G6 not working at all !!!

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by TM_Sephiroth, Nov 19, 2006.

Nov 19, 2006

G6 not working at all !!! by TM_Sephiroth at 11:38 AM (1,154 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. TM_Sephiroth
    OP

    Newcomer TM_Sephiroth Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Brazil
    Mine isn't working at all!

    The "history":
    First, game crashing...(Most of part: At "Loading" parts, like Changing Course at MK DS, changing place at FF III...)
    Then, I decided to re-write the ROMS...and SURPRISE! My PC doesn't
    recognized my G6!
    So, I tryed doing this Steps ( First one: Erasing Main Memory)

    But, even so, my PC don't recognize the G6!!

    (I hope that it's a "Windows problem", because my G6 Warranty Period (3

    months) had already over...)
    And, I even tryed reinstalling the "USB Mass Storage"...activating
    "Removable Storage"...but, NOTHING!

    There is any other way to format my G6 instead of "My Computer"????
    (My Windows: Xp - Pro - SP2)

    Another question: What come first?
    Format by Windows or Format using the Utility?

    Someone? Any clues?

    Thanks, and sorry for my bad english ^^"
     
  2. stressmonkey

    Newcomer stressmonkey Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Australia
    Try flipping the G6 Lite around on the U-Disk.

    When i first tried mine out i had it on the wrong way and windows would not read it at all. Make sure the sticker is facing the blue LED.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. TM_Sephiroth
    OP

    Newcomer TM_Sephiroth Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Brazil
    YES.
    It's facing right side and it's sticked very normal...

    I even tryed in many USB ports...and some others PCs with Windows XP...(And one with Win 98, but this one...the Utility doesn't work...)
     
  4. zoharmodifier

    Member zoharmodifier GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    my friend and i had the exact same problem. (my G6 was having problems with Gyakuten Saiban 2.) even after we formatted with windows and also used the maintenance utility, it still would not work. but for SOME reason, we repeatedly tried doing both these processes over and over, and EVENTUALLY (for reasons i don't understand), our PCs were able to recognize the G6 again.

    what is your problem exactly? does it fail to format? our problem was that after formatting, the G6 U-DISK Manager identified our G6 as having like 2000 GB / 512 MB or something like that. like i said, after several formats and maintenance utility runs, it finally worked normally again...

    don't know what other advice to give you, sorry!
     
  5. TM_Sephiroth
    OP

    Newcomer TM_Sephiroth Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Brazil
    Can't format at all!
    If the PC don't recognize it, how can be formatted ?!?

    Even with the Maintenance Utility, don't recognize it... (It's appears "Error: Lock Mode"...when I try to do the process)

    I only can erase the Main Memory in my DS...(I also tested the memory if the "secret code", and it shows: "OK")
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    plenty of people are having your problem in windows 98, the workaround is they all moved to XP or 2K and it solved it.
     
  7. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,285
    Country:
    Try plug and unplug the G6 to the USB port a few times. Sometimes it takes a few tries for my PC to recognize the card. Even if a DRIVE LETTER shown up, but when click on it, it would say something like your drive is unformat and ask if you would like to format it.
    Take the card out and plug it in again....
     
  8. TM_Sephiroth
    OP

    Newcomer TM_Sephiroth Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Brazil
    FIXED! [​IMG]

    The problem: dirty

    (Yes, I cleaned up and it's working fine now)

    Thanks everyone! [​IMG]
     
  9. ugly_rose

    Member ugly_rose GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Sweden
    Haha... that's the first thing I'm gonna ask people who has this problem from here on. "Is it clean?"

    Anyway, glad you found out! Now, go have fun with your resurrected friend!
     

Share This Page