G6 Flash 3rd 4G

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by khalidosan, Dec 29, 2006.

Dec 29, 2006

G6 Flash 3rd 4G by khalidosan at 10:38 PM (1,663 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. khalidosan
    OP

    Newcomer khalidosan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    Is the G6 Flash 3rd 4G actually 4gigabytes??and if it is,do you recommend me getting it??(im kinds of new to the ds hombrew scene [​IMG] [​IMG] )
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The G6 lite 4G is 4 gigaBITS. That's 512 megabytes, although the formatted size (what you actually have to work with) is only about 499 megabytes.

    The G6 is not a good cart for DS homebrew, however if you just want to play DS and GBA games it is a very good cart.
     
  3. khalidosan
    OP

    Newcomer khalidosan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    I'm not talking about the lite version, i think its another flash card.here check it out My Webpage
     
  4. Rehn

    Newcomer Rehn Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    4G is still 4gigabits, it doesn't matter what the brand is.
     
  5. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Why on earth would you get the old model G6? Not only is it ridiculously overpriced it also suffers a number of problems.

    Get the G6 Lite. It has a GBA case included so you can use it in your normal DS.
     
  6. khalidosan
    OP

    Newcomer khalidosan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    I see(as i said im new to the flash card and hombrew scene [​IMG] )Greatly apreciate your help [​IMG]
     
  7. Ghaleon1982

    Member Ghaleon1982 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    its 4 GB not 512MB as destructobot stated. The format they formulate it to say its 512MB but its DEFENTLY 4GB. It HAS to be 4GB with the games I have on it, you do the math.

    -------GBA-------

    FF I&2 = 130MB
    FF Tatics = 130MB
    Tales of Phantasia = 66MB
    FF IV = 56MB
    FF V = 56MB
    Zelda - Minish Cap = 130MB

    -------NDS-----

    FF III = 784MB
    Harvest Moon = 454MB
    CastleV. PoR = 360MB
    Digimon World = 432MB
    Megaman Battlenetwork 5 = 183MB
    Megaman ZX = 350MB
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Those are megaBITS, not megaBYTES.

    4 gigaBITS
    = 512 megaBYTES
    .
     
  9. oteck

    Newcomer oteck Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    1Mbyte = 8Mbits so lets do the math
    512Mbytes x 8 = 1096 Mbits

    it will take the G6 8Gbites to have 1Gbytes. I have nothing agaisn't the G6 itself but for me thats hardly enough space compared to what the Flash cards has to offer; and those are in Gbytes not bits
     
  10. khalidosan
    OP

    Newcomer khalidosan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    doesn't 4Gb mean 4Gigabits and 4GB mean 4 gigabytes?and why is the G6-Flash 3rd 4G 60$ more than than the g6 lite is they have the same memory storage? [​IMG] I'm stumped
     
  11. khalidosan
    OP

    Newcomer khalidosan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    doesn't 4Gb mean 4Gigabits and 4GB mean 4 gigabytes?and why is the G6-Flash 3rd 4G 60$ more than than the g6 lite is they have the same memory storage? [​IMG] I'm stumped
     
  12. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The G6-Flash 3rd 4G is the crappy old version that came out before the G6 lite. I don't know why it costs more, but it's the same amount of memory.
     
  13. danielmakana

    Newcomer danielmakana Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    the price of flash memory has come down quite a bit since the original g6 was made. That is why the lite version cost less.
     
  14. khalidosan
    OP

    Newcomer khalidosan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    I guess ill just stick with buying a DS-X [​IMG] (Wish it was 8Gb though...)
     

Share This Page