games on r4 freezing

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by mmalone, Mar 20, 2008.

Mar 20, 2008

games on r4 freezing by mmalone at 8:08 PM (17,263 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. mmalone
    OP

    Newcomer mmalone Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    folks, had my r4 for a while and no problem but over the last few days first it would sticking when browsing through the games, removed the game it always stuck and and it was ok, now everytime i play the poker game on i its freezing through the game ..

    any ideas on how to solve ? already put the new firmware on but no difference, plenty space left on cart also
     
  2. shockingalberto

    Newcomer shockingalberto Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having the same problem. It's freezing on various games from various companies.
     
  3. mmalone
    OP

    Newcomer mmalone Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    gonna try reformatting the micro sd and try again, got the card around xmas and this is the fisrt prob ive had !!
     
  4. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I dont understand a thing you said. Please try writing more clearly.
     
    seb5049 likes this.
  5. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes you just need to eject/insert the R4 a few times to sort of clean the contacts. Do it with the microSD too. That has always worked for me. I've the same R4 for over a year now.
     
  6. mmalone
    OP

    Newcomer mmalone Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    its written clear enough for other replies ??


    Anyway problem solved, reformatted card and games no longer freezing
     
  7. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    That would have been my next suggestion......

    ....copy everything to your hard drive, format the microSD, copy everything back. That's the best way to "defrag" your microSD.
     
  8. mmalone
    OP

    Newcomer mmalone Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    cheers mate !! hear how much r4 is outdated etc but for just playing games it works a treat..
     
  9. shockingalberto

    Newcomer shockingalberto Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Weird, reformatting didn't help for me.
     
  10. mmalone
    OP

    Newcomer mmalone Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    you may have a corrupt game, maybee just the matter of trying to find it ??
     
  11. DarkUli

    Member DarkUli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    It could be things like a bad dump.
    Or a bad MicroSD, try to either use Kingston's of Japan (1GB I've heard), or Sandisk MicroSD's. A-DATA works fine too.

    When reformatting the MicroSD, reformat to FAT16, I think.

    Above all that, it could just be a bad dump.
     
  12. PerfectB

    Newcomer PerfectB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know how much reformatting helps, and I've had freezing problems regardless of what source I got the ROMs from. I stumbled upon another solution here, and I did it at the same time as a reformat of the micro SD.

    That said, I can't tell you which one helped the most, but I've gotten only 2 freezes since doing this (and before doing it some games would freeze every time I played and now they don't). Get a jeweler's screwdriver (those really small ones) and take the one screw on the R4 out. Peel the cart apart, being careful not to break off the small plastic pins. I broke two of them, and the thing still fits together fine so it's not a big deal, but just try to be careful. Now, take a small piece of cardstock-type paper, about as wide as the R4. Put it in the case at the bottom of the side where the label is, then put the chip back in and put it back together.

    I hope that's a good enough description, but if you have any questions ask away. The concept is that the R4's contacts are kind of loose, and the card slot on the DS is spring loaded. Every once and a while, the contacts, which are a bit loose inside the case (not really enough for you or I to notice, but enough for it to lose contact apparently), don't make full contact and the game just freezes. So what you're doing with the cardstock is making it so that the contacts are more firmly held in their proper place.

    Like I said, it worked pretty well for me, I've only experienced two freezes since then.
     
  13. LoneSyn

    Newcomer LoneSyn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Just re-insert your goddamn R4. The freezing means bad connection between cartridge and DS. I've been having the problem until i replaced my first generation NDSL (The DS Lite on launch day) with a brand new spanking red-black one. I never had the problem agian.
     
  14. arsehat

    Member arsehat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Australia
    Congratulations, you've just independently discovered something that's been discussed here on and off for quite a while. It'll probably void the warranty on the R4, but IMO and IME it makes the things much more reliable. Whenever a friend gets an R4 and asks me for assistance with it, I fit a shim like that as a matter of course - better safe than sorry, I've seen it happen on lots of carts without shims but never on ones with them. I've even seen an original DS that wouldn't recognise an R4 AT ALL until the shim was fitted, and hasn't had a single problem with it since. I usually use the cardstock from the inserts in the Kingston TF packs.
     
  15. Unchi-san

    Member Unchi-san Unchi on a stick! yay~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    i have a 2gig kingston (J). When i format a card, do i choose FAT or FAT32? Thanks!!

    my games are starting to freeze up :/




    errr.. from what i read... FAT is best/fastest?
     
  16. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
    for 2gb cards you need FAT32. 1gb under are FAT.
    Hope that helps [​IMG]
     

Share This Page