1. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    Canada
    Since I haven't tested it very much, the first page has only a link to a build which is updated whenever I make a change. I'll mention it here if it's anything interesting. I think once I do a bit more testing and sort out the more obnoxious bugs (like the bios causing whitescreens) I'll make an actual release (v0.6).
     
    MarkDarkness and VinsCool like this.
  2. MarkDarkness

    MarkDarkness Deliverator
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    Poland
    Does DevMenu = Sound, Drenn?
     
  3. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    Canada
    Pretty much. I've been tinkering with it since yesterday. Latest build has preliminary sound

    It's not very good, it kind of gargles the music, and there are still a bunch of bugs in the implementation. The "gargling" is caused by switching the audio buffers. StapleButter mentioned it being a problem for blargsnes but it seems far worse in gameyob. Anyway, it's there, but don't expect much yet.:wink:

    Edit: for anyone interested in the source, you type "make 3ds" or "make cia" to build the corresponding files.
     
    descac, Keylogger, hippy dave and 2 others like this.
  4. MarkDarkness

    MarkDarkness Deliverator
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    Poland
    Awesome to know, anyway! Really looking forward to letting go of the wonky VC generator and going back to good old GameYob.
     
  5. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,457
    Apparently, 3ds/types.h is missing, but I'm pretty sure I'm screwing something up on my end. I'm looking forward to building and testing the CIA version once it is built though.
     
  6. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    Canada
    Check the first post again =P

    I've been told that compilation is broken on windows, though types.h should be part of ctrulib. I ought to look into it soon though.
     
  7. Link999123

    Link999123 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Does this have 3d layering support?
     
  8. CalebW

    CalebW Fellow Temper
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    638
    Country:
    United States
    You could create a fork on github.
     
  9. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    Canada
    No real point, everything compiles already with a common codebase. I was talking about how if there's an update, it would make sense to post in either thread, but would be redundant to post in both threads.
    No, at best I could make the sprites pop out, but I don't think I could do much more than that. Though the gameboy graphics hardware does have some layering, most games would look pretty weird if I tried to make it 3D. Anyway it's low-priority...
     
    RubenCantuVota likes this.
  10. Link999123

    Link999123 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Cool, I could see it working if you made it customizable.
     
  11. bobmcjr

    bobmcjr GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    Sound works pretty well with the CIA version, but yeah the gargling is very clear in BADAPPLE.GBC since it uses samples.
     
  12. williamcesar2

    williamcesar2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    673
    Country:
    United States

    lol wait until 2040
     
  13. Searinox

    Searinox Dances with Dragons
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,021
    Country:
    Romania
    Is the audio popping only present in the .cia? Also, it doesn't detect the GBC BIOS file.
     
  14. HtheB

    HtheB GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    815
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Will you please add the option to change aspect ratio?
    (Like full screen and Fill screen?)

    Keep up the great work!
     
  15. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, there isn't any audio for .3ds files... I don't think. I heard that gateway patched out certain checks allowing me to use that service, but I haven't tried adding the csnd service yet.

    It's planned.
     
    HtheB likes this.
  16. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,457
    You don't even get to hear Pikachu in Pokémon Yellow. It makes the title screen incredibly underwhelming.
     
  17. HtheB

    HtheB GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    815
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for the VERY FAST reply!!

    By the way, can you please provide us with the latest version? ^^ (compile it for us, will ya?)
     
  18. Drenn

    OP Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I hope I can fix that when the dust settles :P
    I never made a "stable" release, so the build on the first page is the latest. I think I'll stop providing that when I do make a stable build, since I found it somewhat confusing when replying to bug reports.
     
  19. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,741
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First public homebrew with sound afaik, congrats B-)
    Sounds pretty fine in Mario's Picross. Bit of an eye strain playing that in the tiny screen tho, will stick with Virtual Console for it until the scaling options are in :)
     
  20. LWares87

    LWares87 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,705
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I seriously don't know how and why this happens, but... for some weird reason, my internet browser (Firefox) suddenly stops working whenever i try to download gameyob.3ds. lmao :L

    It doesn't bother me anyway, as gameyob.cia works though. :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - GameYob,