Hacking Games not working on YSMenu

Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Pink and Blue = Harley Quinn
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
304
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
My Imaginary World
Website
www.deviantart.com
XP
1,189
Country
Brazil
By "initial tutorial/training" I meant the introductory chapter of "Story mode". If you can't confirm that it crashes at random points, how can you say that? Where did you read that?
However as soon as I have time I will try it out more carefully.

Note: I must correct myself. I couldn't reload the save, and the one time it did load it, then crashed. Too bad!!!
Are you using R4i-SDHC? I use 2020 version (the yellow one, just like Ojama, lmao)

I think all YSMenu kernels for dstt cards are all the same in terms of "playability" (does this word exist?)

I think all of these non-compatible games on YSMenu run very well on R4i-SDHC kernel, just like Lufia, Yu-Gi-Oh! 2011, CoD Black Ops & MW3 Defiance, Inazuma Eleven, SMT Devil Survivor 2, and many other... But OFC with a proper AP patch or not. Some games crash when reading save file, and some games even do not save. These games need an AP Patch .ips file from TwilightMenu++ (all 2020 releases or lower) and must be used with a program named Lunar IPS (Lips).

But some will not be recognized by YSMenu, even patched with those .ips patches... I still prefer using YSMenu instead of R4i-SDHC kernel because this last one gives me a timebomb at oct 2024, also there are much more issues with R4i-SDHC than YSMenu.
 

Nikokaro

Carrying on a view...beyond good and evil
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
973
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
1,730
Country
Italy
@Isso_Non_Ecxiste Yes, I use the same flashcart as you.
Thanks for the explanation, but it's all stuff I'm already familiar with. I'll try to do a "Dual booting" YSMenu/r4i-sdhc kernel; then I shouldn't have any more problems. To get around the "time bomb" I'll move the DS menu date.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Pink and Blue = Harley Quinn
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
304
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
My Imaginary World
Website
www.deviantart.com
XP
1,189
Country
Brazil
@Isso_Non_Ecxiste Could you help me with this? To do a "Dual booting" leaving YSMenu as the primary software, what r4i-sdhc kernel files should I copy? I will also need to rename r4.dat as .nds file, or am I wrong? Otherwise how do I access the (original kernel) r4i-sdhc menu?
Thanks. :wink:
Keep everything inside your SD. You just have to replace R4.dat. Download the latest R4i-SDHC kernel and copy & paste the R4.dat file to your SD. All done, now you have dual boot.

To load YSMenu, you need to rename R4.dat file from latest RGF's YSMenu, rename it for a name of your choice, but the file must be .nds.
Ex:. R4.dat > YsMenu.nds

Put it anywhere you want inside your SD, but don't inside hidden folders.

Enjoy ^-^
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nikokaro

Nikokaro

Carrying on a view...beyond good and evil
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
973
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
1,730
Country
Italy
To load YSMenu, you need to rename R4.dat file from latest RGF's YSMenu, rename it for a name of your choice, but the file must be .nds.
Actually, I wanted YSMenu as MAIN software and r4i-sdhc kernel as secondary, since I will use it very little. Thanks anyway. ;)
 

Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Pink and Blue = Harley Quinn
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
304
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
My Imaginary World
Website
www.deviantart.com
XP
1,189
Country
Brazil
Actually, I wanted YSMenu as MAIN software and r4i-sdhc kernel as secondary, since I will use it very little. Thanks anyway. ;)
There is no way R4i-SDHC system being secundary. You can load it as secundary, but you will not be able to run any game or .nds file.
You have 3 options:
DS Lite: Run original kernel as primary and YsMenu as secundary, or you can just run YsMenu. There is a possibility using TwilightMenu++, but in DS Lite you will need Memory Expansion Pack....

DSi/XL/3DS/XL/2DS/XL:
Run original kernel as primary and YsMenu as secundary, or you can just run YsMenu. You can now use the other system TwilightMenu++, because since DSi, the hendheld came with more processing and memory inside. You can play all the games YsMenu don't recognize with TwilightMenu++ instead.

note: I never tried myself TwilightMenu++ since I'm DS Lite user, and I got trouble with the memory thing...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nikokaro

Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Pink and Blue = Harley Quinn
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
304
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
My Imaginary World
Website
www.deviantart.com
XP
1,189
Country
Brazil
Try on a different, freshlz formatted class 10 micro SD card
My micro SD KINGSTON class 10 U2, and got trouble. Tried with SANDISK class 10 U1, trouble too. all cluster format 16kb/32kb. Because Moonshell2 recognize only 32kb cluster size or lower. 32kb is the best, because ROMs are read more fast because they use less disk sectors.
 

