FW, Moonshell and DSOrganize easy install

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by TrolleyDave, Jan 21, 2007.

Jan 21, 2007
  1. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For those that are a little unconfident of updating Moonshell and installing DSOrganize here is a RAR file you can unpack to the root directory of your freshly formatted MicroSD card.

    Once unpacked your R4DS will have the latest firmware (1.06final), the latest Moonshell (1.6 and it's much nicer!) and DSOrganize (2.45 beta) patched to run on the R4. The settings for Moonshell have also been altered to improve DPG playback.

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=1M91FF7E

    And by request here's one with no DSOrganize! [​IMG]

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=ZDZ480OV

    Or if you're having problems with MegaUpload or would just prefer not to use MegaUpload then the files are also hosted here :

    http://r4ds.co.nr/

    along with several other useful things!

    FIRMWARE 1.06final DETAILS
    ----------------------------------
    Update R4 v1.06 kernel 2007-1-27
    1 ) Hiding the display of those files and directories with "Hiding" attributes
    2 ) Using L button as same as touching the screen to adjust the brightness
    3 ) Narrowing the display for transditional chinese characters
    4 )Background light should be turn off while closing DS in save mode
    5 )Soft reset included (L+R+A+B+X+Y) or touch the soft reset button with R to switch on/off this function
    6 )Decreasing possibility to triforce boot screen and noise caused by using soft reset
    7 )Improving the technique to issue of freezing menu while using soft reset
    8 )Add feature of large text size in eBook
    9 )Soft reset for multimedia will be applied on Moonshell 1.6 official release
     


  2. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    awesoooooooooome thank you !

    anyway you can post one with the newest FW and Moonshell but no DSorganize ?
     
  3. mflo

    Member mflo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    United States
    What version of Moonshell is in this download?
     
  4. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1.6
     
  5. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It'll be the 1.6 version of moonshell. I couldn't get the latest moonshell to work on the R4, thanks for this.
     
  6. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not a problem, it's what being part of a console community is all about! I think these places are the last on earth where people actually help it each other out!
     
  7. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    woooooooooot trolley you kick ass !
     
  8. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've noticed one thing about moonshell 1.6. It doesn't reset back to the R4 menu (Something this version is meant to do). It does do a soft reset but I get an error with moonshell. Maybe this will be fixed in the official R4 firmware release containing moonshell 1.6.
     
  9. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    Neat! Thanks for the pre-compiled files. One thing tho. In the version that includes DSO, you also need to patch the "exec_stub.bin" file in the resources folder to enable homebrew file loading....I noticed it is unpatched.
     
  10. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice one thanks, I'm still a little new at the DS stuff. Will find the info, patch it and re-upload! Any other suggestions for the install pack (without having to code!) are most gratefully received!
     
  11. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've tried applying the patch but it's still not loading up homebrew. I just launch the NDS file from the File Browser don't I? It gets to where it's about to launch the file and just hangs. Show's up an unknown adapter as well. Am I patchig it wrong? I'm just using DLDIPatcher GUI, the command line gives the same result.

    It doesn't accept the command line as shown on the DSOrganize site. Am I using an incorrect version of the DLDI Patcher?
     
  12. naz2x

    Newcomer naz2x Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I having the same issue, maybe the patch thing needs updating..... [​IMG]
     
  13. HayateSlash

    Newcomer HayateSlash Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    hello guys, i don't want to make a new topic just for wath i want to know so i'll put it here (sorry if it's off topic)

    i've a problem running moonshle 1.6(final version) here, not exactly a problem

    but wich changes i need to make to run it directly from the multimedia touch button? or i always need to lunch the .nds file?

    thx in adv and sorry for the english lol [​IMG]
     
  14. Katalyst

    Member Katalyst Johnald Everyperson

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    From H-Town, Residing in ATL.
    Country:
    United States
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=427...ndpost&p=544345
     
  15. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to rename the file to _DS_MSHL.NDS and remember to have it all in caps or the R4 menu system won't recognize it.
     
  16. HayateSlash

    Newcomer HayateSlash Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    oh thank you both for the fast reply

    [​IMG]
     
  17. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    I tried it with the GUI version of the DLDI patcher, and it looks like it patched the exec_stub.bin just fine (found unknown interface, patched to R4), but I have yet to receive my R4 units to test. What I do know is that I used the command line version on the exec_stub.bin for the DSLink and it does work. Thing is, it will only load up small .nds homebrew files. I tested it with a homebrew Tetris game and it did indeed load up from the DSO file browser.
     
  18. Mataniko

    Newcomer Mataniko Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Israel
    can anyone mirror this please on something that does not require a toolbar to install? [​IMG]
     
  19. tepnomus

    Newcomer tepnomus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Very nice, thanks for putting the files together. For some reason the Chinese characters of my MP3s are not displaying like in the old version. Any ideas on how to make it show Chinese and Japanese characters in moonshell? Thanks in advanced.
     
  20. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's no toolbar need to download the stuff. Just type in the code in the top right corner, wait around a minute and click the button when it changes from Please Wait to Download. Mirroring it on a proper site would be good though!
     

Share This Page