Hacking Gateway, Games not showing up (blank tiles) not sure whats wrong.

Meeg85

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 21, 2017
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
212
Country
United States
I havent touched my 3DS since Smash bros came out and I was in the mood to jump back into some games I missed. I have 4.4.0-10U firmware. After I boot Gateway I have the "spoofed" GW3D 9.2.0-20U firmware. I have a handful of games that work fine, however recently I added about 10 games to my sd card. For some reason these games aren't showing up after I hit select to bring up my game tiles. I just see the 8 or so games I already have an none of the new games show up (blank tiles). Not sure whats wrong. I read that the sd card coudl be fake, but this is a legit card not to mention it already held 17gb's of data fine.
 

CrispyCola

zero-two
Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Location
the stars
XP
241
Country
United States
Don't use gateway. The 3DS hacking scene has evolved a lot. Install Boot9Strap and Luma3DS CFW. We can use Custom Firmware and "backups" without Gateway now.
3ds.guide
Once you follow the guide, install paul's freeshop fork and you can redownload the games you have on your gw directly to your 3DS.
There's a tutorial here to move your gateway saves to installed games.
However, if you insist on keeping gateway, I recommend following this guide to use gateway alongside Luma.
Edit: as for the actual problem you're having, your SD card is probably messed up. Use h2testw to test for errors
 
Last edited by CrispyCola,

Meeg85

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 21, 2017
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
212
Country
United States
Don't use gateway. The 3DS hacking scene has evolved a lot. Install Boot9Strap and Luma3DS CFW. We can use Custom Firmware and "backups" without Gateway now.
3ds.guide
Once you follow the guide, install paul's freeshop fork and you can redownload the games you have on your gw directly to your 3DS.
There's a tutorial here to move your gateway saves to installed games.
However, if you insist on keeping gateway, I recommend following this guide to use gateway alongside Luma.
Edit: as for the actual problem you're having, your SD card is probably messed up. Use h2testw to test for errors
I looking at the guides although I find it alarming that it says I need 9.0-11.3 firmware to install boot9strap? does this mean I need to update my 3ds? This use to be considered a sin back in my day...
 

Smoker1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
4,375
Trophies
1
Location
California
XP
4,636
Country
United States
Had to get a Sky3DS in order to Update mine. LOL.
Are you still interested in using GW Cheats? If so......might need to Update regardless in order to use the MSET. If not, and you are ok with doing NTR Cheat Plugins which have Pros and Cons of it's own, then yes, Install the Boot9Strap/Luma3DS CFW.

Note: Only Cons I saw with NTR Plugins, if you close out a Game, and want to run another Game, you have to Shut Off the System....turn it back On, run the Exploit, then run NTR again.....run Game you want. Personally, I find Gateway much better since you can close a Game and run another quick and easy.
 

wormdood

pirate booty inspector
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
5,204
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
behind a parental advisory sticker
XP
3,763
Country
United States

Meeg85

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 21, 2017
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
212
Country
United States
Tried method 1, I get a "ssl connection failed 3ds" some are saying this is an issue with old 3ds browsers. I have an OLD XL 3DS. and I dont own a workind DS for method 2, although I have an old r4 flashcart...

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Had to get a Sky3DS in order to Update mine. LOL.
Are you still interested in using GW Cheats? If so......might need to Update regardless in order to use the MSET. If not, and you are ok with doing NTR Cheat Plugins which have Pros and Cons of it's own, then yes, Install the Boot9Strap/Luma3DS CFW.

Note: Only Cons I saw with NTR Plugins, if you close out a Game, and want to run another Game, you have to Shut Off the System....turn it back On, run the Exploit, then run NTR again.....run Game you want. Personally, I find Gateway much better since you can close a Game and run another quick and easy.
I dont really care about using gw, I just want to dust of my 3ds and play some of the backlog, Fire emblem games etc... and maybe get ds and gba emulation working.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,058
Country
Australia
Tried method 1, I get a "ssl connection failed 3ds" some are saying this is an issue with old 3ds browsers. I have an OLD XL 3DS. and I dont own a workind DS for method 2, although I have an old r4 flashcart...

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


I dont really care about using gw, I just want to dust of my 3ds and play some of the backlog, Fire emblem games etc... and maybe get ds and gba emulation working.
You don't need a DS for MSET, just a DS flashcart that works in your 3DS console.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wormdood

Meeg85

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 21, 2017
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
212
Country
United States
You don't need a DS for MSET, just a DS flashcart that works in your 3DS console.
will it operate in your 3ds?

Not exactly, the ds r4 doesnt work on the 3ds (blank tile) however when I stick the sd card into the "blue" gateway card its is read "Deep Labyrinth" when I hit the tile I get a "can't open_dsmenu.dat" message..
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,058
Country
Australia
Not exactly, the ds r4 doesnt work on the 3ds (blank tile) however when I stick the sd card into the "blue" gateway card its is read "Deep Labyrinth" when I hit the tile I get a "can't open_dsmenu.dat" message..
Sounds like you're missing the kernel files. Go onto Gateway's website and download one of their packs, there should be a folder called "blue card" inside which is what you need to put on the DS flashcart's SD card.
 

Meeg85

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 21, 2017
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
212
Country
United States
Sounds like you're missing the kernel files. Go onto Gateway's website and download one of their packs, there should be a folder called "blue card" inside which is what you need to put on the DS flashcart's SD card.
neat, i got everything up and running, Luma, Fbi etc. however Im reading I will have to convert all my old .3ds files to cia? and also is everything now stored in the sd card? the mico sd/flash cart slot is no longer used?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,058
Country
Australia
neat, i got everything up and running, Luma, Fbi etc. however Im reading I will have to convert all my old .3ds files to cia? and also is everything now stored in the sd card? the mico sd/flash cart slot is no longer used?
You can download/install directly with freeShop if you don't want to convert them
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    NeoGaming @ NeoGaming: yep