lifehackerhansol

B4DS is the future
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2021
Messages
106
Trophies
0
XP
146
Country
Canada
To load YSMenu, you need to rename R4.dat file from latest RGF's YSMenu, rename it for a name of your choice, but the file must be .nds.
Ex:. R4.dat > YsMenu.nds
You actually don't even need the R4.dat from YSMenu at all. Just setting it up as secondary kernel as per RGF's instructions also works. The only special thing about the R4.dat in YSMenu is that it is designed as a boot file, but the rest of the code is otherwise the same. But if we aren't booting YSmenu directly... then no need to rename lol.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Pink and Blue = Harley Quinn
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
304
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
My Imaginary World
Website
www.deviantart.com
XP
1,189
Country
Brazil
@Nikokaro how many years are you using your R4i-sdhc card? Mine got exactly 1 year after I purchased it, and now it does not work anymore. The icon does not appear on Manual Start, it is not even recognized. I think it's broken from inside. Maybe a blown fuse or something on motherboard. I did some research on the web, and found many people saying that they had same problem with this card. So, after that, I used to buy a new one, but not the same productor. I'm out of getting all of these dstt fakes... I had good experiences with wood kernel, no timebomb, more compatibility, so I got wood R4 again. I lost my old wood R4, because I sold my old ds to buy a new one, and I gave that R4 to the one who bought it.

Please note that:
I tried paper trick, cleaning contacts, nothing worked.
I also noticed that sometimes this R4 used to freeze sometimes when playing any game, and as long as time passed, this problem happened more and more, and this last freeze gave me the brick.
 
  • Sad
Reactions: Nikokaro

Nikokaro

Carrying on a view...beyond good and evil
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
973
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
1,730
Country
Italy
how many years are you using your R4i-sdhc card? Mine got exactly 1 year after I purchased it, and now it does not work anymore
It's been almost two years, and so far no problems. Keep in mind that I always leave it plugged into my DS Lite, and I always leave a 32gb microSD inserted. If it has any problems I will let you all know. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Pink and Blue = Harley Quinn
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
304
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
My Imaginary World
Website
www.deviantart.com
XP
1,189
Country
Brazil
It's been almost two years, and so far no problems. Keep in mind that I always leave it plugged into my DS Lite, and I always leave a 32gb microSD inserted. If it has any problems I will let you all know. :)
I used to remove sometimes the game card (when the system is turned off) to update my game library. I use 16GB class 10 sdhc microSD card because all I need is in there and it still leaves me 2GB of free space.
I have less than 520 files inside, and the folder containg more files is "GAME folder", having 100 .nds files and 100 .sav files.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nikokaro

Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Pink and Blue = Harley Quinn
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
304
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
My Imaginary World
Website
www.deviantart.com
XP
1,189
Country
Brazil
Anyway, the "Bomberman" game icon should appear in the DS home menu, even without the microSD inserted. If it doesn't appear, it's a bad omen.

Isn't there a micro battery inside the r4, or am I wrong? What if it's dead and needs to be replaced?
Bomberman icon does not appear anymore. My microSD is OK, I already inserted it in the computer and updated to wood kernel for my brand new R4.

Is there a battery inside the R4? I never heard about that and it makes no sense.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nikokaro

lifehackerhansol

B4DS is the future
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2021
Messages
106
Trophies
0
XP
146
Country
Canada
Bomberman icon does not appear anymore. My microSD is OK, I already inserted it in the computer and updated to wood kernel for my brand new R4.

Is there a battery inside the R4? I never heard about that and it makes no sense.
There isn't a battery in them.

Have you tried restoring the flash using ntrboot flasher yet?
 

Isso_Non_Ecxiste

Pink and Blue = Harley Quinn
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
304
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
My Imaginary World
Website
www.deviantart.com
XP
1,189
Country
Brazil
There isn't a battery in them.

Have you tried restoring the flash using ntrboot flasher yet?
what is ntrboot? I use DS lite.

Edit: I read something on the web, and this ntrboot looks to be used when 2DS/3DS does not recognize the R4 due to system updates. All DS phat and lite does not make system update, and never did. The only thing that could make the R4 not being recognized by the sistem is if the R4 circuit is damaged. I think that's my case.

Also, thanks for the help.
 
Last edited by Isso_Non_Ecxiste,
  • Like
Reactions: Nikokaro

lifehackerhansol

B4DS is the future
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2021
Messages
106
Trophies
0
XP
146
Country
Canada
what is ntrboot? I use DS lite.

Edit: I read something on the web, and this ntrboot looks to be used when 2DS/3DS does not recognize the R4 due to system updates. All DS phat and lite does not make system update, and never did. The only thing that could make the R4 not being recognized by the sistem is if the R4 circuit is damaged. I think that's my case.

Also, thanks for the help.
ntrboot flasher is as it says, a flashing program for the DS, DSi and 3DS.

While it can be used to turn a compatible flashcart to a 3DS recovery jig, it could also be flashed back into its original firmware if you have a backup of the firmware (which is available both on the 3DS guide and in a GBAtemp download somewhere by Technicmaster0.

I was going to suggest doing the latter, but that only works on a hacked 3DS, so I guess it won't apply to you here.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Isso_Non_Ecxiste
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol