G6 How to update loader?+

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by tomy12345, Jul 26, 2006.

Jul 26, 2006

G6 How to update loader?+ by tomy12345 at 9:26 PM (998 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. tomy12345
    OP

    Newcomer tomy12345 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hi, i just received a chinese G6-Lite and i updated the loader as described on the latest spftware package (copying two files onto root and then updating from GBA console), but after reboot i get a "wrong version please install english laguage" and NDSL Stops. Does anyone know how i can fix this? I'm guessing i have to change the loader again but how can i do that if the device won't boot.

    Hope someone can help me.

    Thanks
     
  2. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    sounds like you have the chinese version and you're trying to update with the english loader. Just go do a low level format of the cart using the mptutil and follow the instructions....then put the updated chinese loader on there again via gba mode. shoudl be ok.
     
  3. lunatic75

    Newcomer lunatic75 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    Mmmmm I read that on a French forum but didn't test the solution :

    You have to copy the 2 firmware files at the root of the G6 then turn on your device withou PASSCARD in it.
    When you are in the original DS menu, start GBA mode then press immediately A+B+SELECT+START
    That should work.

    Don't ask me how to do if your DS is flashed [​IMG] (unless some friend of your lend you his DSL ).

    If it works tell us.
    Thanks.
     
  4. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    If you have Flashme, press Select when powering on the DSL and you will go to the original DS menu.
     
  5. tomy12345
    OP

    Newcomer tomy12345 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Mexico
    Thanks all for your replys, Tried low level formatting and didn't work, but booting without the passcard worked fine.

    Thanks
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    you should of been more specific. you update the firmware through the gba mode, not ds mode. Of course it's going to lock up with a passcard in because it tries to jump straight into nds mode.
     
  7. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    This is the post you should be reading. This is the correct answer to your problem except you won't need to format to reinstall firmware.
     
  8. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    there is not real need to do a low level format, very true. the loader is stored somewhere outside of the normal udisk you access. I guess I'm just careful because it's habit with me everytime, it's like mainteance, make sure there's nothing wrong with the cart. Sometimes I do get lazy though and do a normal format off windows. Another thing is I don't want to run into unnecessary issues, so everything I update the loader I reload all my games with the udisk burner, doesn't take long and ensures compatibility. works for me.
     

Share This Page