G6 Question

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by juggernaut911, Dec 29, 2006.

Dec 29, 2006

G6 Question by juggernaut911 at 12:58 AM (878 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    wut emulators does it have built in. or what system ROMs can it play besides GBA and NDS?

    thnx in advance!! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] :'( [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    According to the U-disk manager it will open .gg (Game Gear), .sms (Sega Master System), .nes (duh), .pce (PCEngine/TG16) and .gb (Gameboy/Gameboy color). All are GBA mode emulators.


    p.s. If you don't stop abusing the smileys I'm gonna tell your mom on you, taco boy.
     
  3. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    thnx lots! ok go tell her, she's on the couch eating pizza [​IMG]
     
  4. fr3kazoid

    Newcomer fr3kazoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    What?? You're saying that the G6 has these built in and there's no need to add an emulator to the flashcart? I think I misunderstood the TP's question or your answer...
     
  5. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The G6 does have some GBA mode emulators built in.

    If you start the U-disk manager and click 'write' in the GBA tab it lists those file types (as well as .gba and .zip) as ones it can open. I haven't tested the others, but the NES and GB ones work. When you load a rom to be emulated that way it appends the rom to an emulator and puts the resulting .gba file in with the GBA games.

    You can supposedly run emulated roms directly (without running them through the U-disk manager) if you have the EMU folder on your G6, but I've never tried it.
     
  6. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
  7. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I'll try it.
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Tried it. You can run NES, Gameboy & PCEngine games without appending them to an emulator, but without running them through the U-disk manager there is no way to manage the saves. NES games will save to SRAM, but no save file is written to the cart. GB games won't save. Even if you do run the games through U-disk, it won't give you the option for real time saves.

    PCE games are slow as hell. I only tried one (R-Type) and it didn't have a save feature.

    I couldn't get GameGear or Master System emulation working either way, but it might have been my roms. I only tried Sonic 2 for GG and R-Type for SMS.

    Conclusion: If you actually care about GBA mode emulators, you should manually append the game to your emulator of choice and run it through U-disk as a GBA rom. That way you will be able to save normally and use real time saves.
     
  9. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    wut bout GBC, is thats good? I mainly wanna get all the portable Zeldas on it!
     
  10. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It looks like the built in GB emulator is Goomba, not Goomba Color, so the built in emu will not play GBC. Just get Goomba Color if you want GBC.

    Better yet, just play them on the PC with VisualBoyAdvance.
     
  11. juggernaut911
    OP

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    i have VBA but it sux buttix!!! I'll look into that... i just wanna get/beat all portabl zeldas!! gonna take LONG time... :'(
     

Share This Page