1. VatoLoco

    VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304
    Country:
    United States
    Same here, black screens when i start the emulator.
     
  2. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    574
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright, here we go again...
    If this is a recent thing, and it crashes before the file chooser, then I suspect it has something to do with scaling and the shared memory I set up with arm7. So could you try this from the dsitest branch? Scaling is broken (disabled) in this build.
     
  3. VatoLoco

    VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304
    Country:
    United States
    Such an awesome emulator=) Thanks for taking your time on this dsi mode stuff.

    hmm. same blackscreen with the dsitest version.
    went back and tried an older build (newgfx branch that was on my side-sd already) and it worked.

    edit: to test a little more, i reverted to [v0.3-79-g3909], which boots up just fine
     
  4. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    574
    Country:
    Canada
    There's something fishy about that build I gave you, actually, its scaling is still working, so I must've given you the wrong one... I don't know how that happened, but I updated the link, and double checked this time. So, try again?

    newgfx is pretty outdated now, so, it doesn't surprise me that it works.
     
  5. wzhy90

    wzhy90 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Switzerland
    what is "GBC on GBA" mean?
     
  6. VatoLoco

    VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, that does the trick! Thank you kindly, sir.
    ...and honestly (i can only speak for myself of course) im not concerned about scaling at all on my dsiXL, though on 3ds and dsl it is a nice feature.
     
  7. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    574
    Country:
    Canada
    Certain games can detect if they're being played on a GBA. They use lighter palettes which are easier to see on a GBA, and the Oracle games have a special shop only available on a GBA. This option toggles that.
    I'll need to get that shared memory working on dsi mode, one way or another... can you do me a favor, and try the dsitest branch once more? I expect that it will still work, but secretly I hope it will end up crashing because that would mean the cause is a very simple little thing.
     
  8. VatoLoco

    VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304
    Country:
    United States
    Ya, newest dsitest launches just fine.
    curiosity made me toggle the scaling...it makes a pretty blue band with some colored squares underneath =P
     
  9. wzhy90

    wzhy90 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Oracle games means Zelda, The Oracle of Ages/Seasons?
     
  10. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
  11. dickfour

    dickfour Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    581
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know how many games have special features when played on a GBA?
    This blew my mind. I never knew you could pick GB color palates with key combos on startup when the game boy logo flashes on the screen
     
    Geren likes this.
  12. Walker D

    Walker D I have a hat
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,334
    Country:
    Brazil
    Took much more time to test the borders in Gameyob then I expected o.o (or maybe I'm dumb ..who knows..)
    Edit: Seems like it was a old build or something ...so it can probably be ignored now
    Had to figure out that for them to work, you need to set this options like this:
    GBC Bios - Off
    GBC Mode - Off
    GBC on GBA - Off
    SGB Mode - Prefer SGB
    Scaling - Off
    Custom Border - On
    SGB Borders - On

    Then I need to load another game, and go right back to the previous one (OR change that Custom Border OFF, reset the game, set it back ON, and reset again) ....then change that options back to what they were previously (not counting the Scaling).

    Scaling borders didn't work at all for me ...SGB borders work fine thought.
    Hope this steps get less inconvenient somehow, if there's some easy way to. Swapping and renaming borders manually should be changed for a way to select different borders from the emulators' gui.
    Other than that, borders are pretty fun to play with already :)

    Haha ...It was new to me also :P
    don't know if someone has linked it already, but here you can see all the key combinations and the color palettes http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gameboy_Color#Color_palettes_used_for_original_Game_Boy_games
     
  13. windwakr

    windwakr GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    493
    Country:
    United States
  14. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    574
    Country:
    Canada
    Custom borders don't co-exist peacefully with scaling, since scaling takes up a ton of vram. It remains to be seen if borders will work when scaled - I thought they would, but perhaps not. Other than that, I'm not sure what your issue with borders is... just disable scaling, set custom and SGB borders to "on" and you're good to go. You don't even need to enable SGB mode - if disabled, it will try to briefly launch in SGB mode anyway just to get the border. The other settings shouldn't matter. That's all assuming you're using the latest build as of this post, since I've been tweaking things since first implementing borders.
    And, yes, I hope to make switching borders more user-friendly when I get to it.

