Homebrew Emulation GameYob, a gameboy emulator for DS

pinesal

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
337
Country
United States
I cannot get rumble to work with the EZFlash 3-in-1 cart anymore (it was working). It works on DS games. Also my Wario Ware Twisted cart rumbles in Gameyob with Pokemon Pinball but the 3-in-1 wont.

Sometimes, I can get Gameyob into a state where the rumble setting is grayed out and when I press the menu key to enter the menu, the rumble motor turns on for a second. But it doesn't work in game, only when that menu key is pressed. Weird.

Any idea what's happening or how I can trouble shoot? I already deleted the gameyob ini file.

I am using an Acekard 2i with AKaio 1.9
 

Dragon_Types

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 14, 2018
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
439
Country
Sweden
Is it possible to remap buttons? I want some button remaps: B --> Y and A ---> B and Y ---> A? Sometimes it's awkward with the current position.
 

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
419
Trophies
1
Age
20
Location
米国
Website
pk11.us
XP
1,958
Country
United States
Is it possible to remap buttons? I want some button remaps: B --> Y and A ---> B and Y ---> A? Sometimes it's awkward with the current position.
In the menu (touch the screen by default I believe) press R/Right once, then you can from the Key Config option. Then just remember to Save Settings at the bottom of that same page if you want it to remember what you changed.
 

Dragon_Types

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 14, 2018
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
439
Country
Sweden
In the menu (touch the screen by default I believe) press R/Right once, then you can from the Key Config option. Then just remember to Save Settings at the bottom of that same page if you want it to remember what you changed.
Ah thanks for the quick reply! Just new to this emulator. :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: Pk11

ElSasori69

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2021
Messages
41
Trophies
0
XP
102
Country
Peru
I'm a bit confused, I found two versions of this emulator (I really like that Gameboy 3D banner) on GameBrew it says that the last version was 1.0.8 and It says It was last updated on 2016 but on Github(Drenn1 repo) the last version is 0.5.2 and it says it was las updated on 2017, which one is the legit one? I installed 1.0.8 and it seems to work just fine but I really would like to know which one is the legit one.
 

BETA215

Unknown Member
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Messages
211
Trophies
0
Location
they/them | 0xDEAD brain
XP
733
Country
Argentina
I'm a bit confused, I found two versions of this emulator (I really like that Gameboy 3D banner) on GameBrew it says that the last version was 1.0.8 and It says It was last updated on 2016 but on Github(Drenn1 repo) the last version is 0.5.2 and it says it was las updated on 2017, which one is the legit one? I installed 1.0.8 and it seems to work just fine but I really would like to know which one is the legit one.
1.0.8 is GameYob 3DS, while 0.5.2 is GameYob for DS(i). DS(i) version works better IMHO.
 

BETA215

Unknown Member
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Messages
211
Trophies
0
Location
they/them | 0xDEAD brain
XP
733
Country
Argentina
Oh, I get it now, although 0.5.2 has also a cia version inside the github release.
Yup, that CIA installs the emu as DSiWare. That's why you won't be able to access Rosalina on DS(i) version but you can on 3DS version.

But honestly, 3DS version isn't up to the DS(i) one, so I prefer running games as good as it does in DS hardware instead of using 3DS hardware.
 
  • Like
Reactions: zfreeman

NecroNexus

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2021
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
13
XP
87
Country
United States
I dont know if this issue has been reported already or something but theres an issue so im gonna place it here
Donald Duck: Going Quackers crashes when i try to play it past the intro and i dont know why
I dont believe it has any special gimmicks like gyro controls or anything so im a bit confused as to why this happens (this also happens for the European version)
 

JuanMena

Old Skull ☠️
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2019
Messages
2,448
Trophies
2
Age
28
Location
not Mexico
XP
3,253
Country
Mexico
I get an error: "Couldnt find _DS_menu.dat" after pressing the spongebob icon on my DS. Help?
This isn't the thread to ask about this.
Do I need to reformat my SD card?? Ive done everything the same as others have done on youtube vids
Please, don't double post!

About your problem, no, it just means one of these two things:

- Flashcards stops working after your console reaches a certain date. So change the date of your console some years behind and your card should work again.

Or

- You don't have the correct Kernel for your flashcard. Download from the official site of the brand of your card and replace files.

@Aliciac PLEASE LEARN TO USE THE FORUM AND INVESTIGATE A LITTLE BIT BEFORE MAKING QUESTIONS IN UNRELATED THREADS.
MOST LIKELY YOU WON'T GET AN ANSWER AND YOUR POST WILL BE REMOVED
 

Yossariano

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
106
Country
United States
Really appreciate this emulator, works great on my DSi in Twilight Menu. One question- I've searched around in the forum and in settings and couldn't find this anywhere, hoping that anybody has insight- is there any way to tweak the color saturation? I'm partial to the higher saturation that you see in some GB emulators / IPS modded GBCs, rather than the more muted look (although I know the muted look is more accurate). I know, call it blasphemy, but I'm a sucker for the brighter colors.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: when i have to mix it, on the other hand