1. Dedede

    OP Dedede Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    -snip-
     
    Last edited by Dedede, Jan 28, 2016
  2. Damon_girl

    Damon_girl GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    United States
    After all those steps I was sure this was going to be a success story. Nice plot twist! :) And yes, definitely wait for a better release.
     
  3. SterneSchreien

    SterneSchreien Naughty One
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    Canada
    Using SDFormatter is usually recommended to format SDs over the default windows utility.

    But man all those detailed steps for this sad ending. :sad:
     
    Last edited by SterneSchreien, Jan 5, 2016
  4. Dedede

    OP Dedede Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    -snip-
     
    Last edited by Dedede, Jan 28, 2016
  5. beefsloth

    beefsloth Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Man, that is awesome you have a hardmod atleast. I am still wary of doing it as I don't have one myself. I updated to 10.3 myself just recently following a guide to install some legit .cia's. I wonder if updating first would make any difference in the least, but I doubt it. Hmm.
    Please update us again as thoroughly as you did this time if you intend to try and downgrade again and hopefully succeed this time. It must be nice having a hardmod haha.
     
  6. JAWS_XS

    JAWS_XS Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I'm going to have to agree with beefsloth...just update all the way to 10.3. However, you did everything perfect! Glad to see teracopy was used.

    there was another pastebin I read through that might have some different info. Like hitting "y" in Homebrew menu.

    http://pastebin.com/ZfA8wtA2
     
  7. G25900

    G25900 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    The only things that I did different to you is you put sysupdater in /3ds/sysUpdater/ so in it's own folder, I just put the 3dsx and smdh straight in /3ds/ and not it's own folder, I also used menuhax. Worked fine first time, no retries and fully downgraded from the same 9.9E, got emuNand/CFW running fine and everything.

    Either I got stupidly lucky, the extra folder can cause problems, or a mix of both. You pretty much took all other precautions you could and you have a hardmod so nothing lost at least.
     
  8. Dedede

    OP Dedede Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    -snip-
     
    Last edited by Dedede, Jan 28, 2016
  9. G25900

    G25900 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    I thought it required it's own folder as I'm sure something else I tried didn't show up before and all other homebrew goes in it's own folder too, but the tutorial said to just put the files in the 3ds folder which I thought wouldn't work but tried it anyway and it showed up in the menu.

    I haven't seen any mention of the location at all affecting things but I have to wonder if maybe it is factor in at least some cases now as I followed all other precautions you did.
     
    Last edited by G25900, Jan 7, 2016
  10. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,929
    Country:
    Norway
    Since you have a hardmod, there's not much harm in trying again, it should be successful the second time, if it isn't then there's probably something else preventing the downgrade from being successful that isn't the fault of sysupdater.
     
  11. _v3

    _v3 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    650
    Country:
    Croatia
    I tried downgrading on 9.9 but it didn't work, I ended up on updating to 10.3 and then attempting the downgrade, it was succesfull. If you have a NAND backup try updating and then downgrading.
     
  12. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5,490
    Country:
    Belgium
    If it kept failing, I would try to update to 10.3 (now that it's still possible) and downgrade from there.
    Try to not use MenuHax, but other entry points, to avoid problems later with Menuhax when downgraded on N3DS.
     
  13. Dedede

    OP Dedede Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    -snip-
     
    Last edited by Dedede, Jan 28, 2016
    DjoeN likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - downgrade, attempt, report