    I saw your post, haven't gotten around to testing it yet, but I'll try first thing tomorrow morning.
     
  15. Walker D

    Walker D I have a hat
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,334
    Country:
    Brazil
    The build I'm using may be the problem then ...could not make it work without that settings.. ..tried loading the emulator as you told, but the game doesn't load, only the border... ..I'm downloading a new build

    EDIT: ...Ok ..that was the problem I think ...my gbc bios also got corrupted in my last test, so yeah ..sorry for the craziness :P ..now it works
     
  16. wzhy90

    wzhy90 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Switzerland
    How to use custom SGB borders? I have a .bmp file
     
  17. Shin Akuma

    Shin Akuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Greece
    Drenn is the scale feature in beta stages yet?
    I mean it looks awesome but there are some bits that lameboy looks a bit better

    Anw ty for your work
     
  18. Walker D

    Walker D I have a hat
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,334
    Country:
    Brazil
    Finally uploaded my borders :P 12 in total..

    some are gameboy color's, similar to the ones uploaded by Sizednoch ...But they are all vector based, and seemed different enough for me to decide uploading (options never hurt) ...if you like the clean look of vectors, try this ones ...if you want something more like the real deal, take a look at Sizednochi ones.
    The others are all new

    Since they are so small, I uploaded them all together ...you can download them here: http://www.mediafire.com/?t99a9tpn7p5wuxf

    Here are the previews:
    have fun :nds:
    [​IMG]
    Edit: Papercraft border was too blurry, so I updated the link with a less blurry one ..if there's any problem with the borders, tell me and I will give a look.
    SGB borders will be shown automatically by games that would show them in a real SGB ...just set "SGB Borders - On".

    For custom borders, you need to name your border "border.bmp" and put it in the SD root. Then, as Drenn said, you set "Scaling - Off", "Custom Border - On", "SGB Borders - On" and you're good to go :)


    Also, the best way I found to change borders, without going back to the PC, is using DSOrganize 3.1129 (link: http://filetrip.net/nds-downloads/applications/download-dsorganize-31129-f1178.html ) I don't recommend using the newer versions though.
    If someone has a better way to do it, feel free to tell.
     
    Drenn and Boriar like this.
  19. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,047
    Country:
    Italy
    It works again in DSi mode......excellent, thank you very much.
    The SGB mode and borders are awesome.
    What's the difference between enable GBC bios and enable GBC mode ? Wouldn't GBC mode be off when the GBC bios is disabled, or does it only concern the booting of GB games ?
    Also weird problem.
    Galaga & Galaxian works in SGB mode ( with dedicated border ) but also in GBC mode ( more colors ).
    However, when booting with SGB preferred mode, it seems unable to be controlled by the GB buttons ( the DS buttons in this case ) , as though the game expects to be controlled by an SNES controller or something, which I think is not emulated.
    By booting it in GBC preferred mode, it still shoes the SGB border , plus GBC colors and GB virtual buttons work fine !
    Weird, isn't it ?
     
  20. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    574
    Country:
    Canada
    A lot of SGB games have input problems, presumably because super gameboy packets are sent via the input register - so there's probably something wrong with the way I handle the input register and SGB packets. In GBC mode, when it launches a GBC and SGB compatible game, it will try to retrieve the SGB border by starting in SGB mode for just a second or 2.
    About the bios, it's only real purpose is to colorize non-GBC games. You can enable or disable GBC mode to play games such as the Pokemon Trading Card Game and Zelda DX as they would look in black and white - or it may try to launch in SGB mode if that's enabled. But the bios doesn't have anything to do with that, it's 100% optional.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulator, GameYob, gameboy