Gamecube pot tweak help

Discussion in 'Nintendo GameCube' started by tjas, Aug 9, 2007.

Aug 9, 2007

Gamecube pot tweak help by tjas at 11:17 PM (3,283 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. tjas
    OP

    Member tjas The Gbatemp HRManager

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    BoZ
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Heej tempers,
    I have a gamcube with a xenogc chip installed. I also tweaked the laser pot. My cube had a factory setting of 400 ohm!! which is very high, I lowered it to 180 but I still get dre's... I am using high quality media such fujifilm 16x r's and samsung pleomax 16x r's

    What setting do you guy's advise me? under 180 ohms>?

    Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  2. Devante

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    I have the same setup.

    My factory ohm was around 400 as well.

    I've adjusted my pot from 400 all the way down to 80 in increments of 10.
    Even trying the same games through all these adjustments, I still get DRE's.

    I'm very frustrated. I realize different media and all that. I've been modding systems since the Saturn. But these are the best RITEK04. They don't DRE on the Wii (wiikey).

    By the way, the recommended ohm setting is 170 to 220.

    I'm not having any luck, but you should try burning at a faster speed if you're burning really slowly.
     
  3. Darkforce

    Former Staff Darkforce DERP!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do RWs even play on a GC okay? I'd try some non-rewritable discs personally.

    I use Verbatim (MCC) 8cm DVDs burnt at 4x and they work like a charm, never had to touch the pot, I might just be lucky lol.
     
  4. tjas
    OP

    Member tjas The Gbatemp HRManager

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    BoZ
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Oeps I didn't mean rw's... I have +r's! but isn't 80 to low? Can't it damage your laser? I will try verbatim discs.. maybe that helps..
     
  5. Darkforce

    Former Staff Darkforce DERP!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ty using a -R disc, might have better luck with it. [​IMG]
     
  6. tjas
    OP

    Member tjas The Gbatemp HRManager

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    BoZ
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My burner does not support -r... only +r
     
  7. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    :wtf:

    Usually if a burner supports +r it can support -r as its supposed to be universal compatibility
     
  8. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Older burners only did one or the other. Now you get burners that are better at one but support both.
     
  9. tjas
    OP

    Member tjas The Gbatemp HRManager

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    BoZ
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hmmm well i have to -r's and when I insert them and want to burn an gc iso it refuses the disc [​IMG] and i've got a nec 2500 burner wich isn't that old!
     
  10. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    I was having DREs alot when I first got my XenoGC modded cube. I was going to tweak the pot but just got a fullsize DVDR case mod instead. Haven't had a DRE since I started using fullsized dvd media. If all else fails, give that a try.
     
  11. Darkforce

    Former Staff Darkforce DERP!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would guess he is already using full sized media since you cannot buy 8cm DVD+Rs.

    tjas - The Nec 2500 is pretty old, they were made in 2004! You should update the firmware on your DVD Writer if you havn't already - I also see some hacked firmware for your drive that allows burning of dual layer DVDs so it might be worth checking out to see if there are any updates that improve disc compatibility. Even so I don't imagine the drive will be able to handle all of the discs about today. The writer supports DVD-R but the fact that you can't burn them is because your DVD Writer is old and is having problems recognising the disc codes. Also remember that the DVD lens will wear out with use, so that could also be giving you poor burns.
     
  12. tjas
    OP

    Member tjas The Gbatemp HRManager

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    BoZ
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hmm yeah time goes fast! [​IMG] My laptop can burn -dvd r's. I was wondering there is an unofficial bios for the cube gcos i believe, would installig this help? If it does how do i install it with a xeno chip? I'm a real noob when it comes to gamecube modding knowlidge. I use fullsize dvd's btw. I will look for an updat efor my nec burner.

    Thanks for al the help! I really apprieciate it!
     
  13. acky

    Member acky GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    I think my pot is at about 150-155. If you can read originals okay, then it must be the media.

    Verbs and Riteks have never failed. All other media I've tried has not worked 100%.
     

Share This Page