Games run fast and after a minute it runs slow

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by stylow, Oct 24, 2011.

Oct 24, 2011
  1. stylow
    OP

    Member stylow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My laptop runs a game like minecraft fast and after a minute it runs slow and
    it's starting to lag i don't know why
    I thought if there's a way to stop this and run it fast all the time
    but i couldn't find it so maybe you guys can help me
    I have vista
     


  2. FlameHelix

    Newcomer FlameHelix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    potato land (is reel place belief me)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. stylow
    OP

    Member stylow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thx man
     
  4. stylow
    OP

    Member stylow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Its still going fast with no lag and after a minute it´s the same story again
    Isnt there a way to fix that
     
  5. lakaiskateboarding

    Member lakaiskateboarding GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Is your laptop running hot? Maybe it is clocking itself back, because it is getting too hot?

    Could you name the laptop model you have?
     
  6. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    If you are in 1.8.1 then try opening a new save . If the save works full speed then your old save is full with exp orbs slowing it down . To fix it simply download a little program here & direct it to your save folder & chose remove exp orb .
     
  7. stylow
    OP

    Member stylow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Toshiba
    Satellite P300-116

    and the dragons master i will try it
     
  8. mariendg

    Newcomer mariendg Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i've once had the same problem with my pc.
    the problem with my pc was that it had a really crappy videocard, but when i got a new one the problem was fixed...
    I don't know if you want to spent money on the small change of fixing it, but who knows it might work....
     
  9. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,768
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh...could we get more than the name? Like specs and such?
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Change the render distance to "Tiny", does the issue still happen?
     
  11. stylow
    OP

    Member stylow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Processor
    type : Intel® Pentium® dual-coreprocessor T2370
    snelheid : 1.73 GHz
    Front Side Bus : 533 MHz
    2nd level cache : 1 MB
    System memory
    standaard : 2,048 (1,024 + 1,024) MB
    maximale uitbreiding tot : 2,048 MB
    technologie : DDR2 RAM (667 MHz)
    Grafische controller type : Intel® GMA X3100
    geheugengrootte : up to 358 MB total available graphics memory with 2 GB system memory
    geheugentype : shared
    Between its dutch and rydan no it doest not help
     
  12. shadowmanwkp

    Member shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Translated it for convenience sake.

    I know this sounds very stupid, or maybe a bit illogical, but you're not trying to run the game while the laptop is on the battery, or running the game with power management on? It can impact the performance greatly, and it may be the cause that it runs smoothly first, and then suddenly you get a drop in performance.
     
  13. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    Classic signs of overheating. Especially since it's a laptop.
     
  14. stylow
    OP

    Member stylow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No
    Yeah figured that out and i have a something to cooled it down its like frozen blue jelly or something but is there a program that can check the heat and such
     
  15. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Yeah you can check using CoreTemp or SpeedFan .

    So the game remains slow even when you lower the settings or try a new save ?
     
  16. stylow
    OP

    Member stylow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes but when i cooled it down it lasted longer than normally
    I guess it's the heat then
     
  17. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, starting out full speed and then slowing down after awhile is gonna be either heat or memory leaks. If it was memory leaks it would be an issue for everyone who ever played the game. With a laptop, heat's a killer.
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well minecraft is well-known for gorging itself on RAM in certain situations (for example teleporting back and forth between the nether in 1.8 for me makes minecraft scarf my RAM), but considering how quickly this issue happens I'm going to go with heat as well (my other guess was the loading of further chunks, but a small render distance didn't fix that).
     
  19. stylow
    OP

    Member stylow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So my friend updatet to w7 and said games and programs run much faster and than i upgraded (torrent) but it hang on the last thing on the checklist and hang at 72.
    I looked up the internet for a solution , found it but it hang again at 72 this is the file windows created can anybody help me.
    EDIT http://www.mediafire.com/file/28urppt16iubxg1/setupact.log
     
  20. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That first reply was pretty bad. Texture packs don't make a difference to the game's performance (unless you go HD).
    My advice is to change the amount of RAM allocated.
    But, more importantly install Optifine it GREATLY boosts Minecraft performance on most PCs.

    After you have installed that change all your settings to low and play Minecraft successfully! :yay:
     

Share This Page