G6/M3 DS Real loader v3.3

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by JPH, Apr 5, 2008.

Apr 5, 2008

G6/M3 DS Real loader v3.3 by JPH at 1:24 AM (3,210 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. JPH
    OP

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] G6/M3 DS Real loader v3.3
    Save Files Now Use Different Extensions
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    The G6/M3 Team have released loader version 3.3 for their non-identical-twin cards.
    According to the Engrish changelog, default save files will now use the extension '.sav' instead of '.0'
    The update fixes NDS #2166, #2172, #2189, and #2203. This version also comes with a new loading screen.

    Changelog (In Engrish)
    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Official Site
     
  2. Demi

    Member Demi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    United States
    So do we have to convert our saves back to ".sav" or will this do it automatically?
     
  3. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah I don't understand Engrish.

    Does it make a .sav copy of the file or does it only make it with new games?
     
  4. CYatta

    Member CYatta GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    What's already been said in the other topic
     
  5. DespizingU

    Member DespizingU GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    705
    Country:
    United States
    About time they dropped that lame ass .0 format.

    Nice update. Still waiting you guys to make the loader faster though. It feels like it takes the G6 about ten minutes just for it to get to the main menu. Especially compared to carts like the Evo and R4, which pop into the main menu almost instantly.

    The G6/M3 team seriously needs to fix that.
     
  6. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Actually after trying out the new system I wasn't able to use the old saves.
    If I understand it well the the menu is supposed to auto convert the .0 to .Sav files automatically, but it just doesn't work.
    Also I tried to manually rename every save files and it still couldn't be read.
    Am I missing something ? Or is it not fully compatible with my G6 Real ?
     
  7. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,279
    Country:
    When you load the game that you've played before and has a Save File *.0, the *.0 file willl be automatically be converted to *.sav . It works perfectly on M3 REAL.

    How did you install the New System Files 3.3X, by over writting the old SYSTEM folder or delete the old one then copy the new one into your G6?
     
  8. romeoux

    Newcomer romeoux Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    how does it work? is this one a real update or just a simple forward?
     
  9. funem

    Member funem Retro Powered..

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,160
    Location:
    out of nowhere....
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it just because I formatted my card and re-copied everything back or is the default order of the games now A-Z ? Hope this is the default sort order now.

    Also just noticed if you leave the screen in the menu, it turns the both screen lights off after a short while... is that new as well ?
     
  10. hanman

    Member hanman I'm a pretty lucky guy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Galbadia Garden
    Country:
    United States
    my G6 nuked my saves as well. luckily, i had just backed all of them up a few hours before my upgrade. i did manage to get them converted myself, though. it's a pain in the ass if you have a lot of saves, but Shuny's savegame converter worked for me using M3 Simply as the Target Format.
     
  11. CYatta

    Member CYatta GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    You don't have to convert it. You just have to rename the .0 to .sav for it to be read. I already noted the problem in the other topic, but i'll summarize.

    The G6 doesn't load from the .0 and create a .sav. It simply loads the .sav. If there is none, it loads nothing. But come reboot, it doesn't write to the .sav. It writes to the .0. So if you loaded nothing, it overwrites your .0 save with a blank sav.

    It really is unacceptable. I'm sick of how they mistreat the G6. If they didn't want it to work both ways, they should make seperate firmwares.
     
  12. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Me too, it got rid of some of my saves. [​IMG]

    A single firmware for both my arse.
     
  13. Barta

    Member Barta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Does anyone know how to get english text on a Chinese M3 real?
    I see .eng files in the system directory, but I can't select English when I first start the M3 real.

    Also the patching isn't working anymore [​IMG]
    Or is there a new version?
     
  14. DespizingU

    Member DespizingU GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    705
    Country:
    United States
    Agreed with that. It's like these firmwares are meant for the M3, but they just throw them in for the G6 too. I really wish they would make separate firmwares.
     
  15. hanman

    Member hanman I'm a pretty lucky guy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Galbadia Garden
    Country:
    United States
    well, my wife always says i like to do things the hard way.

    that's good to know, but i've already "converted" my saves with shuny's tool.
     

Share This Page