GameCube ISO's on Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zidane_genome, Jun 30, 2008.

Jun 30, 2008

GameCube ISO's on Wii by zidane_genome at 11:01 PM (28,727 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, just wanna get a simple answer, and yes, I've googled...

    If I make/get an SDGeko, and put a GameCube ISO (extracted, or in ISO?) on the SD card, and use the Geko Channel, or Geko in Homebrew Channel, can I play it without a modchip?

    Is there any other way of playing GameCube games WITHOUT a modchip on a Wii?
     


  2. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,280
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    only with older firmware and action replay and some other software
     
  3. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Can you be a lil more specific? I have 3.3U, and I'm attempting to make an SD Geko...
     
  4. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it is not possible, gecko channel = wii mode, NOT gamecube mode. besides, it's the actual drive itself that checks if it's a legit disc or not. so you can't boot wii backup discs either except in the past with freeloader...
    for any gamecube game there is no other way but a modchip.
     
  5. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sighhhhh....what a knobend youve just made yourself look like
     
  6. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    So, I do have to buy a mod chip... wife will NEVER let me do that...

    Guess I can put that SD Geko on hold now... oh well... hopefully someone will figure a way to do this...

    Was wanting to play Luigi's Mansion one more time, lol
     
  7. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ignore that guys comments about the gecko thing in wii mode. He was mistaken.
     
  8. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, then is it possible? I'm already 82% done downloading Luigi... I just have to find a way to make the Geko from the parts I have...

    If you have a site that explains how, or know how yourself, care to share?
     
  9. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,248
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, I have been looking for ways to man. It ticks me off that no Wii hacker has yet developed a Gamecube emulator which you can use on the homebrew channel with Gamecube roms ect...I mean, They have a N64 emulator, a nes, snes, why not a Gamecube? The Wii can already play Gamecube alone. So yeah, I have no clue why there isn't a emulator for it. But if you find an answer on how to play wii/gamecube ISO's without using a modchip. Please PM me about it [​IMG]
     
  10. WB3000

    Member WB3000 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    668
    Country:
    United States
    It ticks me off that you have no comprehension of the difficulty of coding such an emulator. Why not Gamecube? Because the Gamecube is a newer console which uses more resources, increased complicated graphics, etc. Go from coding a NES emulator to a N64 one and see which is easier. [​IMG]

    The Wii is not emulating the Gamecube, or at least not to the extent that a regular emulator would. It switches hardware modes and runs the games natively. Finding a way to harness the hardware and trick it to booting an ISO would most likely be easier than coding an emulator.
     
  11. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,088
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In any manner that is any good. No.
    Apparently it works with SDboot though:
    http://wiki.scorpei.com/index.php/SD-Boot_...tibility_list#L
    This is the AR thing people were on about. No idea if you can dupe the Wii into loading it via homebrew channel (I strongly suspect not or someone would have heard about it).

    As for GC-SD:
    http://gc.scorpei.com/GUIDE-SD_adapter.html

    Personally though if you have the skills to make an SD adapter (my advice is use a SD to something adapter rather than trying to source a connector) you should be fine with modding a wii (D2C aside).
     
  12. originalself

    Newcomer originalself Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I hate to be off topic but would it kill people to put a "?" at the end of their topic titles asking if something exists?

    This would be a nice feature if someone managed it. I would rather play cube games with a wii/nunchuck than finding a wavebird.
     
  13. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    I have great soldering abilities, the problem is the wife... she won't let me come within 3 feet of the Wii with a screwdriver, lol...

    I've modded a PS1, PS2, and an XBOX without any problems.

    As for the SDGeko, I'm not using the memory card as a base, but an old addon called the Advance Game Port... it was a 3ed party GBA player that plugs into a memory card port... Can't sell it at GameStop or on Ebay, so I'm going to mod it into an SD Geko.
     
  14. Mysticcal

    Newcomer Mysticcal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Not possible with most games, where's the L/R

    also. people, you need to lurk more. this is not possible at all. Sure, you can play a gamecube iso through gamecube menu but you do not emulate the gamecube at all. it plays natively on the gamecube in order to work. there will not ever be a gamecube emulator because emulation requires 5-8x (if not more) the processing power of the console it's emulating. GCOS has come along way since the wii was unveiled. use it, don't expect new things to come unless another major breakthough is discovered.
     
  15. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,088
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @Mysticcal I suggest you look up/read about hypervisors. 5-8x is what is usually needed for dissimilar systems, I sense it is going to fall into the same "trap" as the GBA and DS did/do/have (why bother when a £20 chip will sort it 50 times better than any emulator will for the next X years).

    As for "Advance Game Port" if it works well (I heard about them but usually not good things) we do occasionally get people after things like that so it may be worth looking to see if anyone around here wants one. Depending on what you have plastic forming is not that hard either.

    Back on topic it is really chip or nothing at this point (and for the conceivable future), later/mid life PS2 chipping is about as hard as the wii gets with the easiest being equivalent to end of PS1 era chips.
     
  16. Rykin

    Member Rykin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Country:
    United States
    I'm curious. Who bought the Wii? If you did.. go ahead and mod it and don't tell her. I would. [​IMG]
     
  17. assassda

    Member assassda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    this is correct, you must have some way of booting a Gamecube homebrew program which means either a mod-chip or the Action Replay disc to load SDLoader

    Id reccomend picking up a Gamecube at gamestop for $29.99 and if you can find one (i found two) they sell BBA used for $3.99 and then find a copy of PSO which is the best method of playing GC backups with no mod chip
     
  18. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the gecko channel being gecko region free will not let you boot gamecube games. it will let you boot wii games cross-region if you have a modchip, or will let you boot trucha games. http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_apps/Gecko_Region_Free
    I was NOT talking about sdgecko.
    Zidane you have posted in the gecko-channel threads so you probably already know that.
    the sd-gecko could be used to boot gamecube games from an SD card, but it was blocked by firmware updates as was action replay (without GCOS), tho i'm not sure if you can still boot it thru GCOS. But for GCOS, you need a modchip.
    did they ever release a new action replay with non-blocked disc headers? if so, you probably could boot sdloader from there.. but if they did not then alas.
     
  19. Monkey01

    Member Monkey01 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
  20. denzil

    Newcomer denzil Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Gamecube executables are related closely enough to Wii executables for some of them to actually start in Wii mode. The processor and the graphics are compatible to some extent, but that's about it. Anything else is coded differently on the Wii, even Gamecube controllers won't work when Gamecube software is booted in Wii mode. That is why in the video you see nothing but the initial SDLoad screen - he couldn't even press A if he wanted to see the rest of the software run and, eventually, fail.
     

Share This Page