1. kineticUk

    kineticUk GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    509
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you can update .3ds games via eshop (using Luma with the Gateway emunand)?
     
  2. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    15,092
    iirc the frankenfirm methods used to continue running the 3ds on a pseudo higher firmware with gateway 3ds will still register with Nintendo that certain parts of the firmware are out of date, so online will not work
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
  3. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,510
    Country:
    United States
    You can install eShop game updates, with or without the game.
     
  4. badzi_amine

    badzi_amine Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Morocco
    well go with 3ds to cia then back up save with jksv to play online and safe i suppose i just wanted to make gw work on my 3ds with the latest updated for fun xD

    Ps : i managed to back up save with thit methode soo i'm gratefull to ppl who helped me thanks again
     
    Last edited by badzi_amine, Jun 30, 2020
  5. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,510
    Country:
    United States
    It is highly recommended that you only use the Gateway for recovering save files. You should be using Luma3DS without a frankenfirmware for everything else.
     
  6. badzi_amine

    badzi_amine Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Morocco
    yup it was the idea xD
     
  7. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Official Cubi™ Genderfluid Gang!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,557
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Honestly, you shouldn't still be using a frankenfirmware with Gateway. You should really just set up a clean Luma3DS install on an OFW that is a mess. You don't lose any eShop functionality and you are better off.
     
    Stealphie, TurdPooCharger and Lacius like this.
  8. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,013
    Country:
    Canada
    You are not technically on 11.13. You are on a frankenfirm which spoofs this allowing gw to work.
     
  9. aadz93

    OP aadz93 GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Country:
    Korea, North
    eShop will not function on the emunand, it still works if you boot into luma on sysnand, some games require updates, which can be installed via cia, super smash Bros and Mario kart multiplayer both work fine if you have the latest updates and patched with private headers



    This was created mainly for gateway owners to continue using the cards via a sighax/b9s method plus gateway cards are less than $20usd now, keep the ROMs on the card the homebrew are installed as cia's, plus gateway mode will boot some homebrew luma may not currently boot (older homebrew) properly

    Once the gateway mode boots you can boot luma into sysnand go to system settings and exit and hold start, the gateway launcher will automatically boot the emunand by default regardless if luma is booted using sysnand or emunand, in gateway mode you can go to system settings exit holding nothing and boot back to luma sysnand



    PS: I never have encountered the gateway bricker either with my use of the card, I dunno if it still exists in 4.2, either way that's another reason it's installed to emunand


    This also does not modify the sysnand, this I consider a dual boot cfw, luma has access to both sysnand and emunand (eShop and "priming" the emunand) once the emunand is patched you can set luma to boot via sysnand and everything still works via luma, while gateway mode only ever sees the emunand
     
    Last edited by aadz93, Jul 1, 2020
  10. lazyguy

    lazyguy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
  11. aadz93

    OP aadz93 GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Country:
    Korea, North
    i originally tried that but couldn't get it to work, both gateway and luma allow you to do the same thing (homebrew and roms), the sysnand has b9s and boots luma....i bought a gateway after using luma since it only cost me $15 shipped and mainly for the extra micro sd slot (i come from gameboy and nds flashcard era so i see them as an expansion like romeo2 or dserial), only luma has over gateway is rosalina menu, though i do like the cheat features included with gateway (has a cheat engine style setup)

    i use gateway one to organize my roms and homebrw (and its much quicker to drag an drop serveral GB of roms and don't need to install), and luma as a backup/maintenance, everything i can do in luma can be done in gateway minus rosalina, plus gateway mode is compatible with some homebrew while last i tried didn't work via luma (ntrcfw and earlier homebrew)

    honestly i use gateway more than luma, there isn't a performance difference, luma is newer so of course will have more features plus its open source. it would make sense to me to add custom support for loading from gateway pr dstwo cards in luma, 256GB sd in gateway and 256GB sd in 3ds = plenty of storage

    my sysnand is stock (11.12 b9s +luma) so it works with everything (eshop), the emunand can be loaded by luma or gateway which eshop wont work (if you want to use eshop you have to use luma in sysnand)

    ps: this setup only uses 2 files. bootctr9. and a .firm payload to boot the launcher.dat from the sd
     
