1. TmP_stryk

    OP TmP_stryk Still I Rise™
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,006
    Country:
    United States
    Gabsharky v1.2 has been released by mondayz.

    New features are:

    Updated IRQ type 1: 'add rx,ry,#0x200' instead of 'add ry,ry,#0x200'
    Also, a surprising new feature is the ability to create and load savestates on a real flashcart, at any point during the game.
    Comes bundled with a early ingame menu but looks promising.
    To access the menu or leave the menu during the game, press L+R.
    To create a savestate, press A in the menu, or press B to load a savestate.
    Mondayz says the menu is still experimental and will be perfected in each future release.

    Also, from his website:
    >>ATTENTION: Switching SRAM banks is a complex procedure and is different to each flashcart. I however only have a Visoly 64mbit flashcart, and that is the only flashcart the "SAVESTATE" function supports for now. It is difficult to develop support for remote flashcarts I do not own and cannot test properly without debugging functionality. So I ask to all: Any donation of any flashcart of any mbit size and any brand (except Visoly) is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. mondayz

    mondayz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm wonderring if the ingame menu should be fully SRAM driven..

    Some games, such as Asterix XXL use the little space at the end of ewram Gabsharky uses..
    Even worse, if you overwrite this, Asterix XXL will crash...

    A good thing is that the first part of ewram is free in Asterix XXL so, I could probably implent some free space searcher and use let all data be allocated dynamicly.

    But, there is still danger that overwriting what seems 'free' space, might be stored there for a reason, and I don't know what side effects this will cause.

    So, I was wondering if someone is opposed to using SRAM for opening up the menu, and possibly in the future for enabling/disabling codes (yes, your previous selection of codes will still be enabled or disabled when you reboot your gba then).
    This is the only _SAFE_ way that I know of, that will never make the game crash by opening up the menu.
    This also means we can use MORE than just 2kb for tiles, and possibly means we can use the gabsharky splash menu in the background.

    If someone disagrees and doesnt want to use any SRAM, for say, only selecting cheat codes without sacrifising sram banks, I can still add an option in the program to 'Unpack menu to EWRAM' or 'Unpack menu to SRAM'.
     
  3. Hunter

    Hunter i'ma stuffup the board
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,613
    Country:
    Australia
    mondayz,
    add a donate with paypal link on your website

    you'll be suprised with what you get
     
  4. shaunj66

    shaunj66 GBAtemp Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    11,003
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I second that! [​IMG]

    This really is excellent work mondayz, keep up the great work. [​IMG]
     
  5. enCrypTed

    enCrypTed Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    I'd use it for the savestate device, I've always wanted that sort of feature on my flashcart. Nice work. [​IMG]
     
  6. mondayz

    mondayz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Added a paypal button to my site [​IMG]
     
  7. Microtic

    Microtic Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd recommend mondayz that you make the combination something like L + R + Start + Select...
    Due to the reason that some games use L + R to do stuff. IE: F-Zero.

    Just a suggestion! [​IMG]
     
  8. Bart Lemming

    Bart Lemming Gēmu Bōi mikuro
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    350
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have no problem at all with the idea of using SRAM to hold the in-game menu. If that is the most stable way to work things then that's the way you should go, no question! [​IMG]
     
  9. Dark_Lord Malik

    Dark_Lord Malik Proud Pakistani
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,106
    Country:
    Pakistan
    That`s very nice tool . I appreciate ur work Mondayz.
     
  10. Panja

    Panja GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Netherlands
    good stuff m8!!
     
  11. flashermac

    flashermac GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Wicked, thanks mondayz.

    I'll try it out with my F2A 256 Pro tonight,
    cheers
    |fmc|
     
  12. shaunj66

    shaunj66 GBAtemp Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    11,003
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. mondayz

    mondayz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I can add a series of check boxes where you select the key combination - i was going to do that in a future release anyway [​IMG].
     
  14. radjago

    radjago Advanced Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
    That would be beyond cool. I don't know why every app doesn't let you customize the key combos.
     
  15. assassinz

    assassinz Visoly 512 Flash Advance Linker Xtreme Master!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,097
    Country:
    United States
    Mondayz, does the Visoly Flash Advance Xtreme cart have the same SRAM bank layout as your Visoly 64mbit cart?
     
  16. khan

    khan GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    It's to any1 who has used this great gabsharky tool btw the thing is that i can add save/load feature to my ct special forces 3 and i really do need it coz i can not be bothered wid passwords etc..

    it says:

    Adding ingame menu...
    Searching IRQ handlers...
    FATAL ERROR: Sorry, but no IRQ found.
    Error while creating patch...


    wat does that mean?

    any1 can help me out?
     
  17. Garageboy101

    Garageboy101 GBAtemp's personal GooK -('.-)
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,420
    Country:
    aww. ... i have to wait for sharky 1.3 .... i hate this mess up glitch.... whenever i play a game with patch the sound all screwd up ...
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - GABSharkY, Released,