild sadly (though obviously Luma can do it outside Gateway mode, kind of useless though because it doesn't carry over when using the Gateway).
     
    aadz93 likes this.
  14. aadz93

    OP aadz93 GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,005
    Country:
    Korea, North
    The problem with gateway menu, the launcher dat is encrypted iirc, so you need to decrypt that, then port it as a firm payload, the included firm payload, is just gateway arm9loader payload converted to a firm, which boots the launcher dat on the sd

    You could also fork luma and implement this:
    https://github.com/shinyquagsire23/gwcard
     
  15. aadz93

    OP aadz93 GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,005
    Country:
    Korea, North
    Also iirc that allows raw sector access of the sd card, I'm pretty sure actual cartridge emulation would be handled by gateway menu, which is encrypted iirc, for homebrew this wouldn't be an issue since one could create a dldi like filesystem (or implement fatxx), i also wonder how fast the transfer speed is between red card sd and 3ds
     
  16. lafleche

    lafleche GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wonder what did wrong.
    Made an emunand, boot into that (holding L while booting) , run the downgrade but when I try to boot into emunand again I got a stack violation.
    My sysnand boots fine so definitely only my emunand is f'ed up.

    On a New2ds xl by the way.
     
  17. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,013
    Country:
    Canada
    From what ive seen about the N2DS xl. There is something about that specific console is not capable of downgrading past a certain firmware version. I believe this may be why you are getting that stack dump when trying to launch the emunand.
     
    lafleche likes this.
  18. lafleche

    lafleche GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ah... Okay....well then I stop messing around. Luma is working great....


    BTW. Is there some tool where you can see the minimal supported firmware? Just like on the ps3 where you can see the fw version with which it was shipped.
     
    lilyuwuu likes this.
  19. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,013
    Country:
    Canada
    There is https://gbatemp.net/threads/can-i-u...o-factory-settings.490354/page-2#post-7712021 which Quantum is correct about the N2DS XL only being able to hit 11.4. It does kinda suck for when you are trying to get something like this to work for it.
     
  20. lazyguy

    lazyguy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
    Can you run 3ds games 'overclocked' in n3ds speeds and insert 60fps patches/cheats for 3ds games? that's the one thing missing for me and seems like it's impossible because there's no way to get these in gateway mode
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - gateway,