Tutorial Full vWii Softmod

Davor

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
634
Country
Hello!

I've tried to softmod vWii following steps from the original post, but after I've installed Homebrew channel, I can't use Wiimote to navigate it. I can see all the apps inside HBC, but none of the buttons nor nunchuck seams to work. Is there any solution for this? It's third party Wiimote with motion plus integrated (goigame). Any help would be appreciated.

Best regards,
Davor
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,322
Country
United States
Hello!

I've tried to softmod vWii following steps from the original post, but after I've installed Homebrew channel, I can't use Wiimote to navigate it. I can see all the apps inside HBC, but none of the buttons nor nunchuck seams to work. Is there any solution for this? It's third party Wiimote with motion plus integrated (goigame). Any help would be appreciated.

Best regards,
Davor
Does it disconnect? If not, try booting the HBC without an SD card.

I seem to remember there being some issues with homebrew and third party remotes. I'm surprised you were able to install the HBC at all.
 

Davor

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
634
Country
Does it disconnect? If not, try booting the HBC without an SD card.

I seem to remember there being some issues with homebrew and third party remotes. I'm surprised you were able to install the HBC at all.

It kinda blocks after starting HBC. If I remove batteries, and then press A, all 4 leds on the remote blink few times, and then it just blocks again. It doesn't react on key presses anymore, until I remove the batteries again. I will try to boot HBC without SD card as soon as I get home, since I'm at work atm. I was able to install HBC without any problems - Wiimote works fine in Lego Batman, and I was able to use DPad to navigate inside HackMii installer. Thank you for your help.

Best regards,
Davor
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,322
Country
United States
It kinda blocks after starting HBC. If I remove batteries, and then press A, all 4 leds on the remote blink few times, and then it just blocks again. It doesn't react on key presses anymore, until I remove the batteries again. I will try to boot HBC without SD card as soon as I get home, since I'm at work atm. I was able to install HBC without any problems - Wiimote works fine in Lego Batman, and I was able to use DPad to navigate inside HackMii installer. Thank you for your help.

Best regards,
Davor
What do you mean by "blocks"?
 

Davor

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
634
Country
What do you mean by "blocks"?
It just doesn't respond to key presses anymore (no LED lights on, nor blinking). At least, not until I remove and then reinsert batteries. Then it responds to first key press, all 4 LEDs blink few times, then everything turns off, and does not turn on until I remove and reinsert batteries again. Wiimote works fine in both Wii U and vWii mode (except HBC).

Best regards,
Davor
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,322
Country
United States
It just doesn't respond to key presses anymore (no LED lights on, nor blinking). At least, not until I remove and then reinsert batteries. Then it responds to first key press, all 4 LEDs blink few times, then everything turns off, and does not turn on until I remove and reinsert batteries again. Wiimote works fine in both Wii U and vWii mode (except HBC).

Best regards,
Davor
That means it is disconnected. When all four lights blink, it's searching for the Wii or Wii U that the remote is linked to. Your remote is not compatible with the HBC. You'll have to buy an official one. Used ones are pretty cheap on eBay.
 

Davor

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
634
Country
That means it is disconnected. When all four lights blink, it's searching for the Wii or Wii U that the remote is linked to. Your remote is not compatible with the HBC. You'll have to buy an official one. Used ones are pretty cheap on eBay.

Will this remote work inside game back-ups? And after I finish installing all the tools and apps (USB launcher) with original Wiimote, will I still need it to start USB launcher, or it starts from the main vWii screen, where my Wiimote works?

Best regards,
Davor
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,322
Country
United States
Will this remote work inside game back-ups? And after I finish installing all the tools and apps (USB launcher) with original Wiimote, will I still need it to start USB launcher, or it starts from the main vWii screen, where my Wiimote works?

Best regards,
Davor
Once the game has been started, it should work fine. It probably won't work within a USB loader.
 

Kawaii

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
331
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Not near you
XP
1,231
Country
New Zealand
i was wondering about USB Y for 2.5 HDD.
Will this work?

s-l500.jpg


http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-USB-2-0...626377?hash=item58bc9e8109:g:Yj8AAOSwYGFUtJVv
 

digiw0rx

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2015
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
154
Country
Trying to go through all the steps, and got to 6) Dump your IOS for eventual vWii semi-brick fix and i've compiled YetAnotherBlueDumpMod but everytime i run it, it asks me to select an IOS, if choose the currently loaded one it gives me an error saying "error opening shared1/content.map, other IOS just give me a stack error

Can anyone help?
 

Davor

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
634
Country
Trying to go through all the steps, and got to 6) Dump your IOS for eventual vWii semi-brick fix and i've compiled YetAnotherBlueDumpMod but everytime i run it, it asks me to select an IOS, if choose the currently loaded one it gives me an error saying "error opening shared1/content.map, other IOS just give me a stack error

Can anyone help?

Hello!

I did all the steps from the first page too, but I was able to dump IOSes successfully. I haven't compiled YABDM, just downloaded files from HBC folder on github (https://github.com/DarkMatterCore/bluedump-mod/tree/master/HBC) and copied them to SD:\apps\YABDM folder. Maybe you should try using those files too, instead of compiling app on your own.

Best regards,
Davor
 
  • Like
Reactions: digiw0rx

digiw0rx

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2015
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
154
Country
Last edited by digiw0rx,
  • Like
Reactions: Davor

Davor

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
634
Country
Hello!

It should work, but it's easier to find 2 Male to -whatever your hard disk has- USB connector (probably micro USB 2.0 or micro USB A/B 3.0), than connecting 2 cables. Since the problem with USB powered disks on Wii U is power related, I'm not sure if long cables will affect it (or 2 interconnected cables).

Best regards,
Davor
 
Last edited by Davor,

superoxide

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
70
Country
United States
Hi everyone,
I just have a couple of quick questions:
1. Interruption (power failure/bad sd card) during Backup vWii mode NAND content and Install d2x cIOS on different bases/slots will it brick vWii, can you repeat it if the first time it was interrupted.
2. Another thing I wanted to know is if you want to change d2x-v10-beta52-vWii to d2x-v10-beta53-alt-vWii do you just have to repeat the Install d2x cIOS on different bases/slots with d2x-v10-beta53-alt-vWii

Thanks.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: US $54.12 34%OFF | RetroScaler Replacement Plastic Shell Translucent Case Compatible Nintendo...