Homebrew Emulation GameYob, a gameboy emulator for DS

supergamer368

Mostly lurker, full idiot
Member
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
870
Trophies
1
Location
My house
XP
2,613
Country
United States
Well, idk I tried some printing in pokemon and maybe it saved something? Cuz i have a version of GameYob that allows printer emulation, wonder how you do that
EDIT: It just saves a photo, but it's cool cuz then I can send it to a real printer!
EDIT: It saves a BMP.
 
Last edited by supergamer368,
  • Like
Reactions: dude1709

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
8,034
Trophies
0
Location
Earth-chan
XP
5,185
Country
China
Does anybody still have the cheat downloads from GSCentral.org as the links are dead now?
https://web.archive.org/web/20141022065819/http://www.gscentral.org/cheatfilesmain.php

try archive.org

if you can get the files, please, bundle them and post them in a thread in gbatemp (or in a post), so we can keep them as a mirror...
unless the website owner\creator doesn't allow it....

this way, we can keep usefull stuff from being lost in time...
people say the internet never forgets, well... sometimes it forgets...
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Hello Drenn!

Could you please take a look at the Emulator?

I´m expierencing Issues with Turok 3, Tweety´s High Flying Adventure, Worms Armageddon.

Turok 3 and Tweety´s High Flying Adventure won`t boot.
Worms Armageddon freezes after selecting a Team and Stage.
I´m using the latest stable Version.

Thank You.
 
Last edited by ,

Drenn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
574
Trophies
0
XP
669
Country
Canada
I've got a minor update, v0.5.1. Please don't get too excited.

Changelog:
Further improvements to overall system stability and other minor adjustments have been made to enhance the user experience.
No, I'm serious. See the first post for the real changelog though. People have been reporting savegame issues since v0.5, but I simply never fixed them. I was starting to feel bad about it, so here's a fix, even if it's 3 years too late.

The issue is that gameyob has been hugely reorganized, mostly to allow for 3ds and link cable support. Hell, on the master branch, linking actually works at this point for most games (it should be better with dsi mode). But the current state of the code isn't quite as good as v0.5, I think. "I think" because I don't have the motivation to do the testing I used to do. I could release a new version with the latest "master" branch, but it's a bit slower, and it could easily have a bunch of regressions. Then again, maybe it's good enough, I don't really know.

In either case, it makes sense to release a hotfix for v0.5 in case it turns out to be better. This means that the newer features like functional link emulation are NOT in this release. And I have no definite plans to make a v0.6.

The source code for this release is on the v0.5-hotfix branch. If you note regressions from v0.5 (unlikely), I'll see about fixing them.

Also, can I mention how sad it is that the download counter on filetrip resets to 0? :(
 
Last edited by Drenn,

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,801
Trophies
1
XP
12,795
Country
Mexico
I've got a minor update, v0.5.1. Please don't get too excited.

Changelog:

No, I'm serious. See the first post for the real changelog though. People have been reporting savegame issues since v0.5, but I simply never fixed them. I was starting to feel bad about it, so here's a fix, even if it's 3 years too late.

The issue is that gameyob has been hugely reorganized, mostly to allow for 3ds and link cable support. Hell, linking actually works at this point for most games (it should be better with dsi mode). But the current state of the code isn't quite as good as v0.5, I think. "I think" because I don't have the motivation to do the testing I used to do. I could release a new version with the latest "master" branch, but it's a bit slower, and it could easily have a bunch of regressions. Then again, maybe it's good enough, I don't really know.

In either case, it makes sense to release a hotfix for v0.5 in case it turns out to be better. I have no definite plans to make a v0.6, though.

The source code for this release is on the v0.5-hotfix branch. If you note regressions from v0.5 (unlikely), I'll see about fixing them.

Also, can I mention how sad it is that the download counter on filetrip resets to 0? :(
Wait so the hotfix will also be for 3DS?
If so, where can I download the 0.5.1 CIA for Gameyob 3DS?
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
I tested Turok 3 and Worms Armageddon with the v0.5.1. Version of Gameyob.

Turok 3 won´t boot up.
Worms Armageddon freezes before starting a Battle.
 

Drenn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
574
Trophies
0
XP
669
Country
Canada
To clarify, v0.5.1 should have identical compatibility to v0.5, and I don't have plans to improve it / add more features at the moment.
 

Greenshadow0

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
162
Country
United States
How's this comparing to Lameboy by this day and age, better in every way now, or still a few things to perfect?
I had to reset my password to access this forum for the first time in years JUST to post how much better gameyob is than lameboy.

Blows lameboy out of the water in pretty much every aspect. Can't believe I was still using it. Big thanks to Drenn
 

yaketyJack

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
38
Trophies
0
XP
324
Country
Puerto Rico
To clarify, v0.5.1 should have identical compatibility to v0.5, and I don't have plans to improve it / add more features at the moment.
Wow, great to see you back here! I love this emulator, I think it's the best looking way to play GB games (seems very accurate), especially because of the DS' screen size. I know you've lost a bit of interest, but just so you know, lots of people appreciate your hard work.
 

puszcza

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
163
Country
Poland
Donald Duck Goin’ Quackers crashes when I started the game, after the intro.
On Lameboy it starts, but its not playable - missing sprites, glitches.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: when i have to mix it, on the other hand