Gamecube backups, bootmii

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by houseonfire, Jun 12, 2009.

Jun 12, 2009

Gamecube backups, bootmii by houseonfire at 9:27 AM (1,043 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I try to launch a gamecube backup, whether it be via the disk channel, or through the gamecube launcher through the homebrew channel, the Wii restarts and then pops up bootmii.
    The game then does not boot.

    Is there a way to fix this? Am I missing something obvious?
     
  2. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    You probably have a Wii with the new BC.

    Remember: when you laucnh a GC game (throught the System Menu, I dunno about launchers but I assume they do the same), BC is launched then it launches BOOT2 which launch MIOS which boot the game.

    BOOT0->BOOT1->BOOT2->IOS->SystemMenu->BC->BOOT2->MIOS->Game

    When you installed BootMii, it patches Boot2 so IF the signature bug has been fixed in BC, it will fail at lauching BOOT2, just like new BOOT1 ...



    EDIT: wait, seems quite weird that BootMii would break GC compatibility, they probably knew about that and fixed it somehow... Do original GC games work ?
     
  3. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    What does BC stand for?
    I have a Wii from when it first came out in 07
     
  4. TwoBladedKnight

    Member TwoBladedKnight GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    Australia
    Just take out the sd so that bootmii cant start???
     
  5. houseonfire
    OP

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    Uh. Seriously?
     

Share This Page