1. spiderman1234

    spiderman1234 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    For installing I understand you install the cia file gameYob.cia" in fbi but what about the other files like gameyob.elf, GameYob.3ds, GameYob.3dsx. What about those ones?
     
  2. piratesephiroth

    piratesephiroth I wish I could read
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,439
    Country:
    Brazil
    .elf is the original executable, used to create the others.
    .3ds is the rom for flashcards
    .3dsx is the version compatible with the homebrew launcher
     
  3. spiderman1234

    spiderman1234 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    @piratesephiroth Do I need to install the .3dsx to use the emulator or I just use fbi to install gameyob.cia? Would the homebrew launcher version run better?
     
  4. fmkid

    fmkid Just another GBATemp's random guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,729
    Country:
    Colombia
    Either way that you want/prefer (both at the same time isn't necessary at all).

    And I would say that it's the same performance either on .3dsx or .cia (if I'm wrong, someone else correct me, please)
     
    Last edited by fmkid, Nov 4, 2020
  5. JaNDeRPeiCH

    JaNDeRPeiCH Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Mexico
    Any emulator in .3dsx or cia have the same perfomance except retroarch,if you use 3dsx of retroarch have better perfomance than the crappy cia.
     
    fmkid likes this.
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Does SGB mode not work for certain games?(like Metroid 2) It remains in GBC mode or regular GB mode for me, no matter if everything else is off etc.

    I've tried on both the 3ds version(cia) as well as the version on twilightmenu++
     
    Last edited Dec 5, 2020
  7. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    mGBA emulator → press (X) → ConfigureEnable SGB borders: On
     
  8. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    What if i'm trying to use gameyob?
     
  9. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't figured out how to force SGB border on Metroid II - Return of Samus on either GameYoB or mGBA.

    If you want to play this game with a border,
    1. NSUI (beta 28) → FileNewGame Boy CIA
    2. ProjectLoad ROM...Metroid II - Return of Samus (UA) [!].gb (CRC32: DEE05370)
    3. ToolsGame databasePlatform: Game Boy → Game list: Metroid II - Return of Samus (World)
    4. Injection Method options...VC options , Border image: Custom image (400x240)
      • Here's an example PNG border template. Create or edit in Photoshop or GIMP.
      • Make sure the PPI (pixel per square inch) is set to 96 to avoid a shrunked or blown image.
    5. ProjectExport CIA...Metroid II Return of Samus.cia
    6. FBISD → ... → Metroid II Return of Samus.ciaInstall and delete CIA
    7. HOME Menu → launch the game and hold either the (START) or (SELECT) button.

    ***

    You can play .GB roms in GBC preset color palettes on mGBA by text editing this file in Programmer's Notepad,
    • sdmc:/mGBA/config.ini
    Under the [ports.3ds] section, add this line.
    • Code:
      useCgbColors=1

    ***

    Colorized romhacks for this game. Apply IPS patches to the base rom via Lunar IPS or Floating IPS. These would have to be injected as Game Boy Color CIA.


    Metroid II DX

    Metroid II - Return of Samus (UA) [!].gb
    (DEE05370)
    +​
    Metroid 2 Colour 2.0.ips (B292BBAD)
    =​
    Metroid 2 Colour 2.0.gb (D1DB593D)


    -or-

    Metroid II EJRTQ

    Metroid II - Return of Samus (UA) [!].gb
    (DEE05370)
    +​
    metroid ii - color (ejrtq) v1.3.ips (E35D3073)
    =​
    metroid ii - color (ejrtq) v1.3.gb (A2D565B0)
    .
    .
    +​
    metroid_ii_-_color_ejrtq_v1-3_-_addendum.ips (69B5156C)
    =​
    metroid_ii_-_color_ejrtq_v1-3_-_addendum.gb (351C97E0)
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Dec 6, 2020
    fmkid and zfreeman like this.
  10. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    309
    Country:
    Argentina
    DS version of gameyob uses SGB borders without issues. 3DS version can't. You can add custom borders but you gotta edit them yourself and crop a part of it for it to fit...
     
    Last edited by placebo_yue, Dec 8, 2020 - Reason: that was rude. oopsie
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - GameYob,