G6's Soft Reset not working for Phantom Hourglass?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by VenomSymbiote, Oct 1, 2007.

  1. VenomSymbiote
    OP

    Newcomer VenomSymbiote Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    This happen to anyone else? I get a pink background on the top screen when I try to set soft reset. It works fine if I turn it off, but it's a bit annoying. Saves will still work if I turn it off/on right away, right?
     


  2. tatumanu

    Member tatumanu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    Porto
    Country:
    Portugal
    umm i get a data saving error message ... in a g6 lite with manager v4.8, but im still trying every option... lets see
     
  3. 1Up

    Newcomer 1Up Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Natal-RN BRAZIL!
    Country:
    Brazil
    What configs are u using? =]
     
  4. davicosti

    Newcomer davicosti Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Brazil
    same here.

    I tried all configs possibles, but none work.

    I think it can be the release, now i'm downloading another one, let's see.
     
  5. swiitness

    Member swiitness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Australia
    Does this happen to be the release by mute?
     
  6. VenomSymbiote
    OP

    Newcomer VenomSymbiote Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure what you mean by what configurations I'm using. G6 DS Real 16g by the way, if that matters. I have tried turning it off and on right away again, which does keep the save. I'm just not certain why the soft reset isn't working. As for which release it is, I also don't know. :/ The only thing in the download I had which may be who it's from is (iND)?
     
  7. Golds

    Member Golds Old Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United States
  8. Tenement Funster

    Newcomer Tenement Funster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Mine does the same thing, on multiple dumps. It's quite frustrating. (on the G6DS)
     
  9. swiitness

    Member swiitness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Australia
    I have the mute release and I can't even boot up the game, soon after I select it from the menu it boots up a pink screen and gets stuck there.

    I dunno if trimming the ROM has anything to do with this, but I will try another release when I get home from work.
     
  10. Tenement Funster

    Newcomer Tenement Funster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Try loading it with soft reset off. Mine will load like that, but, of course, I can't save the game, so what's the point.
     
  11. VenomSymbiote
    OP

    Newcomer VenomSymbiote Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    Why can't you save? Do you mean because you can't soft reset? If you turn the DS off and on again right after, the save will stay.
     
  12. kid sampson

    Member kid sampson GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    I patched mine with the arm-7 fix , but it still won't save. Soft reset works fine on my Chinese G6 lite however. It shows that it is saving in game, as well as when I soft reset to the main menu, however, upon rebooting the game, the save is lost. Instead, the game says a new save has been created.

    Any other G6 lite users having saving issues with this game?
     
  13. tiggerdn

    Newcomer tiggerdn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Same here, black screen and nada, with 2 different dumps. guess ill wait till someone figures it out and can save with the soft reset.

    I have a g6ds real 16m w/ the non pink firmware screen 2.1 i think
     
  14. thsprgrmscks

    Newcomer thsprgrmscks Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    I'm using G6-Lite

    I can't save, having the same problems as everyone else

    Can get it to load with soft-reset off

    Kinda sucks. Help would be nice. 4.8D Loader
     
  15. Tenement Funster

    Newcomer Tenement Funster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I tried it with Jump! Ultimate Stars and I think I may have corrupted my save (but I can't tell because it's japanese and all). Good thing I have a backup. It worked ace with Megaman ZX though, neat trick. Thanks.
     
  16. Tenement Funster

    Newcomer Tenement Funster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    It seems the turn off/on method is really unreliable. My Zelda save got corrupted from it [​IMG]
     
  17. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    lemme say that it works on my G6 Lite and my settings are...

    4.7
    Force R/W
    no soft reset nor trim

    works and saves fine! no graphical errors
     
  18. Golds

    Member Golds Old Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United States
    use the 4.8D loader and the 4.8 firmware, update your G6 in GBA mode
     
  19. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
  20. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    PS: i am using the 4.8 writer
     

Share This Page