Gamecube Controller Issue WiiFlow and USB Loader GX (yes, I tried Searching the Forums Already)

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by titanz91, Apr 25, 2015.

  1. titanz91
    OP

    titanz91 Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Apr 25, 2015
    United States
    Largo, Florida
    Hey there. Recently modded a Wii on 4.1U. Backing up new games I can't test right now, for I have no Wii or GC discs. Emulators work and can use the GameCube controller and WiiMote without issue. All other apps I've installed (minus my issue) work completely. WiiXplorer, emulators, WiiMC, MMM, DOP-Mii, among others, work fine (ones that accept the GC controller as input work as well). Latest Dios Mios is installed (not the lite version). USB works (USB0). I can play my old backed up Wii games (Resident Evil 4 Wii and Smash Bros. Brawl) with the WiiMote Just fine using USB Loader GX or WiiFlow.

    My issue, though games load without error, start screens, graphics and all that display just fine, I can't use the analog stick on the GameCube controller (it's a Mad Catz Control Pad Pro, item#5626 by the way) with Wii or GameCube backups (oh, I also have Four Swords Adventures backed up) using WiiFlow or USB Loader Gx (also latest versions of both loaders mentioned) in any of the games. All other buttons work (don't know about the c-stick, been so long since I've played these, idr if it does anything for those games), just not the analog stick. Doesn't move characters or menus. Odd thing is though, if I use Nintendont to play Four Swords, it DOES work (the analog stick). To repeat, the Analog stick works in emulators as well.

    Any idea as to why this is happening? Do I need to update/switch or mod an IOS/cIOS? Perhaps update the firmware (though if possible, I'd like to resist updating the firmware)? Tried messing with settings, changing what cIOS the loaders use (249/250) and the stick still seems to not work under USB Loader Gx or WiiFlow). If possible, my preference is completely relying on just USB Loader GX (but no biggy if not doable).

    So, yeah.

    Some other info, though idk if this will be useful from Syscheck
    syscheck
     
  2. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,050
    8,571
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    You said "if I play gamecube backup it doesn't work"
    but you also said that it works with nintendont, which is used to play gamecube backups too.

    So, you didn't explain which method you are using on your "not working" choice.
    Are you using DIOS MIOS ?
    if you want to play gamecube backups using DIOS MIOS, you should update your BC system file to v6 instead of v5.

    But you also mentioned that the analog stick is not working in Wii games, and the BC is not responsible for the controller's data while playing Wii games.
    I suspect that the controller is not working with Nintendo's official way of reading the controller's data.

    It might works with nintendont because it uses its own controller's data access functions, it's not using Nintendo's code.
    If you enable "Native Control" setting in nintendont, I guess it will also stop working as it tells nintendont to use Nintendo's official code to access the controller.


    You controller doesn't have different option to enable/disable analog stick, or enable/disable auto-fire, or any button mapping switch, or Macro disabling option?
    try to disable macro or options on your controller.
     
  3. titanz91
    OP

    titanz91 Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Apr 25, 2015
    United States
    Largo, Florida
    I am using DIOS MIOS. Sorry. I was raging when I wrote the post. I meant that using WiiFlow or USB LoaderGX the GameCube backup doesn't work with the analog stick, but it does under Nintendont. Sorry, I should have proofread better before posting. I tried switching the setting to the built in controller access on Nintendont and then the analog stick stopped working, so, it has to be the controller as you suspected. Updated to v6 and now all I have to do is swap it out for a first party one then. Oh, and It does have a macro button, but it has always been off, but yeah, seems to be the controller access functions as you said. Thank your for your post and helping me out.
     
  4. titanz91
    OP

    titanz91 Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Apr 25, 2015
    United States
    Largo, Florida
    New controller works fine.
     
  5. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,050
    8,571
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Thanks for reporting.
    Too bad your controller doesn't work as expected. That's strange as it's supposed to work on a Gamecube console and the Wii's controller port should work the same way.

    The new controller is another Mad Catz Control Pad Pro 5626 or a different brand/model?
    just to know if that controller is working and only your first pad had an issue.
     
  6. titanz91
    OP

    titanz91 Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Apr 25, 2015
    United States
    Largo, Florida
    It's actually another 3rd party controller, but I have no idea who makes it. The layout, button colors, shape and body are all the same as a legit Nintendo controller, but it's white and lacks branding or any kind of numbers on the body to indicate a model number or manufacturer.