    Last edited by aadz93, Aug 30, 2020
  12. lazyguy

    lazyguy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, that's my thinking as well, I rather just seperate my games on gateway and with new 3ds xl, it's easier to just use the game slot to take out the microsd card.
    in the original post, it says 'visit this thread to get the needed folder just follow steps 1 - 3B on 11.10 this folder will include 5 files you don't need to go further than step 3b', which steps/thread are you referring to?
    And are you using latest luma? unclear if there's a specific version to go by; the tutorial thread I previously linked specifically mentioned 8.0, but it sounds like you're on the latest luma (as of the post dates)
     
    Last edited by lazyguy, Jul 8, 2020
  13. aadz93

    OP aadz93 GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Country:
    Korea, North
    i cant post the cias here, you can download the files you need there based on region
     
    Last edited by VinsCool, Jul 9, 2020 - Reason: Removed link
  14. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,013
    Country:
    Canada
    If its warez thats in that link. Not only can you not post the cia here. But you cannot link to that site with the warez either.
     
    aadz93 likes this.
  15. aadz93

    OP aadz93 GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Country:
    Korea, North
    Use the bit.ly link in my original post, it takes you to the Google search listing, should be the first result and yes I'm using luma 10
     
    Last edited by aadz93, Jul 9, 2020
  16. lazyguy

    lazyguy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, so I finally 'updated' my n3ds to b9s. I used 3 or 4 guides as reference so I didn't follow any one of them exactly.
    Anyways, I got it working, but I haven't actually updated the firmware. It's my system is on 9.2 luma + 11.2 gw.

    I have a few questions:
    In the luma boot settings, there's options to 1. autoboot to emunand 2. to hold R to boot to emunand.
    I can't get either to work? I'm not sure how emunand works now. I once booted to 'SysE', which I'm assuming i'm on luma emunand, but I've only every created emunand for gw, hence, I've only got 1 emunand on the sd card.
    I did follow the thread from the tutorial section and holding down dpad down does boot into gw mode, so all is good.

    So regarding actually updating my nand or emunand.
    If I understand correctly, I boot into emunand, I use sysupdater to update my system and I'm good? The files on said website are 11.7 though. Is there a corresponding 11.13 update zip I need to find?
    If I updated my sysnand, do I just redo the steps I've done and I will be able to boot into gateway?
     
  17. aadz93

    OP aadz93 GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Country:
    Korea, North
    You can just update directly to 11.13 via system update, honestly having b9s now installed it's safe to update sysnand to 11.13 via system settings it's won't patch anything (b9s wise), but if you can boot the emunand just update it to 11.13 via system settings, then run sysupdater and install, you simply use the same files, essentially it's literally parts of the 11.2 ofw that were changed to prevents gateway from working on later versions, technically it's 11.13, running 11.2 homemenu, 11.2 eShop, etc, that's why eShop doesn't work properly... (Note: ntrcfw in gateway mode on my 11.13 emunand thinks its on 9.2 so I'm not sure if this due to gateway or actual emunand)
     
    Last edited by aadz93, Jul 23, 2020
  18. rickson

    rickson Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    since run the upgrade to 11.13 and sysupdates downgrade, i only managed to boot with gateway sysnand and can't boot back to Lumacfw. keep getting arm11 core 1 exception undefined instruction. anyone have a solution to fix this issue? i was using new 2ds xl
     
    Last edited by rickson, Jul 24, 2020
    Shadow#1 likes this.
  19. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,827
    Country:
    United States
    This what happens when u use a frakenfirmware
     
  20. rickson

    rickson Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    any option to recover back? I didn;t know the risk on the frakenfirmware :(, lesson learned.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - gateway,