Game Cube games?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Litrydow, Jan 21, 2010.

Jan 21, 2010

Game Cube games? by Litrydow at 4:35 PM (2,189 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Litrydow
    OP

    Newcomer Litrydow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Brazil
    I just bought a Game Cube controller and memory card [​IMG] , and now I'm trying to download my first game for it: Tales of Symphonia.

    But I ran into 2 problems. [​IMG]

    1 - I have a terrible modchip I barely use, since now I use Gamma Loader, but I can't remove it. I don't even know which one it is. I guess it's the first model of Wiinja or something like that...
    So I went on Google looking for the Game Cube Launcher, and found out it doesn't work when the console has a modchip. [​IMG]

    What program should I use instead? And will this other program work with the second problem down there?


    2 - Tales of Symphonia is divided into 2 discs. Can't I merge them into 1? Come on, spending 2 DVDs? [​IMG]


    So... I'd be thankful if anyone could help me out with that. [​IMG]
     
  2. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You'll need to use the Gamecube Back-up Loader.

    http://sharebee.com/fdba921d

    You can merge two discs on to one (or more depending on size) with the GCOS MultiGame Creator V4F but it varies with games. There is a compaitiblity chart that should tell you if you can.
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
  4. Litrydow
    OP

    Newcomer Litrydow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks, guys. I'll try it.
     
  5. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does.
     
  6. Litrydow
    OP

    Newcomer Litrydow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well, people. Thanks. It worked. Completing the story, here's what happened:

    Multigame ISO Creator didn't work for unknown reason. I just got a generic error. But then GCOS MultiGame Creator V4F worked fine.

    So I installed cMIOS v8 through a WAD, which worked fine. Then I tried running the game on GC Backup Loader... and got a strange error. Then I went to the Disc Channel and but it worked there. Maybe my modchip did it? I don't know.

    Anyways, thank you all. [​IMG]
     
  7. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Maybe you didn't install .NET framework 2.0

    But I'm happy you got it to work [​IMG]
     
  8. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,405
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Sorry, I'll hijack your thread, but it's related to my problem [​IMG]

    I tried with the same game, I put the 2 iso on 1 DVD -> iso created OK
    Installed cMIOS from gamecube backup launcher 0.2
    runs GC B Launcher 0.2, but instead of the multi-game list I get this error, and the game runs normally (because I have a modchip)
    Code:
    failed to read DVD 263
    error 53100 ready
    sometime, instead of "ready", I got "2062800 disc Change", or "disc ID not Ready". (edit : I just got an exception dump with legit zelda master quest)

    Does Symphonia need to swap the discs in-game, or does it have a "save at the end of disc1, insert disc2 and reload the save" ?

    I have a modchip, but running the main GCOS multi game menu doesn't allow me to swap multi-disc games on a multi-iso disc. So I'm trying to use GC launcher, as you can select disc 2 with Z before running disc 1, then eject/reinsert to swap the disc in-game.

    I have a Wiikey1, 1.9s, with GC audiofix ON
    I'm on 3.2E, no CIOSCORP, no prelaoder
    IOS249 rev14 (tested on rev17 too)

    I tried with cMIOS4,5 and 8, with and without disc channel mod.

    with the cMIOS installed : the GBL screen jump (as if switching video mode), then I get the error instead of the game list, then the GBL seems to hang and quit, but the GCOS main.dol is launched because I have a modchip (I think)
    If I don't use a cMIOS, I don't have the error printed on screen nor does it try to load the game list, but the launcher seems to hang and quit, but as I have a modchip the disc boot GCOS main.dol

    I tested every discs I have (copied or legit), all of them give me the same error code. (some legit game doesn't work at all, like zelda master quest : it boots and display "an error has occurred, please switch off etc.")

    I reported my error on the GC b Launcher thread already, but never got an answer.
    Do you know what's the problem ?
    could it be the wiikey ?

    I'm thinking it can be the Wiikey because :
    GBL + legit game -> run main.dol
    GBL + multiiso disc -> show game selection
    GBL + multiiso disc + Wiikey -> Wiikey let GBL think the game is legit, so it runs the main.dol instead of showing the menu ?

    I run the wiikey config disc, but there is no "disable GC disc", nor "disable Wiikey" mode
     
  9. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    @cyan: dunno for Tales of Synphonia, but for me it was tricky to run "Metal Gear Solid" (another 2 DVD NGC game) from my softmoded Wii.
    Using cMIOSrev3 (Waninkoko) and latest wiigators GC launcher, using "B" button it works, all the others cMIOS/loader/"hooks" combinations didn't work for me (don't remember if it was PAL, but it was probably NTSC coz it seems they are more "difficult" to run.

    EDIT : my post maybe doesn't makes sens but I was trying to tell is: use 2 DVD, it's cheap (and we don't have anymore to burn wii games) and 2 DVD games always says: please insert DVD2, so you'll have to "swap" anyway
     
  10. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,405
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    yeah, I know I'll still have to swap.
    The 2 different discs is the option I'm currently using,
    but I would like to have a working GC backup Launcher too (there no explanation why it's currently not working, I want to understand why (for me first, and for helping other people later)).$


    Edit : I'll try cMIOSv3 then.


    Edit :
    installed cMIOS rev3 (from Waninkoko) + Wiigator GCBlauncher 0.2 : Same "error 53100 ready", booting GCOS main.dol menu.
    I can't "push B" because there's no menu at all. the launcher is reporting an error, and hang (but as I'm having a modchip the game still run)

    Installed cIOS249 rev17 : same (as I thought, only MIOS is used by the launcher)

    edit 2 :
    in fact, as my wii has sometime problems reading the disc (lens cleaning needed ?) and I can only eject and reinsert, if I do it would hang because it will think I swapped the discs
    But that's only my own problem. I Still want to understand what is the 53100 error, so I can help other users when they encounter it. (I already read other member has this same error)
     

Share This Page